We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
25
9
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
9
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen airjust the right amountboogie boardingglenmariasuitecasacottagebeachpalapa
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place is heaven in earth for us, and we come at least once every year. It's clean, simple (do not expect any luxuries), comfortable and the staff is very nice. You have access to a full-equipped kitchen, rooms have a/c and wireless internet (but no phone).

It has a great pool, and you'll find a very friendly cat named Alfa (that looks just like Garfield!). The place is right on the beach (beautiful, clean, uncrowded beach).

I know news about Mexico talk a lot about insecurity right now, but this place is safe and quiet. We even leave our things in the beach and go for a walk and never had a problem.

This is the perfect place to relax. There's not much to do except for reading a book or magazine (both available in the house) and enjoying the scenery. The house has beach equipment (coolers, boogie-board, bikes, etc) that you can borrow for free!

Place is better than the pictures on the website. Breakfast is included and it’s fine: juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, and one hot dish per day. Sunday chilaquiles are great!

Cons- Since this is a house rather than a hotel, you share common areas with other guests (that sometimes are noisy) but talk to the staff if this is a problem, and they’ll come up with a solution.

***

Este lugar es muy recomendable, nosotros vamos al menos una vez al año. Es una casa limpia y bonita, sin lujos pero muy cómoda y los encargados del lugar (Maria y su familia) son muy agradables y atentos. La casa tiene una cocina bien equipada, y nosotros generalmente llevamos super para comer ahí. Las habitaciones tienen A/C e Internet inalámbrico (pero no hay teléfono en el cuarto). La tarifa incluye un buen desayuno: fruta con yogurt, bebidas y huevos o hot cakes o chilaquiles.

La alberca es bonita, y por ahí encontrarán a un gato muy simpático que se llama Alfa (y se parece a Garfield!). El lugar está sobre la playa, que es preciosa, limpia, y con poca gente.

Es el lugar perfecto para relajarse. No hay mucho más que hacer, excepto leer un libro o una revista (ambos disponibles en la casa) y disfrutar del paisaje. En la casa pueden pedir prestado gratis tablas para boogie-board, hieleras, bicicletas, etc.

Contras: Como se trata de una casa en lugar de un hotel, las áreas comunes se comparten con otros huéspedes (que a veces son ruidosos), pero les recomiendo hablar con María y ella encontrará una solución.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Fantastic location, rooms, staff, pool, breakfasts, access to kitchen. But building work next door made it noisy. No rideable surf out front but lovely beach with turtles.

Troncones – groceries and fruit / veg and fish trucks meant easy to self cater. Take lots of Mexican pesos as if spend US, get done on exchange (11p=US$1, not 12.6). If pay in US in restaurants , get change in Mexican at those rates. Leave tips in pesos as banks have a max of U$300 exchange. Nearest ATMs Ixtapa 40 mins away. Easy to get buses ($15) from highway to Zihua.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

First, this casa is in Troncones, north of Ixtapa and there are none of the trappings of high rise hotels and all inclusives. I am not sure why it is listed here. We loved our stay. It is small, quiet and well-managed. We were two couples and had rooms that opened onto the central casa. We were greeted warmly by Maria and Alberto. It was late and they gave us a great dinner recommendation for our first night in the village. A dinner of pozole at Rufina. Casual and laid back.

Each morning Maria had prepared a very ample breakfast. We were welcome to use the kitchen if we needed. As we ate we visited and she helped us with our Spanish skills. There is a wonderful pool and great palapa area right on the beach! Sunsets were gorgeous. The location for walking was perfect. We are not surfers, but understand if you do, then choose this as a great place to stay. Beds were good, everything was clean. What a nice time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We have been to Troncones three times but Jan 09 was our first time at Delfin Sonreinte. This is a great spot if you have several people in your party who want to live family style in a big house (seperate bedrooms and bathrooms) with a shared kitchen and shared pool. I would go back but caution travelers who are single or coupled without children that the pool area can get a bit rowdy if there are several children staying at the villa. If that is an issue for you then book the whole place and invite your friends or make certain they don't have children staying there during your visit. Otherwise, its a perfect beach-vacation-gem. Better than others for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC2AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

What an incredible week...! 14 friends gathered here to celebrate life and surf The overhead swell here in Beautiful Troncones. The house is amazing, so accommodating, and the staff will steal your heart. The rooms and Bathrooms are very clean and comfortable. The roof top proves to be a fovorite place to hangout and star watch while playing music and celebrating an epic surf day. Walk into town, hang out by the gorgeous infinity pool, or check out the beach. Point is... when you get here, just RELAX. Casa Delfin Sonriente may very well be one of the greatest spots in all of the world. This place is perfect for surfers seeking awesome beach and point breaks, lovers looking for romance, or families planning a reunion. Its all here, Glenn the Owner is a great guy who always made sure our stay here is just what we needed. Easy access in and out of the Airport, and a really laid back beach town ready to serve up some of Mexicos finest cuisine. We will be back again and again.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank iryvibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews