We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful introduction to the Gallatin Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to the Gallatin Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend in this wonderful lodge surounded by gorgeous scenery and absolutely loved it. The personnel are the friendliest and best informed of anywhere we've stayed. The setting amidst snow-covered meadows and mountains was exquisite. Each night, when we returned to our room, a fire had been laid and was only a match-strike away. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and well-prepared with fresh ingredients. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindadelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    36
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
124
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

we chose the Rainbow Ranch Lodge b/c it is halfway between Bozeman and Yellowstone. it was a wonderful place to stay, despite being on the main road. our room, and i think all the rooms??) faced away from the road towards the Gallatin River. the Room was more than spacious with tons of closet space, as was the bathroom with 2 sinks and a lovely large shower. room also had a fireplace which was a nice romantic touch, tho it did tend to smoke a little into the room initially until we opened a window to get a draft going. another nice touch is daily homebaked cookies - if only they were calorie free!
the main building is also nice with a well stocked bar and a fantastic, if pricey, restaurant. had it been open every night, we'd have probably eaten there every night as the food was delicious!
the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, even to the point of supplying me with Vit C 2 mornings as i had a mild flu! they were also very helpful and prompt in attending to other requests - more kindling, new soaps etc.
our only suggestion is that service needs a tiny bit of tweaking here and there: housekeeping forgot to replenish soaps and the bathmat on more than one occasion, kindling was not replenished, a blanket was left on the floor despite the bed being remade.
we also think there should be a note that the water above the mini fridge is filtered (we only found out 3-4 days into our trip), a light should be installed above that fridge as you can't see to make the coffee, and honey and creamer should be supplied to go with the coffee and tea.
having said all that, none of that would be an excuse not to go; this is really a very lovely hotel in a MOST beautiful part of our country and we would definitely return if we ever find ourselves back in the Big Sky area again
TIP: sign up for massages in the spa cabin and ask for Barb Van Erp of Alpine Massage of Big Sky and/or Liz Allen of Focus Massage in Bozeman. both women were most friendly and gave EXCELLENT massages!

Room Tip: make sure to get one with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peripateticprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My family (three boys 2, 4,5) husband and I stayed here for a weekend in the shoulder season (October) – it was terrific! I can’t wait to come back.

This is not a working Dude ranch rather a 5-star style lodge. Everything at this lodge is understated and extremely comfortable and in tip-top shape – there is not a hair out of place. The staff looks after every detail no matter where you look. The décor is stylish, very Montana, but not over the top “ranchy”. There is a lovely stone fireplace with big comfy, leather sofas near the bar area for relaxing, cocktails and breakfast. There is a huge porch overlooking the Gallatin River and a gigantic mountain. The outdoor gardens, trout pond, fire pit and grill area are all designed to perfection. Rainbow Ranch has the biggest tiled hot tub I’ve ever seen next to a gigantic stone fireplace – and it all over looks the lovely grounds, river and mountains. The staff is extremely professional and attends to every detail without being stuffy or overbearing – everyone was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice.

The rooms are equally understated and charming. Our room had 2 bedrooms with cool queen sized log beds. Soft sheets and real down pillows made for good sleeping. There was a stone fireplace at the foot of the bed with a pre-made wood fire, ready to go. We also had a very nice sized porch/deck with Adirondack-style chairs for relaxing. Thick towels, Mouton&Brown toiletries and nice water pressure rounded out the accommodations.

Best of all was the food. We ate dinner one night in the dining room and probably had the best fine dining meal we had all year. This could easily be the best place to eat in all of Montana. The entrees ranges from $30-38 to $47 for the specials. And it was worth it. I ordered Quail with farrow, and wilted greens. My husband had the Elk – cooked to perfection. The service was knowledgeable, friendly and really paced the meal well, especially since we had our young children with us. The home-made charcuterie platter for appetizer and home made desserts and ice creams were out of this world. The wine list was extremely well chosen and broad enough to satisfy a range of budgets. Continental breakfast was included with our room, and at first it seemed a bit modest but after sidling up to the bar, it was simply perfect. Everything was homemade: zucchini bread, almond croissants, plain croissants, pistachio filled éclairs, raisin scones, sun dried tomato and spinach quiche, quiche Lorraine, free-range hard boiled eggs, amazing from-the-oven granola, fresh yogurt and delicious fresh fruit salad. They offered 4 kinds of juices, delicious coffee and teas.

I would stay again here at any time – I really loved this place, as did my children. While its not a “kids” place, we felt very comfortable here as did they. There were about 2 other rooms with small kids when we were there. Rainbow Ranch is about 20 minutes from Big Sky ski resort and about 45 miles from the west entrance to Yellowstone. If you want to hike Ousel Falls and explore Big Sky or hike to Lava Lake, this is a great basecamp. If you want to stop by here en route to Yellowstone – Bozeman, it’s a terrific choice, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Planning a destination wedding initially seemed be an overwhelming task. The wedding planner at the Ranch, Mollie Eckman, was amazing. During the months before this destination wedding she responded to our calls and e-mails promptly and always with great recommendations and suggestions.
On the wedding day she was there throughout the entire event overseeing everything so that we could all enjoy our day. If anything did go wrong on our wedding day, we never new about it. Mollie is calm, efficient, personal, professional and very knowledgable.
We were most impressed how she watched over the bride and groom throughout the entire event, especially the private champange toast before the reception and organizing their lovely and timely arrival to the reception. As the parents of the bride, we wanted everything to be perfect for such an important day for our daughter and it was! Thank you Mollie! You did make it happen and we truly felt like we were the most important client you have ever had!
The barn was beautifully decorated, the food was amazing, and the accommodations at the ranch were fabulous. All our guests loved Rainbow and are already planning return trips.
Several of our guests worked off the list of activities Mollie provided of things to do in the area and all exceeded their expectations. That included fly fishing lessons, horseback riding, river rafting, hiking and other dining experiences.
It was a magical weekend for our families.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms all have lovely decks overlooking th Gallatin River, each with a fireplace. Pondsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Wow, where to begin! From the beginning phone calls to the last dance, it was a pleasure to plan such a special occasion with you. Having your friends and family at Rainbow Ranch was a treat. It was awesome to be a part of such a magical celebration. We can't wait to see you again!!!!
All our love,
Mollie and your Rainbow Ranch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My wife and I had dinner at Rainbow Ranch on 9.14.11, (we were staying in Big Sky.). It is one of the best restaurants ever, rivaling Napa Valley, Maui, Chicago, and any other place we have dined. Patrick was terrific. Right from the start we could tell that he was a man who loved what he was doing, from describing the food to tips on fishing, and took pride in being part of this amazing place. The rib-eye and the scallops were great, but you must try the brioche, house made duck prosciutto, foie gras, lobster, quail egg covered with a bearnaise sauce appetizer. (I know, it's a contradiction of terms.) So good, I wanted to roll in it ! Better than drugs! Lori was kind enough to show us the wine cellar, ( and didn't mind me pulling out all my favorites,) while telling us about the history of the place and the fire that took so many brave bottles of delicious wine. She is another wonderful example of why we loved dining here, she is kind, friendly and loves wine, and talking to us about it. From start to finish, Janet and I had a blast. From sharing appetizers with Ken and Mary Kay from Dallas, (the folks seated next to us,) to enjoying the people noise that reminded me of a good dinner party at our home, we didn't want to leave. Rainbow Ranch is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, and it is OZ over the rainbow. Be prepared to be amazed. Thanks Patrick and Lori. We will be back. Jack and Janet Singler.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowranchlodge, General Manager at Rainbow Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, we are happy that you enjoyed your time at Rainbow Ranch! We look forward to your return and will make sure you have our best table!
Cheers!
Mollie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gallatin Gateway
5.8 km away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
16.4 km away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
16.2 km away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
16.3 km away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
16.2 km away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ranch Lodge

Property: Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Address: 42950 Gallatin Road, Gallatin Gateway, Big Sky, MT 59730
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky > Gallatin Gateway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gallatin Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rainbow Ranch Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ranch Lodge is an intimate twenty-one room hotel and gourmet restaurant located on the banks of the Gallatin River in Big Sky, Montana. Whether riverside or pondside, accommodations at Rainbow Ranch Lodge provide a sanctuary for post-adventure relaxing or a romantic getaway for two. Located in a sweeping valley in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's location is ideal for both summer and winter activities. Our proximity to Yellowstone National Park affords our guests endless opportunities for outdoor adventure and exploration, including world-class fly fishing, horseback riding, hiking, whitewater rafting, and kayaking. Whether you choose an experienced local guide service or venture out on your own, the breathtakingly rugged, natural beauty of southwest Montana will restore and rejuvenate your senses. One of the top 10 winter destinations in North America, the Big Sky area offers a variety of winters activities including downhill skiing at Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Basin and Lone Mountain Ranch, as well as cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, dog sledding, and winter fly fishing. If your winter preferences lean more towards comfort and warmth, the Rainbow Ranch Lodge's spa services and luxurious guest rooms provide the perfect alternative to a day spent outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Rainbow Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ranch Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Hotel Gallatin Gateway
Rainbow Ranch Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing