We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Econolodge”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Reviewed 11 July 2017

In the Choice hierarchy, Econolodge does not usually provide the same experience as a Comfort Inn and Suites nor does it usually charge as much. Beyond that, I have found a wider range among Econolodge properties in their upkeep, housekeeping, and layouts including room sizes. Among Econolodges, however, the Carthage, Missouri property ranks high.

It is a large property, big enough to have one part for smokers and the other, well-separated, for non-smokers. My room was generous in size, clean, and as promised with no hint of smoking. Ground floor rooms have both interior and exterior access which was a great convenience for getting my recumbent trike in and out.

Breakfast could be more substantial, but for the price of the room and everything else this property provides, the total package is reasonable. Most travelers don't have the same nutrition needs as a cyclist pedaling fifty or more miles a day.

Access to the Econolodge is not overly obvious and could be confusing upon first arrival. The driveway is a half block east of the motel, on the north side of Central Ave, and east of highway 171. It goes north a couple of car lengths and then turns west up a slight hill toward the motel and the Arby's. Once that is understood, what amounts to a long driveway, presents no further difficulty. There is even less obvious access from the less busy Mound Street north of the motel.

All things considered, this Econolodge is an excellent choice for lodging in Carthage.

Room Tip: Ground floor has dual access; upstairs has only interior access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Recumbent_Tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2017

Stayed here when the Quality Inn was booked up. This is less expensive and right off the freeway so I did not expect much. There was a big religious event in town so they filled up fast. Still, I found the stay quiet and restful. The room was clean and very comfortable. The air unit looked recent and it was very easy to control the room temperature. The amenities were similar to Quality Inns (refrigerator, TV, Iron and board, Hair dryer, and (I think) a microwave. Free breakfast was the standard waffles, cereal, etc. No hot meat when I was there. I'm told they had a pool too but I did not get to check that out, as I got in late and had a funeral to attend the next morning.

For the average traveler staying a night or two, I would absolutely recommend the Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: Upper floor has doors into hallway. Lower floor has a door at each end of the room; one to the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveler_GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

I read some "not so good" reviews about this place, but our room was very nice. Everything worked, it looked fresh and we were very pleased. It was clean and the decor was very nice. The enclosed pool is a plus especially on a rainy day. The breakfast was fine with a number of choices available. Would I stay there again ? Yes !!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GLM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

I have stayed here once a year since 2015, and each year there are improvements. Newer beds since May of 2016, new decor, curtains, bed spreads, etc. Firm pillows on the beds, just wish that there could have been a less firm pillow available. Highly recommend this hotel, very reasonable pricing and a great location! We'll be back next year. :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I stayed there for 4 days and I enjoyed it. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Only things that kinda sucked when I was there was that my key was working fine until the last day and had to get it re keyed a couple of times; and also they had started repainting in the building and it was starting to give me a headache. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudeeB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carthage hotels
4.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
281 reviews
4.5 km away
Super 8 Carthage
Super 8 Carthage
#4 of 6 in Carthage
145 reviews
3.8 km away
Carthage Inn
Carthage Inn
#6 of 6 in Carthage
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Guest House Motel
Guest House Motel
#5 of 6 in Carthage
9 reviews
3.7 km away
Best Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn
#3 of 6 in Carthage
41 reviews
2.7 km away
Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1441 W Central Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-1020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range: €58 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carthage
Carthage Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing