We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
245
225
112
58
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
225
112
58
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk room was clean club room an older hotel parking ramp light rail within walking distance nicollet mall target center twins game one night stay would stay here again this past weekend hotel bar an upgrade room key downtown area
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We (myself, husband, and son) stayed in the hotel for two nights. The second night, we were woken up by the police yelling at the person in the room next to us to “get on the ground and put your hands behind your head” at 4:30 am. When I called down to the desk, the clerk told me they couldn’t divulge information regarding the situation, the there was no longer a THREAT. Last time I checked an arrest was a matter of public knowledge and it would have been nice to know what was going on in the room next door, even though the police had it under control.

Other than that, the beds were uncomfortable and there wasn’t a refrigerator or microwave in the room. The “parking deal” was very expensive at $25 a night and meals were very overpriced for what we ate.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. First I would like to apologize for the less than pleasant experience. This certainly is not how we envisioned your visit going. I assure you this is not typical of our hotel and not a common occurrence. Unfortunately while we cannot control the actions of all individuals staying at the hotel, with that said the safety and security of all our guests is paramount. The parking garage charges $44 for overnight parking. We have negotiated a deal for our guests to obtain this at a discount of $25/night which is very competitive in the downtown market although I understand if you were not planning on this how it could come as a surprise. We have begun discussions on some of the other items you mentioned as part of future renovations. We certainly welcome you back to the hotel anytime and again thank you for the feedback. Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Pros: great price, conveniently located to downtown business buildings.
Cons: Maintenance is not available 24/7...had to sleep with a very loud leaky tub faucet. Bathrooms are in need of a good reno - counter height is ridiculously low, old tile and counters. Dimly lit rooms. Carpets are due for deep steam cleaning or total replacement. Overall, the place needs a facelift.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dperez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We certainly appreciate your business and agree with you that the location and value we offer is great. I do apologize for the concerns you encountered. Our older classic hotel does have some needs that we are discussing and prioritizing for our next renovation. The hotel is very clean and our staff does a fantastic job especially in housekeeping. Some of the carpets in the hotel are a bit past their life span and is one of the items we are discussing as a higher priority. We will have our maintenance team look at the leaky tub as this is something we should be able to fix immediately and you should not had in your room. We hope you consider staying with us again, and thank you once more for your time and feedback. Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

We had a quick weekend away for a Twins game. The check in process was smooth, the staff at the front desk were very nice. The room was clean, great City view. Target Center is an easy walk from the hotel. We stopped by the bar in the lobby for a drink after the game and again met very accommodating staff. The cherry on the top was breakfast in the cafe on the 7th floor. The food was outstanding and once again the employees were very friendly. Quick tip: if you park in the hotel ramp bring in your parking ticket to have it validated at the front desk. It will bring your cost from $44 to $25.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kabam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is quite convenient to several area attractions and the service our team provides is top notch. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed her for a night before a flight. Super location for baseball or decent food scene. It is worth the price for location and restraunt options alone. There is no fluf to the rooms ...actually a bit in need of some TLC...not dirty per say but not the most kept. Ill sleep on the bed as it seemes to be the focus of the entire rooms cleaning schedule so i guess that is ok ....parking is such a hassle but can get u turned around in a hurry if your not careful. Still parking is available for 25 and then u can have the desk validate. The bar has a great selection of bourbon and all the food that came out looked on point. I will stay here again, because again location and price but its like a super 8 with a couple bonus features when it comes to taking just the room into acount I wouldnt stay here for the price ...ever.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are fortunate to have a great team, amenities, and location. As you said we do have a very clean hotel, and are in the beginning talks of renovations as there are some items in need of updating. We hope that you consider staying with us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel is average. Staff friendly. Exec lounge is very basic and food selection is minimal. My room was at exec level and bed was comfortable. Bathroom small. Place looks a bit run down and in need for an update. Price was high for what it has to offer besides location.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Travel_Prinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Northstar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to give us a review. We do appreciate all of our guests' feedback as it helps our management team focus on areas that can have an impact on future visits. I have just started in my role here at the hotel and am looking at several items to try and enhance the product. Please feel free to ask for me anytime, and we hope that you consider staying with us again on future trips to Minneapolis. Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews