We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stay at Tan Tar A for a quick family getaway. All the staff and employees were exceptionally friendly(pretty sure we were the only people there). Access to our room was difficult, it was quite a walk from a parking spot and even then there were rocky paths and several stairs to navigate. The room and hotel was very dated but clean. After booking six months in advance for my daughters birthday because of the indoor waterpark I was told the waterpark is not included in our stay. Very frustrating. And after a 3 pm check in, said waterpark was still $17/person, even though it closed at 7pm. I asked for a reduced rate bc it was so late, by time we settled and got to waterpark it was after 4. I was told no, but the manager did honor a coupon on the visitmo.org website. We were one of two families in the waterpark, again very clean but very outdated. We won't stay there again, it's just not worth $$ for the conditions and cost. There are other options where amenities are included.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Siddalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Siddalgh, Thank you for choosing our resort for a quick family getaway. We’re sorry to hear about your frustrations regarding the waterpark admission.
You may not have noticed much activity around the resort during the short time you were here, but now that the Lake Area has quieted down, we are in the process of renovating guest rooms, restaurants and other areas of the resort.
It is understood that you will not be returning. However, your business is very important to us and if we can be of service to you again in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

I’ve traveled all over the world and some accommodations were very simple but convenient, clean and safe. This place is just awful unless you are a very young athletic adventurer. Fixtures and decor are from the early 70’s. I’d say If you have a conference, stay somewhere else, but there’s no parking.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Dmbhr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dmbhr1, We are very sorry that your business stay turned out to be such a disappointment and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We hope that despite any disappointment you may have felt, you were still able to enjoy your conference.
Thank you for posting your thoughts on TripAdvisor. If there is any way we can assist you at any time in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know--we would be grateful for the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Be prepared to do a LOT of walking. Since its built on a hill, it's a lot of uphill walking and if you're traveling indoors, a LOT of stairs. Windrose building smells musty. Black bear lodge was pretty nice. Good breakfast, go hungry for the buffet. If you're traveling with a group, ask to be roomed close to each other, otherwise it'll be very inconvenient to be on the opposite side of the resort from your party.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank flowergirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

flowergirl11, We know that our resort is large and can require a lot of walking to cover it. We are sorry if traversing from your room to other locations was a bit more than you had counted on. If you return, please know that a guest tram and shuttle service is available throughout the resort and estates complex.
Our team is currently investigating the odor you mentioned in your review and we apologize for this inconvenience as well. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and truly appreciate all the feedback you’ve offered us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you and your colleagues again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I was staying at Tan Tar A for a conference and my husband came along as well.

The resort was very friendly, helpful and staffed accordingly to accommodate the large conference. There was minimal wait times for any service (bar, check in, shuttle, etc....yeah I listed bar first).

We stayed in the cabins further down directly on the water. They were nice but older. We overheard discussion about the new owners updating and even possibly rebuilding some of the cabins, but that was just hear say, we never heard confirmation if this was fact or not. Room was equipped with fridge, micro, stove, dishes, tv, couch, 1 bed, bath. Wonderful views of the water! Room was located right on the water as well.

Only 2 downfalls:
1. Our condo/cabin was a 4 Plex layout...one of the neighbors burnt something awful in their room and it smelled like burnt sewage/flesh/rodent for an entire day. Not the resorts fault by any means, just one downfall of the layout.
2. Parking!!!! There is just not enough spaces for the guests. Very frustrating when you book a room and don't necessarily have a parking space to come back to after going somewhere. I am sure that we are not the first guests to mention the parking debacle.

Shuttle was always very prompt to transport us to our desired destination.

There was plenty for my husband to do while I was at the conference. Lots of attractions and outdoor activities in the area.

Area also offers a plethora of different places to eat. Franchises, holes in the wall, upscale, fast food, sit down and/or take out.

Room Tip: Pick a room further down from the main lobby! Right on water and great sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimandTheresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Tim and Theresa C, Thank you for letting us know how well your function turned out. Our resort has been hosting a wide variety of groups, conventions and conferences for many years. A beautiful lakefront location, paired with lots of amenities, makes us the ideal place for large gatherings or the perfect spot for a couple's weekend getaway. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I recently attended a conference at Tan Tar A. It didn't help that I was assigned to a cell block in the Estates, their timeshare facility away from the main "resort". The rooms there are uniformly poor and in need of a massive update. If you stay in the main property there is a bug identification chart so you can recognize the six and 8 legged friends they anticipate will invade your room. I found the staff to be uninterested at best and surly at worst. With many better properties available in the area I would avoid Tan Tar A given any alternative. The facility looks like it was built in the 70's and hasn't received a meaningful update since then. Someone who stayed there six months ago said that the main escalator, out of operation in for my visit, had been out of order then as well. This is just one example of the "care" of the property. The facility has been recently sold. Lets hope new management has the money to turn this around. Until then I wont be back.

Room Tip: Keep away from the estates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne S, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

David A, We are very sorry we didn’t meet your expectations on this visit and hope you will come back when renovations are complete. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osage Beach
16.2 km away
The Lodge at Old Kinderhook
7.9 km away
Osage Village Inn
Osage Village Inn
#10 of 14 in Osage Beach
74 reviews
11.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
Red Roof Inn Osage Beach
#6 of 14 in Osage Beach
96 reviews
7.1 km away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,120 reviews
9.1 km away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range: €88 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing