We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Small But Nice Park

We stopped in here on the way back to Meremac State Park after a day out. We just missed the last... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2018
DuneBug2
,
Illinois
Camping Review

While here for Cave Tour we spent the night in their RV park. It’s a beautiful park all with grass... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
tonyk744
,
Moreno Valley, California
via mobile
Read all 72 reviews
  
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
49
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
18
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hiking trails our tour guide lily pad onondaga cave great camping travel trailer river access visitor center gravel bar year olds canoe launch gift shop formations hike sites bats missouri
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the State Park to see the full solar eclipse. We were impressed by the facilities. For a state park, it was very good. The staff was relaxed, welcoming and helpful. The bathrooms were very well maintained, and they come around daily on a golf cart to sell ice and firewood. No cell phone service. Very narrow bandwidth wifi. There is a phone and ATM at the info center where they also give tours of the amazing Onondaga Cave. The only downside was that the campsite was not at all private. It had a tree, but no bushes. I prefer that. But it was quiet and the other campers were very respectful.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Valfrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Onondaga Cave State Park is one of Missouri's natural wonders.
Tours give plenty of understandable information about the formation of caves, the creatures that live in them and how fragile the underground ecosystem is. Worthwhile trip for older teenagers and adults. Beautiful scenery inside the cave.
If you've got children than Meramec Caverns is a better (although significantly more expensive) choice. Both are off Interstate 44 on the St. Louis side of Missouri.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank davek57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Every now and then when we are out of town we seek out a cave tour. On our recent trip to the St Louis area we checked out Onondaga. If it a decent drive off the highway through a rural area that leads into the park. Once arrived we were surprised by the lack of cars in the parking lot. On our tour I'd say there were approximately two dozen of us. The tour guy pointed out lots of wonderful things and was very knowledgeable about their cave and the science behind caves in general as well as some history of this cave and the surrounding area.

We found the Lily Pad room the most interesting as it is one of the more unique elements. Also, the snow like mineral deposits found in some areas were very nice.

Our tour lasted just under and hour and a half and we all enjoyed the cave and our tour guide. Without a doubt the cave provided some true value and a great way to have a semi-educational experience with the teens.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent stay and will definitely be going back to onodoga state park. The cave tours lead by Mitchell were great and he spent a lot of time answering my 8yo questions. The tent camping sites are right next to the river and had it not been raining we would have spent all day down there playing on the rocky river banks. Very nice shower house clean & hot water. Can't wait to go back!! Across the river is Ozark Outdoors. Great place to get a canoe or raft but a little to roudy to stay with young children.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

we came from Ste. Genevieve, there is no sign on the road along, although we have GPS and also have Google map printed out in hand, but still can't find the way, we drive to an unpaved road, and we suspect that it's not the way, so we didn't drive through the unpaved road, also it's already over 4pm, and we think that even when we arrived, we are unable to join the cave tour, so we didn't get there. I think there should be more sign indicating the correct way, but we didn't see any sign along the way, so costing us spend lots of time to find the way, and not sure or not secure to drive through the unpaved road.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ELKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocsp7556, Manager at Onondaga Cave State Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

So sorry to hear of your travel issues. You did take the correct path from the direction you described. Hwy 8 from Potosi, MO. toward Steelville, MO. about 6 miles before you reach Steelville, Hwy E is on the right. Taking this paved road does lead to an unpaved road that runs through the Huzzah Wildlife Area, a Mo. Dept. of Conservation property. It is about 3 miles of gravel straight through and comes out in our park. Travellers will cross a low water bridge at the entrance of the wildlife area and then a bridge over the Meramec River as they exit the WA and then enter our park. Because that area can be prone to flooding we don't direct our guests through that route; if the driver of a large camper cannot get through due to flooding, there is no way for them to turn around and leave the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews