We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Rolls in Minneapolis in bustling North Loop Neighborhood”
Review of Smack Shack

Smack Shack
Reserve with OpenTable
Smack Shack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,948 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our History Although named for the boats used to catch lobster, Smack Shack was launched as a food truck in 2010 serving lobster rolls from a land-locked downtown Minneapolis parking lot. Owner Josh Thoma had a great recipe and a belief that appetite for fresh lobster in the Twin Cities was as strong as any coastal city. Food Truck As the truck menu evolved, so did the relationship between the City of Minneapolis and food trucks. In 2011, new legislation was passed allowing trucks to park at city meters on designated streets, allowing the truck to get out and gain new fans. It could be often found on Marquette Avenue and 7th. With a commercial kitchen within the City of Minneapolis, and the want to continue serving Lobster rolls through the winter months, Smack Shack developed a fortuitous and legendary partnership with The 1029 Bar in Northeast Minneapolis where they still serve today. Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives In December 2010, Smack Shack began cooking out of the kitchen at the 1029 Bar, kicking everything off with a traditional lobster boil in January 2011. The relationship grew and lobster fans as well as local and national media flocked to the 1029 Bar. In November 2011, Guy Fieri and the crew from The Food Network's "Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives" showed up to tape a segment about the truck and the 1029. 603 Washington Avenue As the "Diners, Drive Ins and Dives episode aired in April 2012, plans for the brick and mortar restaurant in a historic building in Minneapolis' North Loop were announced and construction began shortly thereafter. Smack Shack opened on a snowy night in February 2013 and continues to be heralded by fans and food critics as one of Minneapolis' best.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Red and white checked tablecloths, fishing nets hanging from the ceiling, lobster tanks, and open kitchen lend to the 'fishing wharf' feel of this fun restaurant. The large 2-tiered dining room with adjacent outdoor patio is a perfect summer atmosphere (even in winter). I can never get past ordering the Connecticut Lobster Roll. . . warm, butter dipped lobster on a perfectly toasted bun. Hubby loves the traditional cold Lobster Roll and Clam Chowder. Have also had the Lobster Cobb Salad at lunch which is delish!! And anything with their grilled milk bread is yummy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mplsgirl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

The good: Delicious, well prepared food. The lobster bisque was creamy goodness, southern fried chicken was juicy, flavorful and Big. Side dishes like corn bread, slaw and fries all just right.
The Bad: Our server made so many rookie mistakes that the overall experience was marred. One of our group ordered salad to start and lobster bisque as her entree, but the server brought them both out before the meals. He didn't check back to fill drinks or see if food was ok in till we were completely finished eating. (Missed a chance to sell another round of drinks) We had to ask another server to find our guy to get the check.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Had an enjoyable first time at the Smack Shack. The weather was nice and sat on the patio. Beers were ice cold and had the lobster guacamole which was tasty. The salmon was delightful and flaky and would order it again. Service was good:)

Thank Bustrav8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

On a recent visit to the Twin Cities with a group of friends we had a great lunch at Smack Shack. It was a great day for lunch outdoors and we had a wonderful waitress. The food was delicious, with tastes of creole, Thai, and New England seafood. Our waitress shared she had flexibility to work and go to school and was grateful to manage me for this opportunity, a real family atmosphere as she described the staff. The cooking system for lobster is fun to check out and you know you are getting fresh lobster since you can see it in the glass lobster pound before it is selected for cooking. I have also had dinner here inside and found that as tasty and enjoyable as this trip. Walk down after watching the Twins play, you'll be glad you did!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and the food. The lobster roll was awesome as were the mussels and everything else we had. Wait staff very attentive although the wait for food was a bit long with kids. We sat inside cause it was warm day but the patio looked like it would have been enjoyable.

Thank gwtwgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smack Shack also viewed

 

Been to Smack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing