We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Historic and Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Union Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Union Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was my second visit to the hotel. The first time was perfect, nice room and great restaurant. This time during my two night stay, it was quite evident the management of this hotel had declined. The room was fine although I didn't see the point of a small CRT in the room.

Since breakfast comes with the room and the restaurant is really the best place to dine, I include this information in my review. In May of 2011, the chef greeted us at the door and cooked our breakfast to order and dinner, including my steak,was perfect.

Upon arrival this May, the receptionist asked what time we wanted breakfast and we agreed upon 7:30 a.m., the usual opening time. First morning, no coffee in reception area and no cook. The receptionist quickly tried to remedy the situation by whipping up scrambled eggs for us and a few others. We were told breakfast on the second day would be at 7:30 a.m. Since my husband I are birders, the earlier the better. It turned out people were already eating breakfast. Scrambled eggs on the steam table, a delicious coffee cake, fruit and coffee.

Dinner was a disappointment as well. My "medium rare" steak was the size of a pancake and full of gristle, and the salad overdressed. The two other people said their meals were so, so.

In my opinion, staying at the Grand Union beats Great Falls. No doubt, I will try a third time in the belief management will get a grip on the hotel's problems. It is a lovely location and the town is very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLAMissoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GU1882, Owner at Grand Union Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for being a repeat guest, it is always a pleasure to have our guests return. We are glad you had the opportunity to have our Chef personally cook your breakfast last year, however that is an extremely rare experience. He is usually only on for the evening meal. Our breakfast opens everyday at 7:30 am, however we do try to accommodate our guests if someone needs to leave early, we often open the doors before 7:30.
We serve local Montana Ribeye and have amazing reviews, if ever you have a problem please let your server know and we would be happy to get you a new steak or a different entree. I do hope you will return and we will try and ensure a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    47
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
118
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Grand Union Hotel is a gem, not to be missed if you are anywhere within a hundred miles. If your plans call for you to stay in Great Falls, I suggest you drive 36 miles and stay at the Grand Union as there is nothing else like it. Beautiful rooms, all amenities, and located right on the banks of the Missouri River. Fort Benton has done a great job of signage and making the entire historic waterfront educational and entertaining. The hotel, built in the 1860's, has been beautifully updated. The food is first-rate. This is a special place.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the river side, that is better - quieter and beautiful river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We decided to take a little road trip down to Montana to Fort Benton after hearing from a friend about the historical importance it had the west in the 1800's. Stayed at the Grand Union Hotel built in the late 1800's. Large steamships came up the river right beside the hotel on the Missouri River all the way from the Mississipi creating a very important trade route. The hotel was built for about $200,000, of which $150,000 were furnishings and decor. For the imaginative sort this hotel takes you back in time where gun battles were won and lost just outside its doors. The interior is still furnished with its old time elegance, owners and staff are polite and friendly, food is really good and accomodations are comfortable. Great place for special occasions.

Room Tip: We looked at several rooms, river view was nice but each room was different in shape and style which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geyser, MT 59447
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is very cool. Great location to walk along the river and within crawling distance of about 5 bars. Had a basic room and it was very nice. The bar has a decent selection of beer and wine only and it is overpriced by Montana standards. We had an appetizer, it was prawns for $13. I was disappointed as the plate was sparsely populated with 3 medium sized prawns and the flavor was unremarkable. We slept very well since our room was quiet and the bed was comfy.

Room Tip: We had a basic single room and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brush prairie WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I discovered the Grand Union through word of mouth. I had just finished up a rigorous four week business assignment and needed a place to stay before flying out of Great Falls in the morning (hotel is located about 30 miles outside of GF). The hotel cannot fail to capture one's imagination and is so enchanting it must be experienced to be truly appreciated. Gazing at the river and the surrounding environs, it is easy to picture the steamboats, traders, fortune seekers and adverturer's milling about as they did in the late 1800's. The rooms are beautifully appointed and modern while remaining true to the era. Dinner in the dining room is a must. Linger over several courses featuring local cuisine prepared by the executive chef.

Room Tip: 202 is rumored to be the best room in the hotel. The window opens to a the Missouri River vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Union Hotel

Property: Grand Union Hotel
Address: 1 Grand Union Square, PO Box 1119, Fort Benton, MT 59442
Region: United States > Montana > Fort Benton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fort Benton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Union Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Union Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing