We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
220
204
108
68
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
204
108
68
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bandana square train station old railway railroad tracks unique hotel state fair the breakfast area interesting building pool side hot tub minnesota state twin cities free breakfast beds were comfortable free shuttle yogurt shuttle service
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We loved this unique hotel (former train depot) where you can still see the tracks in the ground.
It was very reasonably priced for a place that close to both Minneapolis and St. Paul attractions. Yes, it is in an industrial park but who cares if it is very quiet and one has a car.
It was actually cheaper than a hotel from the same chain but in a boring suburb.
There is a large pool area we liked very much. We decided to take a room not directly at the pool which was quieter and cheaper. Our room had a unique shape with a lot of space.
The breakfast buffet is inside a former railway ticket counter and was very nice.
Unfortunately, the train museum was closed (on a weekend ?) so we went to the Como Zoo
which is just a 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
The hotel even had a tiny bar, which looked like a large living room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

With all the positive reviews of this hotel, I was expecting a better experience. Unfortunately, the rude clerk at check in marred our stay. I felt as though I was imposing on her by suggesting I wanted to check in and by asking a couple of questions. Although the hotel has character, the location does not. It's basically in an industrial park -- no place to walk, no restaurants or anything else in the immediate area. Our room was okay, but nondescript. A bit tired seeming. And because the pool is in the enclosed center courtyard, the entire hotel smelled like chlorine. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guacomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We've stayed here many times. It's close to the state fairgrounds, so very handy when we have horse shows there. Clean, quiet, nice pool. Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigfoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We needed a hotel close to my daughter's school for family weekend. This was about 10 minutes away...perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Very quiet location made for a relaxing night. The free breakfast was good and provided enough selection for what we wanted. Loved the building, especially the railroad tracks in the lobby. Will definitely stay here when we come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historyfreak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The distinctiveness of the building was a bonus at this hotel, but the pool area was chilly because it was so open. (I prefer pools that are in separate areas, not surrounded by hotel rooms.) There is a large sauna.
Free breakfast was okay but the fruit was past its ripeness.
Microwave available in the common area.
Free popcorn!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews