We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Timber Creek Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Soto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Went to the area to see St. Louis and we were not to concerned with the amenities at the resort.
When we arrived we were awe struck the grounds we so nice beautiful lake , not a lot of people and that was ok with us, very quiet, friendly staff.
Our room was great ( comfortable, but needs a little updating) had everything we could possibly need. We were told that Holiday Inn had purchased the property last November and they had a lot of plans for things.

Room Tip: They do charge for additional towels, but there is free washer and dryer on compound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Two bedroom unit was very nice, but discovered a few problems. Our unit could have been cleaner-soap scum on the bottom of tub, a few tiny ants on the kitchen counter, a few mouse droppings under sink and mold on the inside lid of the coffee maker.

Although the weather was still warm, pool and putt putt were not available. We were also told the boats were not available, but found out the day before we left that they were available! Activity area - the exercise room and movie room were being renovated so also not usable.

We enjoyed the tennis court near our unit, and a walk around the lake was very pleasant. Because it was not a busy time at the resort, it was very quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Estelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Resort rooms were very clean and the balcony area was clean with no cobwebs or spiders present.
The grounds were in good shape. The minature golf course lacked water in the small basins as they are waiting to perform maintenance. Trips to St. Louis attractions are less than an hour away and winery trips to Ste. Genevieve and Desoto are short distances away.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank JJS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Not a Holiday Inn owner, but have been a Silverleaf owner for 30 years. This was our first time here and we were a little disappointed in it. Although we have not visited all the Silverleaf resorts, we've visited quiet a few and this is by far the smallest, and has the least to do (not only at the location, but in the area as well - unless you drive to St Louis). We were hoping to find some hiking in the area (think waterfalls or neat little rivers) but we haven't found any close by or had many recommendations from folks we've asked who are from here. Don't get me wrong, they have a pretty setting and a nice size pool. They even have a par 3 (5 hole) executive golf course! (That's a bonus - I hate that I didn't realize that until after we got here - without our own clubs... thankfully they rent some cheap club rentals - nothing fancy, but very affordable.) I wonder about this location and it's future because there are very few units here, and very few employees - but it's not an issue because there are very few members staying here as well. The putt putt course is like all the others at Silverleaf resorts; but, this one would be nicer if they actually had water running in the water features instead of big empty pools all over the course. Another issue is that they are "under construction" for updates in the activity center (although I have yet to see anyone "working" on that area???) so there are no bathrooms in the activity center right now and the basement area is closed.... so no idea what is even down there to see or do?

All in all, we are totally disappointed with coming, but if you are expecting your typical Silverleaf (now Holiday Inn) resort with lots to do and many activities, etc... it's not here. They have the usual stuff: pool (no hot-tub), a lake for fishing, putt putt (minus the pretty water features in operating condition), a tennis court, one basketball court, and one shuffleboard (although a small walk from the activity center and no shade).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

My family has a timeshare and this is one of the properties we are able to use. We were looking for an expensive getaway to a place we've never visited and this checked those boxes.

Though I was just traveling with my husband, this would be a great place for families. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, and living room with a sleeper sofa. The property is very relaxing. There's a huge pond with a running trail around it. There's a restaurant onsite in the visitors center.

I would highly recommend bringing or renting a car when you come here. It's on a major highway but a bit in the middle of nowhere. It's quiet this way but it's a 10 minute drive in to the town of De Soto for groceries or restaurants.

We spent a lot of our time driving the 45 minute - 1 hour it took to get to St. Louis. It offers the best of both worlds - a relaxing and quiet retreat with the comforts of the big city right down the road. You can shop, eat, catch a baseball game, go to the museums, etc.

Since it's part of our timeshare, I'm sure we will be back again when we are looking for a quiet and inexpensive retreat.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Timber Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Timber Creek Resort

Address: 4800 US Highway 67, De Soto, MO 63020-4905 (Formerly Timber Creek Resort)
Region: United States > Missouri > De Soto
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Soto
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is less than 50 minutes south of St. Louis, yet feels a world apart. Whether swimming or boating on its 40-acre lake, enjoying on-site horseback trail rides or working on your drives on its 5-hole golf course, you may forget how close you are to the city. The St. Louis Gateway Arch, historical Botanical Gardens, breathtaking Cathedral Basilica and fun City Museum are must visits. The free St. Louis Zoo and city's many shopping and dining options are family favorites. Also check out The Loop, a hip, up-and-coming historic neighborhood and Six Flags Over St. Louis amusement park. When it's time to relax, the resort is the perfect retreat. From mini golf to outdoor sports, fishing to swimming and more -there's something for everyone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing