We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
177
56
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
56
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews missouri river beautiful historic hotel junior suite montana history modern conveniences century hotel the river walk lots of history great view of the river lewis and clark pedestrian bridge small town comfortable rooms room was large fresh fruit complimentary breakfast front desk clerk
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of booking a night in the Grand Union Hotel while passing through Fort Benton. I enjoy historical and unique accommodations and this is one of the finest I have experienced.

The details in the restoration are amazing, and the fixtures and finishes used are nothing but top notch. Right from the time you see the hotel, walk into the reception area and your room. Everything takes you back in time from the flooring, curtains and the way the wood is finished. Definitely a must to experience while in Fort Benton.

The staff were very courteous and willing to answer any and all questions not only about the hotel but also the town in general. We were not fortunate on our visit to experience dinner as the restaurant was closed on the Tuesday evening we were there. The breakfast served and included with your stay was well done and featured quiche, fresh fruits, cereals, sweet buns and apple French toast casserole that was very good.

The location also provides a beautiful view of the river and easy access to walking paths along the river with lots of history about the area. This is a great place for a weekend getaway.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Ritzmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GU1882, Manager at Grand Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here! We hope that you can stay with us again soon (and hopefully have dinner next time!)

-The Grand Union Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The hotel is a well maintained property with all the necessary amenities in a small out of the way place. If you want a great experience with someone the modern conveniences this is a place for you. The room was clean and spacious.

Room tip: No matter what you you have, they're all quiet
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertk12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

The second day we were there, we decided to eat dinner at the historic Grand Union Hotel by the Missouri River in Fort Benton. It was a very well restored building with private dining rooms & a small bar. The bar served a very limited beer & wine menu which was quite disappointing. We decided we would go to a bar across the street which had more selection if we came again.
The dining however was superb! The waitresses were friendly and attentive, there was a good choice of entrees which were excellently prepared and tasty, and the atmosphere was cozy and laid back. A most pleasant place to eat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DrPsychorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

From parking in the car park it's like going back in time. What a place, what character. Even my photos look like sepia and I didn't have to change my camera settings. We were the last people to check in last night. We paid straightaway with cash and got an upgrade for 50 cents! Our room was absolutely brilliant with great views of the Missouri River (which we only saw this morning). The bed was well comfortable and so relaxing. Apparently the hotel has ghosts, but we didn't hear or see anything, but the atmosphere would certainly back up some friendly spirits. The bar and dining room are equally from a bygone era. Brandon the Bartender recommended a local Pale Ale which was gorgeous and I wish we could have stayed up longer but we were so tired from our drive. Breakfast was simple, well presented, but absolutely delicious. I had homemade scones and croissants along with a yoghurt and granola with fruit. Yummy! If I was ever passing Fort Benton again, I'd definitely return there. Thanks!

Room tip: Not sure, our room was an upgrade.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GU1882, Front Office Manager at Grand Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you and we do hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Union Hotel. The hotel is beautiful, front desk was friendly and helpful....the view was great and the bed was comfortable. Our highlight was the wonderful breakfast that was served. The lady who had prepared the breakfast and was serving us was delightful, informative and an incredible cook.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GU1882, Front Office Manager at Grand Union Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews