We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice, easy path

A great place to walk around the lake no matter what time of season. Watch out for goose poop... read more

Reviewed 2 January 2018
754samin
,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
via mobile
Relax

Nice place to take a leisurely walk not far from downtown. Just walk some of the walk ways on the... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2017
dave2nona
,
Appleton, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 132 reviews
  
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
48
47
25
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
47
25
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paddle boats beautiful lake ducks and geese pleasant place nice path picnic area downtown rochester mayo clinic fresh air canadian bike park flock trail stroll winter playground
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had some spare time from the Mayo Clinic and decided to walk down to the lake. We saw the electric paddle boats and decided to hire one. We were given next to no information about how to use the motor, which, halfway through the hire fell away from the boat! We were not given life jackets until we asked for them a second time. The lake was not worth seeing and the boats decidedly not worth hiring.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank nickthebottlewasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We were looking for a small respite to go to during down time from all of our appointments at Mayo Clinic. We chose Silver Lake because we enjoy the outdoors and it was nearby. This place was horrible! The restrooms are disgusting, and there are no doors on the bathroom stalls! The sidewalks are literally covered in goose feces. You will not be able to avoid stepping in it as it covers the sidewalk.

With hesitation, we continued down the paved trail and walked to the top of the bridge.
This lake has been described as a clear freshwater lake. Nothing could be further from the truth! As I looked down in the water it was brown and I was shocked to see RAW SEWAGE floating in the lake! It was everywhere! Unfortunately from a distance children were swimming in this filth and several people were out paddle boating. I could not believe it.

The lake is very neglected. The wild flowers and weeds are very overgrown. There is trash everywhere and frankly it is a bit of a scary place. I went around 3:00 in the afternoon and saw some pretty shady characters.

It is unfortunate that this lake is this way. Rochester draws hundreds of thousands of visitors annually through Mayo Clinic and for people who enjoyed the outdoors like my family, it would be nice to have a little park nearby to reflect and spend time together. We certainly invest in the community while there through hotel stays, restaurants and the clinic. You can do better Rochester!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Though not in the top-tier of locales to visit in Rochester, this venue is peaceful and you may like to look at the geese.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Kenpasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We like to walk around Silver Lake about once a week when we are home visiting in Rochester, Mn. One lap is a little over a mile. A nice path with wild flowers around the lake . Of course, there are always lots of Canadian Geese to view.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank db55901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

It was a great 4th of July day to take out an electric paddle boat on Silver Lake. We peddled and sometimes just let the electric motor move us along. The lake is nice and the views are great. Definitely would do it again!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews