We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it”
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed two nights in one of their "economy" rooms. Was pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and comfortable with nice room furnishings, clean carpet, and comfortable bed. The room was small, yes, but they tell you that when you make the reservation. The bed was billed as a queen size, but was more like a double. Hotel sizing like car rental classes. It's nice to have a couple of restaurants on site and the amenities of a full service hotel. It's like everything was built around the Kahler, including Mayo. My appointment at Mayo was at 7:15, I left the room at 7:00, and was 10 minutes early for the appointment. Interactions with Kahler staff were quick and pleasant. Plus, housekeeping had room serviced with fresh towels and made bed when I returned back from the appointment at 10:30. Very quiet in the room even though we were close to elevators. Never heard a sound in the halls or from other rooms. Elevators moved quickly. The only downside was the bathroom, as others note. Never could really get good hot water out of the shower. Used up what little there was trying to adjust it. Also, toilet seemed really low. Have to kind of lower yourself down and then just fall on to it. Plan to stay again, maybe with more of an upgraded room. Pleased with it.

Room Tip: Adjust shower directly, no need to adjust water temperature from the tub spigot first. No worries o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nonwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Nonwork,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments regarding overall service and accommodations! We strive to provide an outstanding experience for our guests and I am so please we were able to do that for you. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are town.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

While the Kahler could use some updates, there is historic quality to the stay. The location is so convenient for Mayo appointments. Negatives is the cost of parking. I think it should come with the reservation. Also the pillows are way to thick. I will bring my own next time.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Karen,

Dear Nonwork,

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we appreciate your kind comments as we strive to provide an outstanding experience for our guests and I am so please we were able to do that for you. We do have an attached parking garage that is owned by the city. It provides convenience to our guests, as well as guest of other nearby hotels and retail shops so that they do not have to constantly feed a meter or walk a distance to reach us. Being a downtown location, paid parking is the norm, whether it be at hotels, shops, or the Mayo Clinic itself. I am sorry if you felt that this was a negative aspect of your visit as that is not our goal. We hope you will consider us again the next time you are town. If we may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Was there in a "budget room" for 8 days. Room was small corner room, seventh floor...good queen sized bed. VERY NICE ROOM/bathroom. TV was good, as was refrig. No microwave. Front desk was SUPER as I had to extend my stay several times (a Clinic thing) For $90/night (plus parking), it is a super deal. BEST OF ALL: LOCATION/LOCATION/LOCATION!! Good food right in the hotel...and subway to whole Clinic complex....a real good point if you are there in the winter .Pool was kinda' tricky to locate, Would I stay again: "YOU BETCHA!

Room Tip: look all you want, but the Kahler is just a good old hotel, right in the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPCEDARLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The staff here could not be bettered anywhere in the world! So kind and so helpful. The hotel could not be closer to the Mayo Clinic where I had to go for repeated visits for three weeks. The room was very good, but the bathroom was poor and the shower badly stained. We had problems for several nights with the noise coming from the nearby laundry room until, after a third complaint, the offending machine was taken away (rather than repaired or replaced.) The entrance lobby was always very cold, so we felt very sorry for the staff who had to work there for their whole shift!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up but away from the laundry room are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickthebottlewasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
95
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel looks and feels like it has not been upgraded since the 1950s. The carpeting in the lobby and rooms is from the 1950s and really ugly and worn out. The rooms are small and once again the bathrooms and the plumbing is exceptionally old fashioned. The feeling at the hotel is musty and the reception poor ! Please stay at the Marriott if you can. The only thing this hotel has going for it is location....it is just opposite the Mayo Gonda building!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGManager, Guest Relations Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear "Trip Advisor Member",

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. I'm happy to share that we have had many renovations since the 1950's and in fact are currently in the process of restoring our hotel and yet keeping within specific guidelines as we are designated a historic landmark. This process includes many wonderful renovations that do not distract from the Kahler's old world charm as it is almost 100 years old. Should you consider us again in the future, not only do we look forward to the opportunity to serve you with all our heart but we encourage you to reserve and enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms that are currently available.

Wishing you safe travels and all the best.

Sincerely,
Christy Brewer
Guest Relations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 km away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 50 in Rochester
802 reviews
5.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: €71 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing