We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The facilites are flawless, excellent service and nice surroundings. Not very typical, but very comfortable nevertheless. Stayed for lunch and winetasting, and the overall experience is that I expected a bit more of the wines and the food, to match the high prices.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank MauricioKholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017

From the moment we arrived, we received unparalleled service. The staff are friendly, engaging and go out of their way to accommodate requests. We stayed in one one the “castle” rooms which was spacious and elegant. The view from our room was breathtaking - gorgeous Tuscan countryside. The hotel is situated atop a high hill which offers 360° views of the surrounding area. The location is also perfect for taking day trips to explore the numerous charming walled cities nearby. We ate at both restaurants and had exceptional meals which truly highlighted the best of Tuscany. The estate wine, Brunello di Montalcino, is outstanding - some of the best we’ve ever had. The wine tasting was educational and exciting. Another highlight was the mineral water pools which are naturally hot, very big and truly luxurious. We all agreed that we will be returning to Castello di Velona as soon as we can. This hidden beauty is my favorite spot in all of Italy!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank kmuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

CASTELLO DI VELONA Is one of my favorite hotels ever. Getting there was difficult because we followed Google maps which took us off course down some Vineyard path. Other than that it was absolutely fantastic. We spent long periods of time in the heated pool outdoors watching the sunset the view was incredible. The thermal spas made us feel great. The food was outstanding and the rooms were clean and beautiful. Service was great.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jaqi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Castello di Velona. From the moment we checked in we knew this was going to be special. We had the terrace suite - which features a private patio with a thermal hot tub and views that were simply incredible. The hotel is perched on the top of a hill, and is surrounded by vineyards and rolling hills. We could watch both the sunrise and sunset from the hot tub, and those images are the first that come to mind whenever I think about our trip to Italy.

Food is very good - I had read previous reviews that were a bit mixed but our meals were excellent, as was the wine. Yes it is pricey - but no more than a nice dinner in NYC. And speaking of wine, we did the wine and cheese tasting which was absolutely the highlight of our stay. Our sommelier was both knowledgeable and entertaining - clearly she loved what she does!

We did the spa one day - steam room, sauna, scented showers, and a massage. All high end and such a treat after 4 days of running around being busy tourists. And the outdoor pools are quite nice as well.

There is not much to do nearby if you don't have a car. One day we walked about a 1.5 miles to a small nearby town for lunch, just for a change of pace, and found a casual restaurant where the food was more reasonably priced but still quite good. You can arrange for car service into Montalcino but it was fairly expensive and we were so comfortable that we decided to just stay put and relax.

Overall we had a lovely stay and will remember our time there fondly. Thank you to the staff for taking such good care of us!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank MollyElizabethCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Castello de Velona, ​​is very beautiful, the view is spectacular. The place is clean and nice. A special attention is to the amenities, the shampoo, soap and moisturizer of Castello himself are sensational. The best I've ever used.
However, it is not a cozy place, with human warmth, the staff are cold. Not all, but most of them. I saw a manager catching the attention of the staff in front of the guests, I do not think that's ethical. Also to consume wine in the hotel is unfeasible because the prices are out of the standard even for resorts / spa. I do not know if I would stay at this hotel again. The compliment goes to receptionist Elga, very attentive; and for the valet.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ioná S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo dell'Abate
11.2 km away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
446 reviews
10.2 km away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,221 reviews
14.6 km away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Albergo Posta Marcucci
Albergo Posta Marcucci
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
522 reviews
7.3 km away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
160 reviews
8.4 km away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#3 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery

Address: Localita la Velona SNC | Localita La Velona, 53024 Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > Castelnuovo dell'Abate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
Price Range: €385 - €904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Thermal SPA Resort located in the heart of Val d'Orcia World Heritage Site. Winery of Brunello di Montalcino produced by the Owners in the Property with owned Vineyards around the Castle. In the Property is located the hottest Thermal spring in all Tuscany (85°C) whose mineral waters are led both in the 5 pools (indoor and outdoor) and in the SPA Rooms. 1500 Sqm SPA with water and steam Paradise of both Sauna, Steam Bath, Thermal pool and 6 emotional showers, with 10 single and couple treatments rooms (all cabinets have a view to Val d'Orcia, 4 of which are connected to the SPA Rooms). The hotel rooms are divided into Castle Rooms (all in the heart of the 1000 years old Castle) and SPA Rooms built on the West Walls of the Castle (with travertine marble all over the bathroom and room and Thermal water directly in your bathtub). Some of the SPA rooms have a private cabinet for treatments and massage with a separate entrance for the therapist who does not interfere with the privacy of the room itself. All rooms face the wonderful val d'Orcia 360°. All SPA rooms face the sunset and have a private garden. Gourmet Restaurant with a Terrace for summer dinner facing the Sunset side of the val d'Orcia for romantic dinner. Traditional Restaurant with Original Fireplace and Lobby Lounge in the Chiostro where all day dining is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Velona Montalcino
Castello Di Velona Hotel Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing