We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
200
22
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach sea dragon kangaroo island cape willoughby lighthouse stunning views quality accommodation glass of wine unsealed road every morning wheel drive owners steve eastern end of the island the kitchen self cater coffee machine seal colony wood fire
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We had an amazing long weekend at the Sea Dragon Lodge. Its the perfect place for some alone time. The food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend the spa cabin. Sitting in an outdoor heated spa watching the sunset, kangaroo-spotting while drinking a glass of wine can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Go for the spa cabin
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank catherine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Hi Catherine
thank you very much for your great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review and glad you liked our brand new Spa Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

My husband and I just spent four beautiful nights at the Sea Dragon Lodge.This has to be the best place to stay on Kangaroo Island. Steve is an incredible host. We wakened each morning to a magnificent view of the beach and and kangaroos playing in our front yard. The eco units are so beautiful Everything in these units is top quality. The refrigerator was full of yummy items for breakfast. Although we ventured out to the western side of the island, nothing equals the beauty of the Dudley peninsula. You can hike for miles and enjoy stunning scenery. Several wineries are a short drive away. We walked twice to the Zest and Thyme for a wonderful lunch. My husband and I have stayed all over the world and this definitely ranks as one of the top spots we have ever been. Thank you Steve for wonderful memories and we can hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank farmdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Hi Emily,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to send in a review. We have tried to ensure that our Eco Villas have everything that you need for a relaxing holiday and i'm pleased you thought was the case. Love to have you both stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Myself and wife were looking at a place to stay on kangaroo island for our honey moon, we wanted something that was not in town, nor a typical motel. we choose the sea dragon lodge, for its unique location but easily assessable from the ferry. on arrival to our to our lodge, we were greeted by the friendly staff and showed to our room. The lodge is sited on a beautiful hill top allowing for meals over looking the lodges own Pink Bay, it also provide vast landscape that allows you to view local and native wildlife, as well as numerous options for walks around the property, with the staff more then happy to point you in the direction of a good walk or to. The Staff had fantastic knowledge of were to go on KI but also in which way you would do so to ensure you got the most stunning views. The staffs dedication to their work provided a warm homely environment, where the staff would go above and beyond. Will definitely come back

Room Tip: For a warm homely feel recommend the lodge accommodation, for those who want independence choose villa accommodation
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SamWilson1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

HI Sam,

It was lovely having you both stay with us for your honeymoon. We are really pleased you had such a great time. Thank you for for taking the time to review us, it is greatly appreciated.

Love to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

We had an incredible visit to Kangaroo Island (KI) made even more special by Sea Dragon Lodge and its warm and welcoming host/proprietor Steve Lane. The Lodge is located on a bluff overlooking a private beach/cove, the ocean and the mainland of Australia. Sunsets and sunrises were spectacular. At those hours you can walk outside amongst dozens and dozens of kangaroos that are scattered across the large property.

Breakfasts and dinners, which are preordered, are prepared by Steve and are excellent. KI is a place of natural beauty, diverse animal and bird life. Lots to do and see in the brief time we had. Steve arranged for an outstanding guide (Linda Irwin Oak) who helped us navigate and explained the island's highlights.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Bu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you so much for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed Linda's guiding services. It certainly makes a huge difference having someone that really knows the island showing you around, as you get to see the best of the best, including places not everybody knows about.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Recently stayed here for 3 nights as a birthday treat and was so glad i did, With wonderful property walks and a private beach its a wonderful place to go to truly unwind and relax and submerse yourself into nature. A special mention to Helen as she could not have been more accommodating nothing was too much trouble. Including hand written directions for our tour group of some local sightseeing and property hikes. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Villas are great for couples and the lodge is great for a more communal stay or a small travelling group.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L, Owner at Sea Dragon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Hi Karen,
Thank you so much for your great review. we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how you felt about your stay with us. I agree the nature that is at our doorstep is just amazing and I never get tired of. Thanks again & we would love to see you again.
best regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews