We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay not far from Duluth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a good night's sleep and great breakfast. The hotel was quiet and restful and I loved the lobby area where breakfast is served. The fireplace in the lobby wasn't on (it was only September, after all) but it still made the area look cozy, yet the area was quite large (so we didn't feel cramped at our table) and had a great atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean.

We had never been to Proctor before, but found it to be not too far off the major highway that we were travelling on to go through Duluth, yet far enough to be in a peaceful setting.. We didn't have time to use our coupon for the Blackwoods Bar and Grill that the hotel gave us, which is a shame because we love the Blackwoods Bar and Grill! We didn't use the pool either, but the area looked very clean and inviting as well.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank T5543DCthomasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

T5543DCthomas!
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us. You mentioned some of my favorite things about our hotel. Close enough to everything, yet far enough to still be quiet and safe. Homelike feeling of our lobby. Breakfast like mom used to make. Our brand new beds! Amazing restaurant attached and the warmest pool in the North!
I hope you get to come back soon and visit your new home away from home!
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Like the proximity to Duluth but at a more reasonable rate. Rooms were great, the breakfast is awesome and a great restaurant connected to the hotel.. Staff is great to work with as well. Lots of things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

William C
We appreciate you staying with us and for taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor. Sharing your feelings will really help others who have not stayed with us know what a nice treat they're in for if they choose to stay with us. We are very proud of our hotel, love our guests and can't wait to see you again.
Let us know when you need another adventure...
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We are a family of six and stayed in a 2 room suite which had plenty of room. The full size fridge/ sink/ stove top was a nice feature, even though we didn't use it. There was also a nice long balcony with a small table and chairs outside the room. The front desk staff was very friendly at our check in. The hot breakfast was one of the best we ever had! Eggs, sausage, gravy, fruit, cereal, donuts (not the packaged kind!), toast, bagels, yogurt, several kinds of coffee and juice, and probably more that I'm forgetting. Will definitely return the next time we are in Duluth!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank MinnesotaMidwestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

MinnesotaMidwestgirl
We are so glad you found us! We have 12 different kinds of rooms. From a single queen to single kings and double queens with whirlpools to the family suite. All with brand new beds! I'm very happy we had the right room for you when you needed it We understand the best way to have an amazing adventure is to leave us with a hot breakfast in you. We are very proud of our award winning breakfast in Duluth/Proctor. There's something for everyone - we even have Gluten Free items available. I hope your family got to use our pool, hot tub and sauna - we just completed a refresh of that area too. We even have two outdoor sitting areas where you can go outside and look at all the beautiful fall colors around us - there's even a BBQ grill and fire pit for you to use.
I hope you get to come back and see us again soon. There's a lot to do in any season up North.
Thanks again!
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

For accessibility this room was quite good- very roomy and comfortable. The shower stall itself was very cramped, not quite 3 feet by three feet, so getting in and transferring to the shower bench was a bit difficult. Some accessible rooms have plastic benches, and some have attached fold down seats. All in all the room was good for what we needed, with a lowered mirror in the bathroom and open under the sink.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank cksedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for posting about how you felt the accessibility was for your needs. We do have 3 different accessible rooms in the hotel, each one just a little bit different. We are happy to match you up to the room that meets your individual needs, anytime.
We have many rooms without a bath tub, also. They have a walk in shower, are very roomy and will accommodate a shower chair very easily.
I hope you get to come back and see us again real soon. We appreciate your business and hearing about your adventures.
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We decided to stay in Proctor during out recent Duluth trip and the AmericInn was outstanding. Ten minutes down to Canal Park made it very handy. Quiet, clean, staff was amazing and the morning breakfast was handy and full variety from pastries, oatmeal station, hot station each day with eggs, hash, omelets, potatos, coffee/tea bar. Plenty of parking, nice pool and adjacent Black Woods was great dinner option after sightseeing all day. Used laundry facilities too.

Room Tip: We used handicapped rom and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Aileen H
Thank you for choosing the AmericInn Duluth South/Proctor for you recent adventure to the Northland. We are so glad you discovered us. We are very proud of our hotel and enjoy hearing that you did too. I have a very dedicated team of associates that are here for you when you need us. I hope you get to come back soon and check out all our landscaping we did outside recently. We now have two different patio areas for our guests to get outside and relax at. One even has a fire pit and BBQ grill. And we just finished up our brand new Event Room, inside. We will be using for small meetings and family gatherings as well as extra seating during breakfast hours. The will be games and puzzles and a 55" Smart TV to keep you entertained if you can't go outside and play.
See you soon!
Tony and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Proctor
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth
5.6 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#3 of 31 in Duluth
448 reviews
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Duluth North/ Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
9.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Duluth North, MN
8.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center

Address: 185 Highway 2, Proctor, MN 55810-2317
Region: United States > Minnesota > Proctor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Proctor
Price Range: €78 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Duluth South is located in Proctor Minnesota, on the South end of Duluth. Just a quick 10 minute drive from the Downtown/Canal Park area and 1 mile from Spirit Mountain. 67 Newly renovated and updated rooms and suites. Conveniently attached to Black Woods Grill & Bar and Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Duluth South — Black Woods Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel & Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Proctor
Americinn Hotel And Suites Duluth South _ Black Woods Convention Center
Americinn Hotel Proctor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing