We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stop and play”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 December 2016

I enjoyed this Best Western Plus, my first stay in this brand. I usually stay in Marriott properties. Had a room away from the highway and on the end of the top floor so it was very quiet. The room itself was the best part of this hotel. Fridge and microwave on a nice stand. Very new and clean. No stains or tears or worn looking furniture. Comfortable. The downsides to the hotel were that many construction workers stay there and are always congregating in the lobby areas with all of their equipment. I love construction workers, don't get me wrong, but they took up a lot of the seating so, lounging in the lobby wasn't really an option. Also, the hotel allows staff to get breakfast before they start working. This is great, however, when it is busy, the housekeepers should be conscious of guests and allow guests to get what they need first. I sometimes felt I was inconveniencing them because I was getting breakfast.

Room Tip: Away from highway is quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent experience at the Best Western Plus-The Charles Hotel. We have reported the concerns to our Hotel Leadership Team and will assure we follow up on your concerns. Our most important goal is to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Greeley J. Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016

The breakfast was wonderful and the staff were professional and courteous. Lighting in the hallways and rooms was insufficient, giving the hotel a dingy look. The windows are so dirty it is nearly impossible to see out them. That coupled with the need to resurface the parking lot and the lack of signage showing the min entrance means this hotel has a ways to go to be considered excellent. Pillows are terrible, but bath linnens are very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank raymondgY2294MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent experience at the Best Western Plus-The Charles Hotel. We have reported the concerns to our Maintenance Engineer and will assure we follow up on your concerns. Our most important goal is to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Greeley J. Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Great hotel to stay after a long day of driving. Texas Roadhouse right outside back door. Other restaurants near by too. If you tell them when your arriving, check in and key is waiting. Have stayed here a few times.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank offpitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Hi Valued Guest, and thank you for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time staying with us and that staff was so attentive to your needs. We will definitely share your kind comments with our hotel leadership. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greeley Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I traveled on business to the area for a week long training. The front desk was very friendly in assisting me with getting my check-in accomplished, as there was a little issue with my company issued card. The room was on the 8th floor, and was comfortable. The fridge was a mini-fridge, equivalent to what you would expect in any hotel room. There was also a microwave. Climate controls were easy to use and kept the room comfortable. The decor is dated, and the room needed more lighting. To accomplish the "suite" two rooms were opened into one room, with the opening being the pre-designed doorway on the far side of the room. There were no light controls near the opening and you had to feel around in the dark to find the light switch. Housekeeping came on 3 of the 5 days, which was unusual. The pool is indoor, the gym was small but had what was needed, dumbbells, treadmill, and a multi-use machine. The business center had a Mac and a PC, only the PC was connected to the printer in the room, and the fax machine did not work, although the front desk faxed what I needed sent. DO NOT USE THE ROOM SERVICE! The Italian restaurant the food comes from was rude on the phone, and the food was terrible. Very overpriced for a place that alleges to be "World Class". All in all I would stay here again, based on convenience and the adequacy of the facility.

Room Tip: 8th floor is where all suites are located. Quiet floor.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fire_dad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your notifying us of your recent experience. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations. If you have a moment I would love to speak with you regarding the details of your most recent stay. I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to correct the matter. I appreciate you alerting me to this matter and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.

Yours in hospitality,

Greeley J. Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Hotel has easy highway access, next door to Texas Road House and Denny's. Walk to Bass Pro, grocery store, even historic St. Charles in warm weather. Casinos close by for those that like to play games of chance.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley R, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Hello Judy- Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your visit and your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Greeley Rodriguez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis St. Charles
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 21 in Saint Charles
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/St. Charles
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Louis St. Charles
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - St. Charles / St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel

Address: 1425 S 5th St, Saint Charles, MO 63301-2435 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range: €84 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A St. Charles, Missouri hotel, the BEST WESTERN PLUS The Charles Hotel is situated just five blocks from the historic district and is within walking distance of the First Missouri State Capitol State Historic Site and the Foundry Art Centre. This St. Charles hotel is minutes from Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, Katy Trail State Park and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater St. Louis. The Lambert-St Louis International Airport is only eight miles away. The hotel is also less than one mile away from the Saint Charles Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Saint Charles
Saint Charles Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing