We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have stayed here many times and it's nice to see things are the same. It has a good location, is comfortable and the staff is always great. You're only one block from the main Mayo buildings, four blocks from the Mayo Civic Center and within 1-2 blocks of the best restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Not impressed, especially for the expensive weekday rates. Great location for Mayo Clinic visit, but that's about it. Outdated rooms, including inconvenient bathrooms (door misses hitting toilet by centimeters). Stayed on concierge level and it's not really worth it. Rooms facing pool area quite loud. This hotel needs to hit the restart button and not just rely on it's location for getting and keeping customers.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ALT76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miki R, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear ALT76,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area with us. We appreciate the time you took and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable.

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless guest experience, we would love to discuss your areas of concerns further. Whenever you have a moment, feel free to contact me directly at the e-mail address below so that we can continue to improve our hotel operations.

Although we fell short of meeting your expectations during your past stay, I hope you will consider Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area on your next visit to Rochester so that we can better deliver upon the guest experience you deserve.

Sincerely,
Miki Radovanovic
General Manager
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic
mradovanovic@kahlerhospitalitygroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrived we had to extended our stay for tested. We were told that they were book full and they could not give a room. They next day John was able to find us a room. We finished our visit with no more surprise. Marriott comes through again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Chief1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I'm always grateful to have the stay at when I need to come to Mayo Clinic. The accommodations are very nice and the staff if so welcoming and helpful. It's always my home away from home when I'm in Rochester

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We recently spent 12 nights at the Mariott Mayo Clinic Area and were pleasantly surprised. After reading many Trip Advisor reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect -- reviews either were from people very happy with the stay or had nothing but complaints. We were there for appointments at Mayo Clinic, and while the room rate was expensive, the location couldn't be beat. Billed as the closest hotel to Mayo, and for us, in the Mayo and Gonda Buildings, this couldn't have been better. My husband used a wheelchair (and wheelchairs are everywhere in this area) because of all the walking, and the hotel elevator down to the subway couldn't have been eaiser. 5 minute walk from the elevator to the appointment floor at Mayo. Now about the hotel : the Front Desk staff, and their manager, Tim Brown, couldn't have been more friendly or responsive. We were greeted everytime we entered or left the hotel. We were asked how our stay was going and if everything was ok. Mr. Brown solved a reservations problem for us when we had to extend our stay. It was most appreciated! The bellmen/valet staff were most accomodating too (we also valet parked). While several of them helped us, Sean was especially accomodating. He gave some good tips on where to eat (in cluding Newt's for burgers). The rooms were refurbed in 2016 and it shows. Our room was on the Concierge level and very pleasant. The most important thing -- it was very clean! Our housekeeper was Ashley, and she was very congenial and helpful. She too offered tips on eating options. We did have a medical incident one day and needed to call 911 for emergency assistance. Ashley happened to be in the next room, and came and comforted my husband while I was on the phone with 911. Hotel Management came up to the room with the EMTs, and called down to the valet to have my car ready for me to drive to the hospital. It all happened so fast and several hotel staff were just there to help. It was awesome! As far as complaints -- I agree with most reviews, the bathroom is very small. But there's lots of hot water and great water pressure! The AC worked really well too. Room Service (Daniel took our order several times) was used a few nights, and the food was good, as ordered, and delivered in 20 minutes. Prices were typical room service prices - not cheap. Nothing normal in our stay: we had trouble connecting our Apple TV and we spoke to the Marriott Tech Support Desk on 4 different nights -- but they made it happen. We even had Maintenance up and the gentlemen replaced our room safe! Again, being in a new place for medical appointments and tests, and finding such a comforting environment was a pleasant surprise. We also learned the immedaite area around Mayo basically closes down on Saturday and Sunday. It's a good opportunity to head to Mall of America! It's necessary for us to return to Mayo, and we'll be happily returning to the Marriott Mayo Clinic Area!

Room Tip: Concierge Lounge is on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank CHIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
0.1 km away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,283 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#20 of 50 in Rochester
799 reviews
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 101 1st Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3135
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rochester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: €123 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern updated guestrooms and a convenient location connected to Mayo Clinic make Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area one of the top hotels in Downtown Rochester, Minnesota. The hotel offers 202 renovated guestrooms and suites, Salute wine bar and more. This downtown Marriott also has easy access to local attractions including the Mayo Civic Center and shopping options via climate-controlled walkways. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, coming to Rochester for leisure, or traveling for business, our downtown hotel provides everything you need to make your stay seamless: in-room dining service, business services, a fitness center, and convenient continental and full American breakfast each morning available in our restaurant (for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing