We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for large groups”

Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 988 Restaurants in Saint Paul
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Norfolk and Shepard Road
Transit: Metro Bus Service - Gannon Road stop.
Description: If you are looking for an Italian Restaurant in St. Paul, MN then come to Buca. Our Italian Restaurant serves Authentic Family Style Italian Food. When you want plentiful portions of the best tasting Italian food, you better go to Buca. Located on Gannon Road, in a bend of the Mississippi River, your St. Paul Buca is serving up authentic Italian pastas, entrees, and pizzas for lunch and dinner every day. Our portions are big enough to conquer the biggest appetites and we make every guest feel like family. We're everyone's favorite Italian restaurant, because pay attention to the details that keep all our guests coming back for more. Our semi-private dining rooms are perfect for all your celebrations and gatherings, so make a reservation today! Also, if you need to feed a hungry crowd at your home or another venue, we offer a variety of catering options to suit your needs. Stop by your St.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a large group in to one of their back rooms. It was so loud, we could barely talk to someone across the table.

The food came out and it was underwhelming. The chicken Parmesan was dry. The linguine Alfredo was cold and the sauce was super thick. The bread was ok, the salads were pretty good

The service was ok.

Thank AndyB5542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Andy, we appreciate you taking the time to write to us and are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your recent visit. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our management team in an effort to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for reaching out to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2018

We we're told by Bucca's reservation staff that their Kitchen Table can fit 8-10 people. It can't... comfortably. We ended up squished into a booth with no elbow room. Also all you see in the kitchen are busy servers rushing by. A table in this location makes you feel like you're in the way. Being squished in a booth took the fun out of eating at Bucca's. We've avoid this table in the future. Food was good but, my rating went down with this table location.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charliejames2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Charlie, thanks for reaching out to address your thoughts and concerns. We have contacted the management team to make them aware of the feedback you provided as we are always trying to improve guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We made a reservation for 6 for a birthday party. Our reservation was waiting for us. The restaurant was decorated nicely and the staff were all ready for us. Our table was the right size for 6 people.

During our meal, the ordering process was good. The waitress explained how everything worked, which is important since this is a "family-style" restaurant.

We found the food to be poor. Our chicken saltimbocca was dry and significantly over-cooked. Our large lasagna was a lot of food; however, it was also over-cooked. Our order of mozzarella garlic bread had cheese on only about half the loaf. The food was a huge disappointment. We would have sent the food back but our waitress did not visit our table until we were done with the meal.

Based on the food quality, I would suggest a different restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSPTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

We are sorry that our dishes were not up to par during your most recent visit. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write to us. When you have a moment, please email us at (EMAIL) with the location, photo of the receipt, your phone number and the details of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We went to Buca in St. Paul today for an early lunch. At first, we didn’t even know if it was open, because we were literally the only ones there. Despite not being busy by any means, we had to wait a very long time for our meal. The quality of the food was average at best. The cost was quite high: Over $50 for lunch for 2 with no adult beverages, no appetizers and no dessert.

What we were most frustrated with though was the staff’s refusal to honor a valid coupon for $10 off the purchase of $30 or more. The coupon clearly stated it was for Buca de Beppo and it didn’t expire for another 3 months. However, the server told us that they will only accept digital coupons with a bar code. We had purchased a “Happenings / Entertainment” coupon book for $35 and that is where the paper coupon came from. She suggested that we go to their website and download a copy of their digital coupon. We spent a great deal of time at the restaurant trying to do that. However, the coupon book company wanted to charge us an additional fee for a digital membership. We explained that to the server who said it’s not Buca’s problem. She still refused to honor the coupon. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Buca. We feel that Buca is only using the paper coupons as a bait & switch tactic.

Thank chrismurray72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Chris, we are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience . When you have a moment, please email us at famiglia@bucainc.com with the location, photo of the receipt, your phone number and the details of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This restaurant needs to figure out how to do online ordering, or just stop offering that as an option. We have ordered online several times now - always to go - and each time the experience has gotten worse. They provide parking spots, but 3x ago they didn't have signs saying nobody will come out to bring you order like they did for a long time. so we waited. and waited. went inside and waited. Next time we ordered we knew to go inside, but nobody was there and it's an awful area with private dining, a side bar and no place to sit or feel comfortable. Last night we ordered, was told to pick up at 6:21pm and we got there at 6:15pm. We waited and waited and finally got our food at 7pm. There were at least 8 other ppl in similar situation - one guy said he'd been there since 5:30pm and he left at 6:30pm. WHY does your online system give a time when it is not only wrong, but it is so wrong every one of us was angry and about to walk out w/out our food. Again, keep us waiting way longer than promised in a dark, dank area without seats and see what happens. Such a poor experience I doubt I"ll ever go back.
The food - ok. they have great red sauce but after that wait nothing was hot anymore

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Lisa, we are truly sorry for the frustrating experience and we hope for the opportunity to learn more and try to make things right. Please email us at famiglia@bucainc.com with the location, photo of the receipt, your phone number and the details of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buca di Beppo Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing