We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
11
4
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiny shower stayed here recliner fridge beds
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This is a old motel, probably built in the 1960"s. DO not let that turn you away, It had one of the best beds to sleep on in a motel that I have ever had. The room has the charm of a old fishing lodge.

There is no pool, but if it is a room for the night you can not go wrong for $80, everything else around Wadena is $150 plus

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank unhappyduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The people were great. Rates seemed reasonable. However,the room we reserved was given to someone else. I can only review the one we did have. Tiny - very tiny shower. Many plugs ganged together that my husband thought it was a fire hazard. Not much room to walk around. Not even continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minntac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

My wife checked in. She said the owner was very pleasant and friendly. Hotel is in a convenient location and parking was abundant. Our room was large but bathroom tiny. No outlet in the bathroom. Frankly the place needs a 100% overhaul.
Hate to criticize a place owned but such a nice person but I will not be back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lowteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Sorry to hear that you won't be back. It IS a work in progress and we've been working on the place for the entire 4 years we've owned it. We are aware the bathrooms need work and we are getting there. It all takes time and we have to address issues/upgrades when we have the empty rooms to do so. We stay pretty busy and it's been a challenge to address everything in the short time we've been here, but we are getting there....slowly but surely. We do hope you'll reconsider your choice not to stay here. We strive to make everyone's visit pleasant and enjoyable and ask that you give us another chance if you're in Wadena in the future (after our overhaul of course).

Thank you,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Cozy, cute, comfortable,and quiet little place. Feels more like staying at grandmas cottage than in a motel. Everything was clean, the room had a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, and super-fast wifi, and the owner was most helpful, if ever in the area again would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are into 5 star hotels, this one is not for you, if you love cottage charm - this is the place for you.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SigaVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you so much! In today's busy hustle and bustle, it is greatly appreciated that you took the time to give a pleasant review. We do hope to see again in the not to distant future! :-)

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

If you are looking for friendly staff and a great value, this is the place! Any poor reviews on this place are obviously from someone looking for "special treatment" and thinks that they are above having to follow the rules. You pay ahead, and if you cancel she will refund you're money. That's pretty standard in today's travel industry. Thank you Michelle for making our stop in Wadena pleasurable! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kolette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Owner at Brookside Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you for the nice review, Kolette! It's wonderful guests like yourself that makes owning this little motel such a pleasure. We look forward to having to you back with us in the near future!!!

Michelle :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews