We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
13
29
13
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
29
13
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles hot tub room was clean indoor pool nice stay stay there again hot breakfast breakfast area fast food facility land cereal louis
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

As is the case with most Comfort Inn I've stayed at (over 25), this facility gives the traveler exactly what they want- a clean, comfortable room & king-size bed, nice hot shower, flat-screen TV, good hot breakfast with waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, English muffins, cereals, yogurt, & juice/coffee for an affordable ($85/night AAA rate) price. If you are driving through this area, 2 hours east of St. Louis, this is a good option for you.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Borntotravel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a good time at our location. We strive to make each stay a successful one.

We hope you will choose to stay with us next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,
Quality Inn Kingdom City, MO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

I called the hotel after checking the usual rates online.

I called the Comfort Inn and asked for military rates as we were making a move based on base relocation. The man stated yes we do have that rate. Nice, I thought till he quoted me a price 5 dollars OVER every other discount. I took my business elsewhere. Thanks for the support of charging our military more !

Pathetic.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank pdrvmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. Government Military rates are per diem rates set by state and local organizations. We are sorry that you felt the rates were high.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a superior guest experience.

Best Regards,
Quality Inn Kingdom City, MO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

It is a little bit tucked in, but it was good. We are Choice members, and we were able to use our points for a free stay. Our check- in took approx 2 minutes!! Just as we signed the register, the receptionist, said, "please wait one sec" he then grabbed some bottled water and snacks, gave them to us, and could NOT have been nicer!! Facility was very nice, indoor pool, workout room, and a good hot breakfast!!!! Only one Nit Picking,, room was a little bit dusty, but it was clean. Again, the staff, checking in, and calling to confirm,, were AWESOME!! Will stay again anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardssix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a good stay with us in Kingdom City, MO. We strive to make each guest experience a superior one and one stay better than the next one.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a excellent stay again soon!

Best Regards,
Quality Inn Kingdom City, MO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Without a doubt, the absolute worst accommodation experience EVER. Overnight stay, one room for $70 (+ tax).

While settling in to the room, heard loud screaming (not yelling, not loud talking: top of the lung *screaming*) coupled with banging from the next room. Then the floor is actually shaking. First thought was to call the police, but ended up calling the front desk. "Oh, right, the guy told me when he checked in he was going to be loud 'cause he's watching the game." What? Not only did you check someone in who told you they were going to be disruptive, but then you actually placed someone who asked for a QUIET room right next door?

We were resettled in to another room at the other end of the hall. Room was stuffy from being closed off and hotter than Hades, the A/C unit took forever to cool the room down. Things like headboards, wall lamps, mirrors, etc., were in need of an extra screw or two. One wall lamp was just a bare bulb, missing the shade. Sink leaked making a puddle on the carpet. And on and on. At the time, it seemed this room was meant to be out of service, because it was so different than the first one we had been in. Rather than deal with yet another move, decided to suck it up and deal with what we had. Sheets and towels were clean, beds were ok.

Mentioned situation the next morning at check-out and all the front desk guy could say was "sorry to hear that". No offer to reduce the rate, nothing. Ugh.

Room Tip: avoid this place like the plague
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort I, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. We serve many guests each evening and hence it is disappointing we were not able to provide a satisfactory stay. We will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Kim Syed
Manager
Comfort Inn
573-642-7745

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is good hotel right off I 70. It may be a little hard to find as it's tucked behind the Ozark Land gift store. Fast food is located within a 1/4 mile. The rooms are clean and staff easy to work with.

If you have pets, there is fenced dog park in the parking lot of the gas station located next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AAAAwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort I, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us an online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very valuable and important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kim Syed
Manager
Comfort Inn
573-642-7745

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews