We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
226
74
11
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
74
11
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here coffee table jetted tub pancake machine clean pool pool toys front desk staff cookies and milk great hotel adjoining rooms king bed nice size off the highway within walking distance breakfast items dining area room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We only went to Cape Girardeau so we could see the totality of the 2017 Solar Eclipse. We picked this hotel because it was the closest we could get to where we live and we booked back in mid October 2016! We weren't expecting much so we were very surprised by the overall quality.

The breakfast and the cookie social we covered by our room price and both were very good though labeling food would be a good idea given the amount of food allergies. The place was so crowded on August 20-21, 2017, that I was concerned about staff keeping up with the food but I think they did a good job.

The room was suite style with a kitchenette, bathroom, office area, living room area, and huge bedroom with two queen sized beds that were actually queen sized. There were two choices of pillows -- softer and firmer. There were outlets everywhere. We also appreciated the LED lighting.

One big problem was the air conditioning. First it pointed directly down the little hallway created in the room between TV and beds, between office area and living room. Also the air would not flow constantly on automatically and this allowed humidity to build up as well as sounds to go on and off. Both disturbed our sleep.

But if they could fix the AC then this would have been perfect!

Room Tip: If you can get a suite, the extra space is worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thetammyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your great comments. We love that you enjoyed your stay and our cookie and breakfast hour. This was definitely a busy time for us and we are so happy we could keep up and take care of all of our guests. We appreciate your comments about our A/C and will definitely check in to this. We hope you get a chance to come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Recently visited with my husband and 4 year old son. We had a room with a king bed and pull out sofa. The room was very nice, newly remodeled and modern. There was a lot of room for us as a family and the mattress on the king bed was nice and comfortable. The staff we encountered was friendly, the pool is clean and nice. Breakfast is pretty decent for hotel offerings. The location is very nice, having so many restaurants and shops extremely close to the hotel, and it being right off the highway. No complaints at all, we will stay again the next time we visit Cape Girardeau.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lougordon1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for staying with us and for your great comments about our hotel and staff. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our new beds and found our newly remodeled rooms to be nice and comfy. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Came to watch eclipse and stayed here. Wonderfully comfortable bed! Had a suite and was very happy with the room layout. Bath with air jets. Nice towels, not too skimpy. Good breakfast included. Pool and fitness center. Entire place is very clean. Great staff. Little shop to get drinks, ice cream, candy, etc. Definitely recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dragonghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel for your stay during the Eclipse. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel and amenities. We hope you come and see us again sometime while in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I travel frequently for work and Holiday Inn Express is my usual choice for lodging. Having stayed at quite a few around the state of Missouri and beyond, I can say that this is one of the nicest. Recently updated and very comfortable. The jetted tub was a nice surprise and provided some welcome relaxation.

The hotel is located in the center of a fairly new business district adjacent to I-55 with lots of options for food and shopping nearby. There are some really cool places downtown too, if you feel like going a little farther down the road.

If you find yourself in Cape, you won't do much better for a place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for your great comments about our hotel. We love that you found us as one of the nicest hotels. Thanks for recommending us and we hope you get a chance to come visit us again sometime>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Stayed here on August 3rd, 2017, loved it. One of the best I've stayed in (in this class) this summer. It was so good that I am staying there on my return home. They provide extras that other hotels in this class don't for no extra charge. You get a nice sitting area, with sofa and chair .There is also huge, relaxing jetted tub to soak in after a long day of driving. The breakfast is a full hot breakfast, as well as the cold items like fruit and yogurt. All fresh, all delicious! Must also say the lady at the front desk was wonderful!!

Room Tip: The king suite, great amenities, with no difference in price.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lovelylady2759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially happy that you returned on your trip home. Thanks for choosing our hotel for your stays and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews