We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$207
US$202
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$187
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$183
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn & Suites(Rochester)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$122
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area(Rochester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$122
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
488
296
241
205
210
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
296
241
205
210
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand grilleconomy roomacross the streetlord essexmayo clinicpeace plazagonda buildingan older hotelmethodist hospitalfree parkingconvenient locationfitness centerdowntown rochestermayo buildingsmayo visitsubwayconvenience
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

While the Kahler could use some updates, there is historic quality to the stay. The location is so convenient for Mayo appointments. Negatives is the cost of parking. I think it should come with the reservation. Also the pillows are way to thick. I will bring my own next time.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Karen,

Dear Nonwork,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments as we strive to provide an outstanding experience for our guests and I am so please we were able to do that for you. We do have an attached parking garage that is owned by the city. It provides convenience to our guests, as well as guest of other nearby hotels and retail shops so that they do not have to constantly feed a meter or walk a distance to reach us. Being a downtown location, paid parking is the norm, whether it be at hotels, shops, or the Mayo Clinic itself. I am sorry if you felt that this was a negative aspect of your visit as that is not our goal. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are town. If we may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Was there in a "budget room" for 8 days. Room was small corner room, seventh floor...good queen sized bed. VERY NICE ROOM/bathroom. TV was good, as was refrig. No microwave. Front desk was SUPER as I had to extend my stay several times (a Clinic thing) For $90/night (plus parking), it is a super deal. BEST OF ALL: LOCATION/LOCATION/LOCATION!! Good food right in the hotel...and subway to whole Clinic complex....a real good point if you are there in the winter .Pool was kinda' tricky to locate, Would I stay again: "YOU BETCHA!

Room Tip: look all you want, but the Kahler is just a good old hotel, right in the action.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPCEDARLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear JPCEDARLAKE,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind words about our establishment as we strive to provide the very best guest experience possible. I hope we get a chance to "wow" you again in the near future. Should you need anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With gratitude,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The staff here could not be bettered anywhere in the world! So kind and so helpful. The hotel could not be closer to the Mayo Clinic where I had to go for repeated visits for three weeks. The room was very good, but the bathroom was poor and the shower badly stained. We had problems for several nights with the noise coming from the nearby laundry room until, after a third complaint, the offending machine was taken away (rather than repaired or replaced.) The entrance lobby was always very cold, so we felt very sorry for the staff who had to work there for their whole shift!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up but away from the laundry room are best.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickthebottlewasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Nick,

Thank you for your review of the Kahler Grand Hotel! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and allowed us the opportunity to serve you with all our hearts. Please let us know if there is anything else we may do to assist you.

Thank you for choosing the Kahler Grand Hotel!

Warm regards,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
95
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel looks and feels like it has not been upgraded since the 1950s. The carpeting in the lobby and rooms is from the 1950s and really ugly and worn out. The rooms are small and once again the bathrooms and the plumbing is exceptionally old fashioned. The feeling at the hotel is musty and the reception poor ! Please stay at the Marriott if you can. The only thing this hotel has going for it is location....it is just opposite the Mayo Gonda building!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear "Trip Advisor Member",

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. I'm happy to share that we have had many renovations since the 1950's and in fact are currently in the process of restoring our hotel and yet keeping within specific guidelines as we are designated a historic landmark. This process includes many wonderful renovations that do not distract from the Kahler's old world charm as it is almost 100 years old. Should you consider us again in the future, not only do we look forward to the opportunity to serve you with all our heart but we encourage you to reserve and enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms that are currently available.

Wishing you safe travels and all the best.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The location couldn't be closer to the Mayo clinic, and the staff was extremely nice and professional. As other reviews have shown, the bathrooms are dated and the shower head was lower than I'd like (I'm 6ft tall). But for the price and location, this place can't be beat! (Plus, the internet service was pretty good!) I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the Mayo clinic!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VaJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear VaJosh,

Thank you for your positive review of the Kahler Grand Hotel! We are pleased to serve you with all our hearts. Please let us know if there is anything else we may do to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews