We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The staff was great; very friendly and willing to help in any way they could. When I first checked in, the room I was given had a bad a/c. I called the front desk and they promptly moved me to another room. I loved the shuttle service. We used that frequently. The bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TashaM921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area.

We are thrilled to hear how great all of our staff was from the moment you walked in our front doors. It makes us happy to hear how friendly and willing to help they all are. We are so glad that our front desk staff was able to help you quickly and efficiently. We can't wait to share your comments with all of them.

It makes us so happy to hear how much you loved our express on-call shuttle service and enjoyed our comfortable beds!

Thank you again for sharing your fantastic experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Rooms need some updating, comfortable but a little worn. Vary convenient if you're going to Mayo. Very prompt shuttle available with courteous drivers and good service, drops you off where you need to go. Breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. Gets you by but nothing special.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area.

It makes us very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy comfortable guestroom accommodations and found our location to be very convenient to the Mayo Clinic.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Express On-Call Shuttle Service that we offer to our guests from 5:30am to 10pm. With our prompt service and courteous drivers, we are there to drive you where ever you need to go.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

After 25 years of visiting the Mayo Clinic, this is the ONLY place I'll stay. The reception area is like a comfy living room, and the people are kind and helpful. The shutttle drivers are both funny and accommodating. The room cleaners are efficient and thorough, plus they are super friendly. On my last visit, they were training new front desk employees, who, despite being new, were professional and personable. Don't look any further...

Room Tip: They also have kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We are thrilled to hear that we are the only place you will stay while visiting Rochester.

We are so happy that we were able to welcome you with our kind and helpful staff as well as a comfy place to relax in. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy our fantastic shuttle drivers and their humorous and accommodating personalities. It makes us very happy to hear we provided you with wonderful guestroom accommodations and our housekeeping staff were efficient and thorough. All of our staff are amazing and super friendly, we are so glad you enjoyed them as much as we do. We can't wait to share your comments with all of them.

Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,
Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a simple hotel near the heart of Rochester Centerstone works! The rooms are clean and big! The AC units are a little old and are load! Other than that it's a short walk to downtown Rochester for some city action

Stayed: August 2017
Thank ELFDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time share your recent stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area.

We are so happy to hear how wonderful your guestroom accommodations were and you found the room to be perfect for your needs. We are in the process of replacing all of the older air conditioner unites, thank you for letting us know the one in your guestroom was missed. We will be passing this information on to our maintenance department.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location and were able to take a short walk to the down town area.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I will stay here anytime good service clean rooms TV easy to get in and out .I have stead here off and on for 11yrs Nice restaurant Free Express Shuttle service. Outstanding service all around Helpfull. I come to the Mayo cl.4or5 times a year

Room Tip: Been here off & on for 11yrs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We couldn't be happier to hear how fantastic the service has been for the last 11 years that you have been staying with us while visiting the Mayo Clinic. We are thrilled to hear how comfortable and clean your guestrooms have been over the years and their location has always been convenient.

We are very excited to hear that we have been able to make your stay wonderful with our outstanding customer service and helpful staff. We can't wait to share your comments with all of them. Our Free Express Shuttle Service is one of our best amenities and we are so happy that you enjoyed it and let us do all of our driving for you!

It makes us very happy that you were able to dine in Twigs Tavern and Grille during your stay with us at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area.
Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Myron Salz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.7 km away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#38 of 50 in Rochester
1,284 reviews
0.7 km away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#21 of 50 in Rochester
802 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 50 in Rochester
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902-3223 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
#15 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: €106 - €125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing