We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Recent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 340

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 340
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I love the 340! It is such a gem! The room I stayed in had an incredible view of the State's Capital and the view of the City, lit up at night, was breathtaking. The bed was one of the most comportable I have slept in. The staff were so helpful and polite. They gave marvelous suggestions of what to do in and around St. Paul. This is definitely my favorite hotel in the Twin Cities!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    109
    45
    18
    6
See reviews for
62
137
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is under foreclosure and has the worst service I have ever had. We arrived at 7:30 and there was nobody at the front desk for 45 min! There was a tel at the desk to call when the person was gone which just rang the front desk when you called!! We got fed up and went over to the crowne plaza instead and once they heard about our poor experience at 340 the crowne plaza staff gave us a reduced rate and riverside view out of pity, probably.

Horrible experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nnnomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

When you walk through the doors of Hotel 340 you know you are someplace special. the grand lobby is your first hint that this is a special place.

The staff are unbelievable helpfully and make you feel like you are really a guest.

You can't beat the price for a downtown hotel. Yes some of the rooms are small, but for $10.00 more you can upgrade to a queen suite. Worth the money.

One of the quietest hotels I have ever been in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrie_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nice small unique room in very old building. Shower is very small in nicely updated small bath. Enjoyed the ambiance of older and unique hotel versus larger hotel. Great location for downtown St. Paul activity. Good basic breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had the privilege of staying at Hotel 340 this past August while I was in town for a wedding. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was enjoyable. The location was perfect. But, the hotel's staff made this stay INCREDIBLE. Jeff and his team made sure that we all knew where we were going and when. And, he even took the initiative to extend our stay when it became clear that Hurricane Irene would prevent us from returning home to NYC. I say 'initiative' in the most "thank goodness someone is looking out for me while I'm dealing with this wedding/my home is being washed away in NJ/NYC" kind of way.

1) If you need a place to stay in St. Paul, stay here and 2) if you are looking for a hotel block for your wedding, look no further. We should all be so lucky to have a Hotel 340 in our home towns.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.3 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#1 of 17 in Saint Paul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
#8 of 17 in Saint Paul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
0.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Paul - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 340? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 340

Property: Hotel 340
Address: 340 Cedar St, Saint Paul, MN 55101-1100
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Saint Paul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 340 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 340 is a 56 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown St. Paul. The hotel is housed in the original University Club building and is listed on the historical register. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as access to the river walk which provides stunning views of the Mississippi river as well as the downtown area. All of the rooms at Hotel 340 include updated flat screen televisions as well as hardwood floors throughout. The hotel's suites feature kitchenettes. Many rooms also boast a river or city view to add to your experience. The hotel lobby provides a spacious area with luxurious couches and chairs to relax in while enjoying a drink from the hotel bar. The second floor mezzanine level provides access to the St. Paul sky-way system which allows for indoor travel to various St. Paul businesses and local event spaces. The Saint Paul Athletic Club is also located within the building and is available to our hotel guests free of charge (MUST BE 18 OR OLDER)! Luxurious steam showers, saunas and a beautifully tiled lap pool is also available to use during their normal business hours. And if you have any extra time, please inquire about their fitness and yoga sessions during your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel 340 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing