We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
33
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
11
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We went to Lagoa Poelela two years ago and this summer we came back, but this time in 4 adults and 4 kids. We received a very warm Welcome by Nunzio and his wife and having them around made a big difference thanks to their knowledge of the area and their very nice suggestions. We definitely enjoyed staying at Lagoa Poelela and we will be back again :) Thanks for keeping this place so nice and quite!

Room tip: Nunzio and his wife manage two houses on the lake shores. Both houses are equally very good, one larger and one smaller.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

One of the placed we love to go to when we want to get away for a few days from the confusion in Maputo. The houses are very well organized and the place is peaceful and relaxing. Definetely suggested!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neropass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed in Lagoa Poelela for two nights and felt like we should have stayed there two weeks. It is completely remote and a welcome respite from the built-up resorts along the south coast of Mozambique. The lake is warm and perfect for swimming, just watch out for the vivacious crabs that tend to roam along the beach (they're quite harmless though). It's also one of the few places to catch a postcard sunset in Mozambique as it's west-facing. The chalet is beautiful and tastefully decorated, the rooms are impeccable. If you stay off season be sure to stock up on provisions in Inharrime before driving to Poelela as the restaurant is closed. Also the last stretch of road is very sandy, don't try it with 2WD!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soliplatja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakePoelela, Manager at Lagoa Poelela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Thank you for staying at Lagoa Poelela.
And we thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

we were there for a weekend. From Maputo need 4/5 hours, but one time there we foregot the dificulties to achieve there.
It is something magic. Quiet is not enough to tranmit the feeling of the Logoa.
Belene too have Lagoa, but this is different. the coulors are differents.
the house are very well done and the service of the staff is attencious and discret.
Best place for a long weekend far from Maputo

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poelela, Manager at Lagoa Poelela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thank you for your stay at Poelela.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Poelela.
We hope to see you in the near Future .

See you soon

Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

Our second visit here and a truly enjoyable one. The venue is a piece of heaven and even though off the beaten path and isolated it is worth the trip. You can swim in the calm water on your doorstep and watch the breathtaking view from your verandah. There are activities nearby with Zavora Beach about 12 km away which offers a nice restaurant and some fantastic snorkelling at low tide. A close by resort 10km also has a pool and restaurant which can be visited. Tofo and Barra are 125km away and make a very easy day trip option which we did twice. Don't forget to buy some bread (pao) from co-op about 2 km on right hand side of road (brightly painted with tables outside) after Gulp fuel station after you exit Inharrime on way to resort. We will return again and again. I have reviewed prior please see below.

Room tip: All Casa are superb
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoaPoelela, Manager at Lagoa Poelela Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

I want to thank the entire family for returning. it was good to have you back. and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. you are welcome anytime.
Have a good year. God Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews