We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent establisment”
Review of Chetwode Arms

Chetwode Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pipe Gate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Chetwode Arms, Pipe Gate provide a warm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere serving locally sourced fresh food, well kept ales and a tasty range of wines. Having an extensive garden and real open fires we are sure you will enjoy the surroundings all year round.
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Just called in on the off chance of getting lunch. Nice clean pub, beer was very good and the food excellent

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chrisandduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We went for a carvery but sadly was not as good as our previous visits. After waiting 20 minutes to finally be called up to the carvery as our so called fresh veg was being cooked, we was so very disapointed to be offered hardly any veg at all!! A spoonfull of old cabbage some odd coloured carrots peas. No crackling on the dried up pork & we couldnt even get a knife through the rock hard yorkie pudd...had to ask for more gravy as was scrapping the bottom of the soup ern.
The waitress service was also poor due to lack of staff.... we was waiting long periods for drinks & food. Considering the price for a carvery, the qaulity was poor & not worth it. We was very disapointed with everything on this visit & will not be returning!!! ☹

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank jalisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We have visited the Chetwode Arms several times this year, either for their excellent Sunday carvery, where the veg for your carvery is freshly prepared for each table, or to dine outside in the lovely garden area to enjoy their lunchtime menu. Therefore when we had some friends over from the States we decided to visit the Chetwode for dinner, all seven of us had a different main course and everyone commented on how good the food was. In addition to this the service on the night was excellent, the young lady (I think her name was Pip) who looked after us, was very knowledgeable about the menu and the choices of drinks available, and any adjustments we wanted to make to our main courses and desserts were honoured. Overall we enjoyed a very relaxing evening with great food and service and didn't feel rushed as the food is freshly prepared.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank 147Andy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I visit this pub every few months with friends. The service is unfailingly very good and the food is simple but always very nice and reasonable prices.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SubarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Service was wonderful, all staff were very friendly, attentive and approachable. We were glad we had booked a table as the place looked quite full, nevertheless we were greeted immediately with a smile and we were shown to a lovely table in a quiet area. Our drinks orders were taken and arrived very quickly.

We all ordered the Sunday Carvery which was unfaultable. Turkey, Beef and Pork all delicious (I had a bit of each). The roasties were very, very good and there was a good selection of vegetables including cabbage (my grandmother was very happy about this). Gravy was delicious!
Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Ammejlavinruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chetwode Arms also viewed

Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Market Drayton, Shropshire
Market Drayton, Shropshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Chetwode Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing