We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic locale, wonderful little cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Dock and Row Boat Right in Front of Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Dock and Row Boat Right in Front of Cabin
Cabin is Right by the Lake Relax in the Hammock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Private Dock and Row Boat Right in Front of Cabin
Cabin is Right by the Lake
Relax in the Hammock
Two Twin Beds in Upstairs Bedroom
King Bed in Upstairs Bedroom
Kitchen
Living Room
Fire Ring
Wildlife Abounds on Spoon Lake
Enjoy the Water
Wildlife of Glacier National Park
Enjoy Spectacular Glacier National Park
Sunsets
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Columbia Falls, Montana

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AKayRey
South Houston, Texas
1 review
“Fantastic locale, wonderful little cabin”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cabin was well-stocked for a low-key vacation, everything from a grill and cooking supplies to bear spray and basic first aid. The owners provided clear instructions and set things up very well. The views of Spoon Lake were serene, definitely a major asset for the cabin. The neighboring cabins were rather close, but were occupied by families on vacation, so they didn't stay out late or cause too much noise. Watching the birds in the morning, fishing, using the boat (comes with the cabin!) all supremely relaxing. The proximity to the West Glacier entrance was such a wonderful surprise. The cabin is a mere 15 minutes from the park, so we could easily drive in several days to try different hikes. The owners have really thought of everything, even providing a bottle of sparkling apple juice and box of chocolates upon our arrival. This is a real gem and provides a nice introduction to Montana if you've never been. Though it would possible to fit 6 people, it would be mighty snug. Be sure to go with people you like. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darcherd
North Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small cabin in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Positives:
o Amazingly beautiful location, on the shore of a small lake in a lush mountain forest - so peaceful
o Private dock with a rowboat - I loved being able to row around the lake each morning for exercise (motorized boats are apparently not allowed, which added to the peace and quiet)
o Fire ring, grille, hammock, and outdoor furniture invite you to appreciate the views and take in the peace of nature (weather permitting)
o Great base for exploring Glacier National Part - only 33 minutes from the cabin to the West Glacier Park entrance via the paved road through town (25 minutes by the "shortcut" but that's only partially paved and we concluded the extra 8 minutes wasn't worth the risk to our car's finish and suspension), and even closer to the roads giving access to the northwest side of the park (again, mostly unpaved)
o Fully equipped with linens, cookware, fishing gear, BBQ grille, marshmallow skewers, firewood, binoculars, bird identification book, life preservers, games, books...the list goes on, but we lacked almost nothing - all we needed to bring was our clothing, camera, food and drink
o Comfortably furnished for 4 people, with truly charming rustic décor
o Really soft water - the soap rinsed off me when the shower water barely touched me (this may not be a big deal to some but you folks from the Midwest with your chronically hard water will appreciate it)
o Wildlife abounds - we saw whitetail deer and snowshoe hare right by the cabin and the woods are full of scolding squirrels. On the lake we saw herons, ducks who swam right up to us quacking noisily for a handout, and loons who filled the early morning with their haunting cries. And of course nearby Glacier NP has even more wildlife (we saw bear, moose, bighorn sheep, and mountain goats)
o Cellphone reception is functional (I had 1-3 bars at all times), though there is no wi-fi
o Nearby activities include river rafting, helicopter and bus tours of Glacier, a waterslide park, wineries and distilleries with tasting rooms, and Flathead Lake. The town of Columbia falls is only a few minutes away and features two grocery stores, a couple of good restaurants (and many more of lesser quality), Laundromats, service stations, etc. and the nearby towns of Kalispell and Whitefish offer even more.
o The owners were in residence at the cabin next door (they own both) during part of our stay and we found them to be very nice (and thankfully, they stopped by to alert us that we'd left the lights on in our car)

Negatives:
o The cabin is very compact. While it could sleep six by using the downstairs sleeper sofa, I don't think more than 4 would be very comfortable, and it would be a particular ordeal if the weather didn't allow you to spread out outdoors (the dining table only has room for 4).
o We've experienced smaller bathrooms, but only one I can think of that wasn't in an RV
o There are no stairs to the upstairs sleeping area, only a ladder which, while sturdy, means that this rental is not appropriate for anyone with mobility issues (kids would love it, though)
o The propane-burning fire stove which provides heat when needed turned on spontaneously at one point, much to our surprise, and the switch on the stove itself wouldn't respond and shut it off. We were finally able to shut it off by pushing the wall thermostat lever all the way to the left/cold, but we were careful not to put anything on top of or too close to the stove after that.
o While the lake area is generally very quiet and peaceful, there are other cabins and homes fairly close by, so if some of your neighbors choose to stay up until 4:30 a.m. talking and laughing around their fire, you're not going to have a restful night.

Bottom line: As long as you accept the minor limitations, this is a great place to get away from it all and enjoy nature as a couple or small family/group while still being close to civilization. And as a base to take advantage of nearby Glacier NP, it can't be beat. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and hope you will, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rowboat on the beautiful lake
Liked least: Climbing up and down the ladder multiple times a night to use the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
We are always glad to hear that our guests have such a good time at our cabin. Our guest book is full of wonderful comments about the cabin and the area. We were surprised they did not try the short cut to Glacier which everyone else uses. That route has only 3 miles of well maintained dirt/gravel road which is passable by even the lowest clearance cars and is even plowed in the winter. To clarify, the gas heater is controlled by a thermostat on the wall which you adjust to suit your needs. We were glad to meet these guests who were very nice and even gave us a little something for helping them out with their car lights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesone P
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect waterfront lake cabin”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a great little getaway cabin for a couple. It could fit a couple children in the upstairs as well but would be tight for 2 couples.

The best things about the cabin are:
1) It's literally feet away from the lake and there are large windows looking out to it
2) The lake itself is uncrowded and has a loon couple who make wonderful calls to each other at night
3) Very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed to cook meals ourselves
4) Great eating area outside with fire pit on the water
5) Very few bugs! At least when we were there the week after July 4
6) Remote enough to see a lot of wildlife. I saw a mountain lion saunter past at 7am in the morning 15 feet away from the windows that overlook the lake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the lake
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$209
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing