We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$112
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$227
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
202
69
12
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
69
12
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack woodsgreat restaurant attachedlobby areaamerican innvideo gamesthe hotel is cleanample parkinggreat breakfastbar and grillbed was very comfortabledonutsexcellent stayconvention centersausagepotatoescanal parkhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Like the proximity to Duluth but at a more reasonable rate. Rooms were great, the breakfast is awesome and a great restaurant connected to the hotel.. Staff is great to work with as well. Lots of things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth South Black Woods Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

William C
We appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor. Sharing your feelings will really help others who have not stayed with us know what a nice treat they're in for if they choose to stay with us. We are very proud of our hotel, love our guests and can't wait to see you again.
Let us know when you need another adventure...
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We are a family of six and stayed in a 2 room suite which had plenty of room. The full size fridge/ sink/ stove top was a nice feature, even though we didn't use it. There was also a nice long balcony with a small table and chairs outside the room. The front desk staff was very friendly at our check in. The hot breakfast was one of the best we ever had! Eggs, sausage, gravy, fruit, cereal, donuts (not the packaged kind!), toast, bagels, yogurt, several kinds of coffee and juice, and probably more that I'm forgetting. Will definitely return the next time we are in Duluth!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank MinnesotaMidwestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth South Black Woods Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

MinnesotaMidwestgirl
We are so glad you found us! We have 12 different kinds of rooms. From a single queen to single kings and double queens with whirlpools to the family suite. All with brand new beds! I'm very happy we had the right room for you when you needed it We understand the best way to have an amazing adventure is to leave us with a hot breakfast in you. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast in Duluth/Proctor. There's something for everyone - we even have Gluten Free items available. I hope your family got to use our pool, hot tub and sauna - we just completed a refresh of that area too. We even have two outdoor sitting areas where you can go outside and look at all the beautiful fall colors around us - there's even a BBQ grill and fire pit for you to use.
I hope you get to come back and see us again soon. There's a lot to do in any season up North.
Thanks again!
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

For accessibility this room was quite good- very roomy and comfortable. The shower stall itself was very cramped, not quite 3 feet by three feet, so getting in and transferring to the shower bench was a bit difficult. Some accessible rooms have plastic benches, and some have attached fold down seats. All in all the room was good for what we needed, with a lowered mirror in the bathroom and open under the sink.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank cksedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth South Black Woods Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for posting about how you felt the accessibility was for your needs. We do have 3 different accessible rooms in the hotel, each one just a little bit different. We are happy to match you up to the room that meets your individual needs, anytime.
We have many rooms without a bath tub, also. They have a walk in shower, are very roomy and will accommodate a shower chair very easily.
I hope you get to come back and see us again real soon. We appreciate your business and hearing about your adventures.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We decided to stay in Proctor during out recent Duluth trip and the AmericInn was outstanding. Ten minutes down to Canal Park made it very handy. Quiet, clean, staff was amazing and the morning breakfast was handy and full variety from pastries, oatmeal station, hot station each day with eggs, hash, omelets, potatos, coffee/tea bar. Plenty of parking, nice pool and adjacent Black Woods was great dinner option after sightseeing all day. Used laundry facilities too.

Room Tip: We used handicapped rom and it was great.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth South Black Woods Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Aileen H
Thank you for choosing the AmericInn Duluth South/Proctor for you recent adventure to the Northland. We are so glad you discovered us. We are very proud of our hotel and enjoy hearing that you did too. I have a very dedicated team of associates that are here for you when you need us. I hope you get to come back soon and check out all our landscaping we did outside recently. We now have two different patio areas for our guests to get outside and relax at. One even has a fire pit and BBQ grill. And we just finished up our brand new Event Room, inside. We will be using for small meetings and family gatherings as well as extra seating during breakfast hours. The will be games and puzzles and a 55" Smart TV to keep you entertained if you can't go outside and play.
See you soon!
Tony and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Arrived at the AmericInn with no problems. Easy to find and lots of parking. Hotel lobby is nice and service was good. We had some kind of problem with the web booking earlier but the hotel had the correct info when we arrived. Room is clean and spacious. Hotel was quiet even though it was quite full. Breakfast was good and well stocked. I liked having fresh fruit available. Rates were high but so is all of Duluth in August.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Smoothjazz073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Duluth South Black Woods Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Smoothjazz073
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us recently. I am so glad you enjoyed yourself and I hope we get to be your home away from home when you travel to the area. As you found, we are just 3/4 mile off I35 at exit 249, on the corner of Boundary Avenue and US Hwy 2 in Proctor. Just a quick 10 minute drive to nearly all the attractions and adventures in the Duluth Superior area. There is always something to do in any season so I hope you come back and see us again soon. Bentleyville Tour of Lights is already setting up for the season - you should come up and see all the beautiful holiday lights and see what it's like in the winter here. (we'll have the hot chocolate on for you)
Take care, see you next time.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews