We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
551
141
59
43
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
141
59
43
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area amazing views hotel restaurant our honeymoon gourmet restaurant glass of prosecco lounge chairs luxury hotel junior suite castello di the general manager medieval castle beautiful property brunello wine nearby town enjoy the view tuscan countryside
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The setting is nice and the spa is very relaxing but still a bad Service experience .

-we were so speechless that they added a Night on our bill which we didn’t Book and we didn’t spend it either - they insisted because we signed a form with a wrong date we didn’t notice

-Staff is untrained in General : people next to us finished their meal without getting drinks.
Everything is so slow.
Drinks are very expensive - there is no wine by the glass below 25€ . Glass of sparkling starts at 35€.

Although the room was 450 € per night, everything was charged on top on top on top.
Fees were charged for everything that is included in a normal 4-5 star hotel .

We left with the feeling of a rip off.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sf867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdV_Public_Relations, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs sf867,
Your review forces us to give a clear answer to all our estimated public. Following your request and our LQA standards, before your arrival, you requested to shift your stay of one night despite you had confirmed different dates with a non refundable rate, which request we kindly accepted, though we were not forced to. In order to avoid misunderstandings that may arise due to language and phone connections, our procedure require that we ALWAYS send a confirmation of the requested dates by email, which we did. Besides that, all the Guests are required to sign a form where in the FIRST line appears the requested check in date and check out date, which in your case corresponded to the same dates appearing on your email confirmation. We have no power to guess if the Guests signs a binding document with no intention of looking at it or not, but I think that you may agree that a contract which has been confirmed in multiple times openly declaring the specific dates of your stay is binding. After that for the clarity of our public we would like to say that you as well as your husband left the hotel without paying all your extras since you were claiming the “right” to receive the reimbursement of the last night that you prepaid as a discounted rate and no longer wanted to use due to a mistake that after examining the documents you admitted were completely your mistake. In order to try pleasing you to the extra mile we offered you the possibility to use part of your paid amount for the unused night as a credit for a future stay, which offer you decided to refuse. We are sorry to say that having you decided to put this experience on public, we are forced to say that you have reacted to our offer in a violent manner by causing a voluntary damage to the equipment and installations of our lobby and garden which scene has been filmed and displayed to the Public Authorities for which we necessarily had to activate a judicial claim. We have to say that this inadequate behavior towards a Simple Hotel whose only fault was to exercise the right of kindly showing you the documents you freely decided to sign and the consumptions in the Hotel that you freely decided to use do not allow anybody to express his disappointment in a violent and unacceptable manner, by screaming in the lobby and violently pulling reception chairs and braking terracotta vase in our main entrance Italian garden.
We regret to say that should you decide to persist in holding the final payment of your final balance we will be forced to declare your identity to ALL possible RESORT in order to make you enter a Tourist BLACK LIST, where all Hotels we will write to (both Italian, EUROPEAN and intercontinental) belonging to our multiple networks will be entitled to decide weather or not to accept you as their GUESTS in their Resort in the future.
Please accept our best regards.
We take the opportunity to send you our GM email to possibly try to solve the issue in a friendly manner: g.fabiani@castellodivelona.it
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is truly magnificent. Between the castle, the amenities, and the staff, it is a toss up as to which is better, as one is better than the next--which translates to pure luxury in my opinion! This is located in the Brunello vineyard and very close to the charming town of Montalcino, in which the hotel has a car that can drop/pick you off whenever you need. However, I don’t think there is much of a need to ever leave the property, although there is so much within feasible reach shall you decide to venture out. The spa and thermal pools are remarkable, as is their culinary scene. I had the pleasure in dining in all of their 3 restaurants and highly recommend trying them each as they’ve got such unique settings that are true to the Tuscan nature.

The rooms are very comfortable and I love that the bathtub has the thermal water infused into it so you can bath in the thermal waters from the comfort of your own room. Another touch that I truly enjoyed was that you could pipe music into the bathroom from their spa and I have to say, they playlist was awesome as I found myself shazaming every song!

This was truly an experience I will never forget. I recommend you RUN, not walk to get there as fast as you can! You will leave insanely relaxed.

Room tip: Spa room sunset view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuxuryXLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I have previously travelled around Tuscany on separate occasions. All I can say is that I haven’t had such pleasant stay than this one. It was amazing, a true and unique cultural and gastronomic experience.

I want to thank the staff for having an incredible team, and for making me feel at home at all times!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

In the heart of Brunello wineries sits this architectural masterpiece, which features outstanding pools with volcanic natural hot water! The castle is absolutely stunning with a 360d incredible view of Montalcino valley . Taking a bath in the outside pools on sunset time or under the stars it’s an incredible experience! The best of this spa it’s the fact that is accessible by hotel guests only and it’s not open to external guests so privacy and silence are guaranteed
I must say there were kids but all very well educated and enjoying the healthy water!

Rooms are finely decorated by preserving the unique soul of the medieval castle!

We have visited all major Italian spa hotel but Velona is unbeatable!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ElenaDit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Our experience was not what we expected. In a luxury hotel it is assumed that you will find good service, good food, and great acomodación. Unfortunately in our stay we found all of these where not completely accomplished, especially in the room it was given to us. Although the views and the pool are very nice, the water from the pool thermal water, which causes some rooms to have a rare smell.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews