We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
320
248
156
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
248
156
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry club plazafront deskunderground parkinggreat bartenderfree shuttleshuttle servicehotel barwithin walking distanceoutdoor poolart museumbreakfast buffet ismile radiushotel shuttleconvention centerunion stationsimonekc
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

An older hotel, will rooms that could use a refresh soon. However, the customer service was very good and the property is well located in the plaza district with shops and restaurants only a short walk away. While downtown is not a walkable distance for most, there is a free shuttle. The fitness room is small and feels crowded with more than 1-2 people in there at a time. All things considered I was satisfied with my stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyAndBernRothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

We appreciate your feedback and we do have plans to refresh the entire hotel- including the fitness center. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza is an old hotel. It's in a good location for shopping and restaurants. There is an outdoor pool which was really nice, and the main reason we stayed there. Most other hotels in KC have indoor pools. Our room was clean but dated. Breakfast isn't included with the room price like most other hotels. The onsite restaurant is a little pricey. We would definitely stay here again just for the pool.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank caweber4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

We appreciate your review of your recent stay with us. Actually we have recently refurnished all of our tower guestrooms and are making plans to finish the remainder next year. Our huge pool and courtyard are a great attraction for many of our guests. This is the largest outdoor hotel pool in Kansas City and even comes with all the pool toys and games to keep you entertained for hours! We are happy to hear that you would stay here again when you travels bring you back to KC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I enjoy staying at this hotel for a family or couples weekend. The location is ideal and some room rates include breakfast. The pool is great to use in the summer, had a ton of chairs and 2 basketball hoops in it. The layout of the hotel isn't great as it's so spread out. If you're staying with a group and have multiple rooms ask if they can be close together.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Ellen,
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us! Our pool and courtyard are so very popular-especially with the extreme heat we have had this summer. It's a great way to stay cool and enjoy a fun, relaxing afternoon. As you noted we have basketball hoops as well as numerous pool toys and noodles to keep everyone entertained.
We are on of the larger hotels in the city with 240 rooms wrapped around that great courtyard and pool. The only downside of which is that we are not as compact as many limited service hotels. We hope that the great amenities made up for any inconvenience this caused!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a week in July. Hotel was at full occupancy but staff Maintained a high level of professionalism. There is a free shuttle that takes you around a 3 mile radius.
However the hotel is clearly in need of updating. The showers are weak and room decor is need of a refresh. The beds and mattress are comfortable and overall it’s good value for the money.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Mirza,
We certainly understand that we have some rooms that have not been recently refurnished like our tower guestrooms have been. We are working on completing those next year. In an effort to conserve water resources we have implemented flow restrictors in all of our fixtures. Most of our guest find this satisfactory. We apologize and understand that this doesn't meet everyone needs or preference, but were are trying to act responsibly in managing our resources. We are please that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your feedback as it helps us focus our efforts in the most impactful ways possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Yes let me say first that this is an older hotel but it does not detract from the cleanliness or service that you receive. When you check in the front desk personnel are efficient and very customer orientated. I especially want to recognize Marta, Baltazar, and David for their customer service and hospitality towards me and my organization. We schedule 4 week long visits each year and they consistently provide the customer service that goes above and beyond expectations. I also want to recognize the cleaning staff, without them the condition of the rooms would not be the above standard that they are. Thanks to everyone that each and every one of my stays is outstanding.

Room Tip: The only tip I can add is that if you need a refrigerator or microwave that you just have to ask.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim J, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you Richard!
We are very fortunate to have great people on our staff in every area of the hotel! We have a big focus on groups, conventions, and catering here as you well know. Our Sales and Catering professionals are very experienced and anticipate our clients needs proactively to make events run smooth. We greatly appreciate the longstanding relationship we have with your organization and each of your events is like having our old friends back in town with us.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next conference here in Kansas City!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews