We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we have stayed in”
Review of Rivertown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivertown Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Stillwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

As Stillwater residents for many years, we always knew that this Inn was one of the best in town. It is in our favorite, very quiet and somewhat undiscovered neighborhoodsin Stillwater. We had high expections and all of them were exceded. The house is historic, perfectly preserved and maintained. Every room and suite is charming and cozy. The wine and cheese was fantastic and there was no shortage of good wine. The cheese tray would rival what you might find in France. The Manager, Marty, was very nice and struck just the right balance of chatting with us and leaving us by ourselves. The bed was very comfrotable and the quality of the linens and towels was top notch. The 4 course breakfast was the best we have ever had at any B & B. The chef was fantastic and explained every course. He had a very pleasant manner. The assistant manager on at breakfast was so nice and totally accommodating. We have stayed in many B and Bs and I said:"This is exactly what a B&B should be like." We think it is the best in all of Minnesota. It is a bit more expensive than most we have stayed in but we feel we got our money's worth--and much more.
PS. We even drove by the Inn the next night and pointed to the room in which we stayed with fond memories!

Room Tip: any are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 172 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our first time at Rivertown Inn and will not be our last. The whole experience exceeded our expectations. Our room (the Jane Austen suite) was gorgeous, the hors d'oeuvres and fresh-baked cookies delicious, and the breakfast was out of this world! We requested a private table and got an in-depth explanation of each breakfast course by the chef himself. Of course, this time our stay was paid for by a gift certificate from friends, which might be why it was easier to enjoy. But we enjoyed it enough that we would gladly pay the money to stay here again. A perfect spot for a special occasion or annual getaway with your sweetheart.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Every thing you want in a very special B&B. The rooms are so nice you don't want to go out for breakfast . However,
Tony and staff makes breakfast that would make you happy to start your day. This inn is expensive but it's worth it. We drove the hour to the Inn while at the Mayo so you can see why we spent the time and money to visit here for two days.

We stayed in the Longfellow room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I took my wife to the Rivertown Inn as a surprise and we stayed in the Oscar Wilde suite. The room exceeded already high expectations and the bathroom was equally as impressive with its amenities (i.e steam shower, whirlpool, fireplace and more). The suite location in the separate carriage house made it feel a little more isolated.. which was a good thing. After some wine on the porch we had dinner in close by Stillwater and then walked it off by heading back up the relatively steep hill to the inn. I don't particularly prefer eating breakfast as a group with other guests (like most B&Bs/Inns do) but the food was so well prepared it quickly became common ground for conversation. Definitely a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ on a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Fun get away. Nice room and beautiful grounds. Nice wine and Hors d' oeuvres each night. Coffee outside your door in the morning and an elegant and wonderful breakfast. Also great fresh cookies to have as needed. We have been there before and would go back again. Would have been fun to sit with others at breakfast instead of at your own table.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stillwater
0.5 km away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
2.7 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
2.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Stillwater
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Stillwater
7.7 km away
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
#1 of 3 in Oak Park Heights
252 reviews
17.2 km away
Afton House Inn
Afton House Inn
#1 of 2 in Afton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn

Address: 306 Olive St W, Stillwater, MN 55082-4932
Region: United States > Minnesota > Stillwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stillwater
Price Range: €209 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivertown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 at the height of Minnesota's logging boom, Rivertown Inn is a magnificently restored lumber baron mansion turned boutique-style inn offering sumptuous suites, impeccable service and extraordinary luxury. The inn offers seven individual suites and two bedchambers, each with a unique literary-inspired decor featuring elegant furnishings, rare antiques, live-flame gas fireplaces and private spa-quality baths. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast prepared by our chef and in the evening, gather for light hors d'oeuvres and fine wines at evening social hour. Enhance your stay at Rivertown Inn with a variety of unique packages designed to add to your special memories. Rivertown Inn also offers fun and informative monthly cooking classes featuring hands-on instruction and plentiful food and wine samplings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rivertown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing