We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky communal areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Reviewed 4 January 2012

It's the decor of this hotel that makes it stand out from most other Best Western properties. The hotel is in a converted train depot, which makes the communial areas very unique. There is also a big locomotive right outside the hotel.

Aside from that, the hotel is pretty much like any other.

Check-in was fast and efficient. Parking is free. Complimentary coffee and USA Today newspapers were available in the lobby.

Our room was a pretty nice size, with a coffee maker and fridge. There were problems with the wi-fi when we staryed there. It was intermittent, and a lot of guests were found sitting in the lobby were the signal was better. There was also an internet terminal in the lobby with a printer, so we used this to look up bus times and local information.

The breakfast was well-stocked, and a staff member was around to keep it so, but the kitchenette area was a little small. There were two school sports teams staying at the hotel while were were there, so it got pretty busy. You had to be patient to get in there, and also had to wait to use the waffle iron.

There is not much around the property - you need to drive to somewhere to eat. We were attending a football game at the University of Minnesota, and were able to catch a bus right outside the hotel which took us to the campus which took about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 524 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We loved this unique hotel (former train depot) where you can still see the tracks in the ground.
It was very reasonably priced for a place that close to both Minneapolis and St. Paul attractions. Yes, it is in an industrial park but who cares if it is very quiet and one has a car.
It was actually cheaper than a hotel from the same chain but in a boring suburb.
There is a large pool area we liked very much. We decided to take a room not directly at the pool which was quieter and cheaper. Our room had a unique shape with a lot of space.
The breakfast buffet is inside a former railway ticket counter and was very nice.
Unfortunately, the train museum was closed (on a weekend ?) so we went to the Como Zoo
which is just a 5 minutes drive from the hotel.
The hotel even had a tiny bar, which looked like a large living room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

With all the positive reviews of this hotel, I was expecting a better experience. Unfortunately, the rude clerk at check in marred our stay. I felt as though I was imposing on her by suggesting I wanted to check in and by asking a couple of questions. Although the hotel has character, the location does not. It's basically in an industrial park -- no place to walk, no restaurants or anything else in the immediate area. Our room was okay, but nondescript. A bit tired seeming. And because the pool is in the enclosed center courtyard, the entire hotel smelled like chlorine. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guacomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We've stayed here many times. It's close to the state fairgrounds, so very handy when we have horse shows there. Clean, quiet, nice pool. Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigfoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We needed a hotel close to my daughter's school for family weekend. This was about 10 minutes away...perfect. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Very quiet location made for a relaxing night. The free breakfast was good and provided enough selection for what we wanted. Loved the building, especially the railroad tracks in the lobby. Will definitely stay here when we come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historyfreak55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Capitol Ridge
5.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
5.7 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
5.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
11.9 km away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#11 of 16 in Saint Paul
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel

Address: 1010 Bandana Blvd W, Saint Paul, MN 55108-5107 (Formerly Best Western Plus Bandana Square)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range: €86 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bandana Square Hotel Saint Paul
Bandana Square Best Western
Best Western Saint Paul
Saint Paul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing