We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and relaxing”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2017

This is our third time visiting Rivertown Inn and we were not disappointed. This was our first time staying in the carriage house, Agatha Christie Grand Suite and it was exceptional. Spacious and quiet and well appointed with a large jetted tub. The bathroom was large and had a very nice steam shower. There was a sitting area that we could enjoy our coffee and our breakfast if we didn’t choose to eat in the main house. A cozy area in front of the fireplace was wonderful for reading and relaxing with a glass of wine.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivertown I, Manager at Rivertown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to your next visit. We have a great special for the months of January through April 2018. You can read about it in our December newsletter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend getaway here. It was absolutely fabulous. We stayed in the Carriage House Suite and it was incredible. We explored the town and had dinner, drinks, and did some shopping. We ordered a few bottles of wine and spent the evening at the Inn. Great breakfast in the morning and great appetizers & wine when we arrived the first day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amylmyogeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivertown I, Owner at Rivertown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We received a gift certificate for the Rivertown Inn. We stayed in the Lord Byron suite and enjoyed having a private entrance and balcony as a nice place to relax and read a book with a cup of coffee. The Inn offers guests complimentary appetizers and wine during the evening social hour as well as complimentary coffee/tea and water. The property is meticulously cared for and the staff could not possibly be more kind and helpful. Not a big fan of B&Bs, but this is one of the nicest I've been in. A true neighborhood gem and within walking distance to the charming town of Stillwater.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gogomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivertown I, Manager at Rivertown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review. What a wonderful gift for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

There is simply nothing quite like the Rivertown Inn. It is a haven that transports you back in time to another era and place but with the ultimate in pampering and comfort and quality in every last detail. You know, one gets so used to faux customer service and luxury. But the Rivertown Inn is an original.

We chose the Oscar Wilde Suite and loved everything about it. It was so private and quiet, along with beautiful stained glass throughout...a flip of a switch and the fireplace would gently light and warm the bedroom and parlor. On the other side of the suite was a rainfall walk-in shower and, again with a flip of a switch, the steam would pour in. Adjacent to this was the expansive hot tub with a skylight above and a another fireplace just a few feet away.

The service provided by Larry, Shelia Marie and Maggie was nothing less than exceptional. They welcomed us into the Inn, spent time chatting but also provided the space for us to enjoy all the Inn had to offer. And does it ever have a lot to offer! A beautiful parlor adjacent to the bar and coffee/tea service; beyond delicious food locally sourced by Maggie and the type of design and hardwood floors one just doesn't see anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivertown I, Manager at Rivertown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We enjoyed hosting you and are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Congratulations on you wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Inn is so beautiful with all its unique antiques! The staff was beyond wonderful! They made our stay terrific! We loved the wonderful food! Be sure and take in Social Hour! Super fun and great snacks and wine!

Room Tip: Rooms are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrism02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivertown I, Manager at Rivertown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.5 km away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
2.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.7 km away
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
#1 of 3 in Oak Park Heights
252 reviews
17.2 km away
Afton House Inn
Afton House Inn
#1 of 2 in Afton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: €209 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing