We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic pristine clean pools define this place”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Ozark
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockwood-Capri Resort Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The Rockwood Resort Motel has been in continuous operation since the 60's, successful because it is an affordable option for families--really anyone--wanting to stay in the Lake area. The pools define this place--they are meticulously maintained and sparkling clean. There are two in-ground concrete pools side by side, with two hot tubs on the deck, which surrounds both pools. The units are built to overlook it.

The attention to maintenance and cleanliness extends to the rooms themselves. We stayed in a duplex stone cabin, with a queen bed and a mini-fridge. It was on the small side, the materials like blinds, etc, were budget-quality, but it was very very clean. Just like those pools.

There are a number of units in various buildings, most face the pool. There are three stone cabin duplexes. There are varying sizes, some have kitchenettes. There's a small grassy area with a couple of picnic tables and a barbecue pit, a little gravel play area, the pools and tubs, backs to the woods. An onsite laundry with a real institutional-grade ice machine and a big scoop for free ice. It's a family friendly place, owners live on site, it's close enough to walk to the historic Bagnell Strip (hint: take the side road which passes the school--a much safer walk). There is enough buffer and distance, though, that this area is safe and family-friendly.

A few suggestions if you stay here:

Towels: They don't supply pool towels. The in-room towels are not the best--so when you pack the beach towels, pack your favorite comfy bath towels too.

Beds: The mattress was very firm. For people like me with shoulder problems, you might consider packing a memory form bedroll or other bed topper. If you have shoulder or other pain, you will thank me.

Air conditioning/heating: It works great, but not necessarily quietly.

This one gets a five star for its quaintness, it's pools, but most of all for being a good affordable option for folks--especially families--headed to the Lake. It's not about how it compares to the Hilton--it's about what you get for the price, including a heavy dose of nostalgia.




Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Diane32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is the most charming resort we have found. It is family owned and operated. They are so friendly and made us feel like we are part of the family.
This resort reminds me of the motels they used to have along route 66. Very cute and comfortable. They have a variety of rooms to choose from and the prices are the best value at the lake. It is very clean, we love it.
This is the only place we stay at the lake.
We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chrismisscarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Great little get away to the oldest Mom & Pop Motel on the strip. Rooms are small but clean. You can't beat the price for the location, plus it has 2 pools and 2 hot tubs. Walking distance to Bagnell Dam.

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank Darin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Stayed here with the family and the kids are begging to go back next year! It was clean and the owners were extremely helpful. Walking distance to the Bagnell strip and McDonald's was right across the street. Will definitely visit here again. Pools were extremely clean and also there was two of them.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

I waffled between Very Good and Excellent. Five women stayed in the two bdr, 1 ba unit. The total for the weekend for two nights, plus taxes, etc., was a little over $300. (In comparison, we looked at a condo to rent....it was going to be almost $900 for the weekend! Yikes.) We were all impressed. The owners are friendly and easy to work with. The unit was clean and comfortable. Even the fold out sofa was comfy. We were right on Bagnell Dam Blvd so we could walk to several touristy shops and eating places, or we could do the short drive to the mall. It was nice being close because it really saves on the money. We went back to the motel unit to eat lunch and snacks. The pools were very clean, and the hot tubs were older, but immaculate. Very nice temp in both pool and hot tub. Be sure to take your own beach towels for the pool!!! Take flip flops, too, to the pool. The nails on the deck stick up and are kind of painful...but it's still a great deck with good seating and tables. The pools start at 2.5 feet deep and go up to about 8 or 10 feet deep. We had two people who couldn't swim, yet they still got in the 2.5 deep water. The only reason I did not give an Excellent is because of the raccoons at the pool. Yes, raccoons.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Ozark
3.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 12 in Lake Ozark
134 reviews
2.3 km away
The Lodge at Port Arrowhead
The Lodge at Port Arrowhead
#3 of 12 in Lake Ozark
14 reviews
4 km away
Lodge of  Four Seasons
Lodge of Four Seasons
#2 of 12 in Lake Ozark
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
LakeHouse Hotel
LakeHouse Hotel
#1 of 14 in Osage Beach
277 reviews
9.4 km away
Camden on the Lake Resort
Camden on the Lake Resort
#1 of 12 in Lake Ozark
545 reviews
4 km away
Southwood Shores Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwood-Capri Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwood-Capri Resort Motel

Address: 1701 Bagnell Dam Blvd, Lake Ozark, MO 65049-9734
Region: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Lake Ozark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Lake Ozark
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing