We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 15:00
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Theatre

I was in town for the 3 Brandi Carlile shows at this theatre. The staff was very nice and helpful... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cici_sleestak
,
Fairfax, Virginia
Great music venue

Saw Brian Setzer and his orchestra last night, first time in that theatre. Not really a bad seat in... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
286susiek
,
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
via mobile
Read all 120 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Minneapolis
from US$45.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$65.00
More Info
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
72
32
11
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
32
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main floor great performance beautiful theatre pink floyd great seats sight lines acoustics concert stage venue nutcracker seating ornate tickets lobby celtic restoration
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This is my favorite venue in Minneapolis for a concert. The sound is always great and there's not a bad seat in the place. It's also connected to the skyway. So on a cold, winter day you don't have to venture outside.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank CorpLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The State is a beautifully remodeled old theater. You need to go to a show just to see the incredible ornate furnishings.

We went here to see Loreena McKennit on October 19, 2016. We had seating in a lower part of the balcony that has a row of seating with two seats together with a table. We had a terrific, unobstructed view of all of the musicians for the entire concert.

There is enough bathroom capacity so that the lines aren't very long. Also, there are very small bars on the lower balcony level in the outer area.

Very nice venue walking distance to many restaurants.

Date of experience: October 2016
3  Thank CaptTrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

State Theatre was rehabbed quite a few years ago but still looks wonderful. In my opinion, this is the grandest of all the theaters in Minneapolis/St. Paul. Acoustics are wonderful and staff super friendly. If you're just visiting, you should check this out if time. Located in Minneapolis downtown, there are plenty of restaurants nearby as well.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We saw Patti Labelle at this theatre. The was beautiful. The theatre seems to have nice visual from every seat, but I could not see the stage when the audience would stand up (which they did quite often for Ms. Labelle). There are some nice side box seats on the second level which are close to the stage and I think I would try to get those seats if you can.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank rwalker_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

The Security check was efficient and friendly, A great oldfashioned decor. Excellent Acoustic, but the seats are rather tight,

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Ingeborg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews