We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
351
153
56
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
153
56
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe general managerindoor poolour room was spaciousyogurtbase areafire pitbeautiful lobbylounge areamountain baseski tripski bootsoff seasonfree shuttlegreat place to stayyellowstone parkend of the dayhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped here as part of a 3-week road trip expecting some great things. Expectations were based on other reviews and on the price. We were disappointed all around.

Rooms were large but unappealing. On a cold evening, there was no fire in the lobby fireplace. The breakfast was meager. Mostly, we found the service, while well intentioned, incompetent. We called ahead about dinner and were assured there was a restaurant within walking distance and, despite the off-season, that it would be open. There was a restaurant, but it was closed. Having driven 8 hours already, we weren’t eager to get back in the car so managed with snacks, but we were frustrated at the uninformed response to our pre-arrival inquiry.

We won’t be returning.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JKY159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

JKY159,

Sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to standard. The off season's quietness can be a good thing and a bad. Sorry again, and thank you for the constructive criticism.

Thank you,

Shivam Patel
General Manager
The Lodge at Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I would highly recommend The Lodge at Big Sky for your next stay, based solely on their exceptional customer service!!! I arrived at The Lodge at Big Sky and checked in not knowing that I had messed up my reservation. The manager went above and beyond what was expected of him to accommodate me and my mistake and even gave me a room upgrade!!! I couldn't be any happier with my experience and stay at The Lodge!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor with a view of Lone Peak. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Chay D,

Mistakes happen. It was our pleasure to make sure that our guests' hotel stay goes off without a hitch. Makes me happy to hear that our gesture resonated with you. Thanks for letting others know about your experience. We'll see you on your next ski trip.

Warm Regards,

Shivam Patel
General Manager
The Lodge at Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This place was great! Not only do they have a ski valet that serves you warm popcorn after a cold day of skiing, but it's just steps from the lifts, rental places, and restaurants. Also, the indoor/outdoor hot tub and pool area was great, though a tad odd when you walk in with your apres ski beers through the workout center to get to it. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elrhoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

elrhoads,

Glad to hear we've earned your return business! We strive to provide experiences exactly like yours. Thanks for the compliments.

Warm Regards,

Shivam Patel
General Manager
The Lodge at Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Stayed for a week for a ski trip. The hotel is less then a 10 min walk (without ski boots) or a couple of minutes with the shuttle to the base area. We stayed on the 1st floor but it actually is the basement. Ground floor are rooms starting with 200 numbers. The room was a very nice size and had 2 queen beds and a love-seat/couch, mini-fridge and microwave. Shower was always hot. Room was clean and only used house cleaning once. Issue with being on the 'first floor' is (1) even with nice big windows you have no view, (2) that is where all the conference rooms are, so depending on what is happening could be very busy down there (3) where the laundry for the building is done by housekeeping but that was usually done when we were getting back from slopes.

Two nights there was no bartender so bar was not open, and 2 of the 3 times I went to use the hot tub (7pm) there were no towels, and two of the 3 outdoor tubs were luke warm at best. Only to find out that they were filled 45 mins beforehand. This is something that should be done mid afternoon so the tubs are hot when you get back from the mountain and want to use them. Person at front desk was no where to be found some nights

Positives..
Location to Base Area
Room Size
Nice sitting area for groups in main lobby area
Bar
Indoor pool with 4 hot tubs (1 inside 3 outside)
Basic breakfast spread

Negatives...
Shuttle runs once every 30 mins to base area starting at 8:30, then stops late morning
Hot Tubs are small ( 4 average sized adults max) otherwise they overflow
Ice machines only on 3rd and 4th floors (yes really)
1st floor is not ground floor but basement (so remember that when booking)
Only a single elevator for entire hotel with 4 floors.

So in short would I go back... not sure. Would I recommend this to others yes, but with the caveats I have mentioned.

Room Tip: 'First Floor' is the basement so beware, main floor past pool has a lot of foot traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinkSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

DinkSnow,

Sorry to hear that your stay was below your (and our) standards. We have made our staff aware of all your concerns and we'll ensure that future guests don't have the same issues,

Thank you,

Shivam Patel
General Manager
The Lodge at Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at the Lodge for a family wedding. Was very impressed with the accommodations except for the fact that we couldn't regulate the heat in our rooms. Very warm! Beautiful lobby, with small bar, excellent continental breakfast. The staff were extremely helpful to all our requests. Would have given this a 5, but was disappointed that 2 of the 3 outdoor hot tubs were not working.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Lori K,


Sorry to hear that we had a bit of construction to our tubs during your stay. Rest assured they are up and running now and will be on your next stay. Thanks for your time.

Warm Regards,

Shivam Patel
General Manager
The Lodge at Big Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews