We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Locanda Sant'Antimo(Castelnuovo dell'Abate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
La Casa d'Onice(Castelnuovo dell'Abate)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
519
134
50
36
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
519
134
50
36
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaour honeymoonamazing viewshotel restaurantlounge chairsgourmet restaurantglass of proseccojunior suiteluxury hotelcastello direnovated castlebeautiful propertywine tastingtuscan countrysidenearby townenjoy the viewgoogle maps
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017

From the moment we arrived, we received unparalleled service. The staff are friendly, engaging and go out of their way to accommodate requests. We stayed in one one the “castle” rooms which was spacious and elegant. The view from our room was breathtaking - gorgeous Tuscan countryside. The hotel is situated atop a high hill which offers 360° views of the surrounding area. The location is also perfect for taking day trips to explore the numerous charming walled cities nearby. We ate at both restaurants and had exceptional meals which truly highlighted the best of Tuscany. The estate wine, Brunello di Montalcino, is outstanding - some of the best we’ve ever had. The wine tasting was educational and exciting. Another highlight was the mineral water pools which are naturally hot, very big and truly luxurious. We all agreed that we will be returning to Castello di Velona as soon as we can. This hidden beauty is my favorite spot in all of Italy!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank kmuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

CASTELLO DI VELONA Is one of my favorite hotels ever. Getting there was difficult because we followed Google maps which took us off course down some Vineyard path. Other than that it was absolutely fantastic. We spent long periods of time in the heated pool outdoors watching the sunset the view was incredible. The thermal spas made us feel great. The food was outstanding and the rooms were clean and beautiful. Service was great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jaqi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Castello di Velona. From the moment we checked in we knew this was going to be special. We had the terrace suite - which features a private patio with a thermal hot tub and views that were simply incredible. The hotel is perched on the top of a hill, and is surrounded by vineyards and rolling hills. We could watch both the sunrise and sunset from the hot tub, and those images are the first that come to mind whenever I think about our trip to Italy.

Food is very good - I had read previous reviews that were a bit mixed but our meals were excellent, as was the wine. Yes it is pricey - but no more than a nice dinner in NYC. And speaking of wine, we did the wine and cheese tasting which was absolutely the highlight of our stay. Our sommelier was both knowledgeable and entertaining - clearly she loved what she does!

We did the spa one day - steam room, sauna, scented showers, and a massage. All high end and such a treat after 4 days of running around being busy tourists. And the outdoor pools are quite nice as well.

There is not much to do nearby if you don't have a car. One day we walked about a 1.5 miles to a small nearby town for lunch, just for a change of pace, and found a casual restaurant where the food was more reasonably priced but still quite good. You can arrange for car service into Montalcino but it was fairly expensive and we were so comfortable that we decided to just stay put and relax.

Overall we had a lovely stay and will remember our time there fondly. Thank you to the staff for taking such good care of us!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank MollyElizabethCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Castello de Velona, ​​is very beautiful, the view is spectacular. The place is clean and nice. A special attention is to the amenities, the shampoo, soap and moisturizer of Castello himself are sensational. The best I've ever used.
However, it is not a cozy place, with human warmth, the staff are cold. Not all, but most of them. I saw a manager catching the attention of the staff in front of the guests, I do not think that's ethical. Also to consume wine in the hotel is unfeasible because the prices are out of the standard even for resorts / spa. I do not know if I would stay at this hotel again. The compliment goes to receptionist Elga, very attentive; and for the valet.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ioná S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We spent 4 nights there in September while touring Italy. If we were just rating it on the view - it's a 5 star - but that's not all it takes to truly be a luxury hotel.

Room - We stayed in a sunset suite. It was new with a nice patio, sofa, king bed, etc. The bathroom appears new, but the shower/tub leaked all over the floor every time you used it. Told the front desk - no real response. We ended up using the robes to soak it up every morning and they were rarely replaced. Toiletries were also rarely replaced.

Food - We had heard how long it took to eat in the restaurants, so one night after a long day we ordered a simple pasta dish for room service. A $25.00 delivery fee was charged. We didn't notice that on the menu - our fault - but how ridiculous! A percentage, even high, is standard. We literally ended up with one $50 bowl of spagetti. They overcharged for the bottle of wine they brought with us. When we questioned it, the room service attendant argued, (even though we showed him the price in writing) took the wine back to check and he brought it back after he discovered we were correct. The breakfast room is beautiful but we had to flag someone down to ask for coffee every morning, it was never offered when we arrived.

Spa/pool - short hours, so no morning swim before you go out.

It has the potential to be an amazing place, but they need to hire a dining manager and housekeeping manager that can train the staff. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Don't think we will return.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Cuda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CdV_Public_Relations, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Mrs Cuda,
we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. We are sorry that you encountered a few inconveniences during your stay, and we would like to express our full commitment towards all our Guests in order to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We checked on your comments about the shower and we are happy to say that it has been fixed thanks to the fact that all the Sunset Bathrooms are brand new, and the problem could not be fixed when the Guests are in House. We would have been willing to offer a complimentary room change if that had been your desire. Regarding the pool use, all our Guests are informed about the fact that service at the Pools starts at 10.30 am until 8.00 pm in the evening. Out of these hours, everybody can still use the pools that do not require any security assistance by Law and enjoy the beauty of our Thermal Waters.
We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast were all our products are home made by our chefs. We will try to check on the speed of the coffee service.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future at Castello di Velona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews