We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely location, friendly and helpful owners and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Atikur R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay, totally out of nose and pollution”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have just stayed there for two nights with my wife, one year old baby girl, Friend and his wife. We have been welcomed by the owner named Stephen. He was such a nice person. We had a bit of difficulties to find the place as there wasn't clear signpost on the way and cottage was situated at the bottom of the hill. this is totally a remote area, no mobile coverage (we had O2 and Vodafone)..but wifi was available in the cottage , so we were not totally detached from the world. following morning stephen approached to us with some fresh eggs from his hens and he gave us some idea where to go and what to see. We have been to Muncaster Castle, Revenglass , Roman Bath House and also Wast Water. we really enjoyed staying there and grateful to stephen for landing us his map.

Advices for the people: Make sure your car's has good brakes if you are taking it and you are good driver.
have viber or whatsapp in your phone to keep connected while in the cottage, keep a local map to navigate as gps might not be working all the time, keep a torch light too. and also warm cloth for night out.

Don't forget to see the places i mentioned. if you love natural beauty..you must go see wast water.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
Thank you for review, please note the drive is suitable for cars my wife drives up and down daily in a ford fiesta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely location, friendly and helpful owners and family but not intrusive.”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we would definitely stay again.Loved the place, very central to so many places, towns and remote spots alike, excellent accomadation, clean and all you need. lovely people and animals. veiws and peace and quiet. recomend the brown cow for food, and service. also try Eskdale.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and very accommodating owner”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Row Farm Cottage for 3 nights at the beginning of May. We had a little trouble finding the cottage as the sign for it was facing the opposite direction we were approaching from. On arrival down the stone path (my KA struggled with the road but managed) we were greeted at the cottage by Stephen the farm owner. He was very pleasant and accommodating. In fact, we had a severe puncture and both Stephen and his son assisted in removing the tyre and attaching the spare. Without their help and tools the car would not have been drivable. He was also able to tell us about local amenities but also respected our privacy.
The location of the cottage is beautiful but rather remote, be prepared to drive across fells to reach the west side of the lake district. It is definitely worth the trouble though, as the sunset over the sea is absolutely beautiful. In addition, the miniature train ride from Ravenglass to Delgarth offers breathtaking scenery.

I would definitely recommend this location and this cottage if you are looking at staying in a less tourist part of the Lake District. We thoroughly enjoyed our time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bano80
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Row Farm cottage for family or couple.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Row Farm Cottage is a family run farm. We were very excited on arrival to this remote holiday destination with our 6 year old daughter. Because as soon as your arrive at the gate you see the sheep. There is a stoned laid path down the hill so I four wheel drive is recommended.

Stephen the owner made us feel very welcome and was very helpful and gave us lots of information and advice on the area. So ask him anything as he's happy to help.

Please note this is not the tourist part and local Tesco supermarket is 15 mins away. There is free WIFI which is necessary as no reception whilst in cottage. Be prepared with your food before arrival to this self catering cottage as there is only a pub around here. But Steve kindly gave us a bottle of milk and later gave our littler one fresh eggs from his chickens which were tasty and appreciated. Stephen is there if you want to speak or if you want to keep to yourselves he is respectful of that.

Must emphasis bring your wellie's to explore farm and fleece and lots of warm clothes as it can get cold.

The beach is about 5 mins drive and all you have to do is follow the signs. I recommend you go on the stream train which you can take from Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway to see the breath taking scenery but on the first day, exploring the farm is enough. If your coming from London expect a least a 7 hour journey, so leave your home about 9am ish.

However it is remote (which is what we town folk love about this place as its a great experience) so bear that in mind and if your not an experience driver then its not possible to drive here.

There is so much to see that seven days is not enough. I am sure I will return and would highly recommend this to anyone!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YASIR A
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Lovely place to stay and a decent house plus a bonus with the live farm. The beautiful scenery around the house is gorgeous and the people are absolutely lovely
We were late on the day of arrival but the hosts didn't say a word. We reached after midnight. Definitely recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing