We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Depot Renaissance with our two children. We were not aware that there was a waterpark as my 3 year old just wanted to swim in a pool. A life guard stopped us and asked if we had wrist bands, we did not. She instructed me that we needed to purchase wrist bands at the front desk for $10.00 per person, including my 3 year old son. Even though I would be holding onto my 6 month old inside the water park, I still needed a wrist band. $10.00.
The only part of the water park that we could stay in was the over 3 feet deep, therefore we had to hold our 3 year old in the pool. The other water park pool areas were far too cold for young children to play in. My son was not able to enjoy the one water slide they offer as he was under 48'' tall.

Our room was absolutely gorgeous, I have to complaints about that. Very clean, just gorgeous all around!

The front desk staff were not attentive when I was waiting for assistance, I had to wait each time which was very annoying since I had a baby with me.
We very disappointed to hear that there was no (free continental) breakfast offered to guests. We were to purchase a continental breakfast for $11.00 per person which consisted of juice and muffins. The breakfast meals were rediculously over priced, we ended up eating breakfast elsewhere.
The waterpark did not open until 9:00am but we were not able to swim since our 3 year old was hungry. For a hotel who "caters" to children, there should be a FREE continental breakfast offered.

Parking is insane! 15.00 to park for all guests. Your $129.00 a night stay turns into over $200.00.

We will not be staying at this hotel in the future. We very disappointed!.

Room Tip: Don't stay near elevator, it dings (loud) when arriving to a floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitched_in_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    204
    50
    31
    24
See reviews for
141
96
25
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
420 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I had a really enjoyable stay, in particular because of the "above and beyond" service that I received from Thea. I had a truck outside my room window with the engine running for a few hours. Thea updated me on why that was there and offered to move me down the corridor to a quieter side of the hotel. Efficient and effective problem solving and excellent service.

The only issue I had was that this hotel charges for Internet access!!

Rooms were very nice. Restaurant was disappointing but read my review on that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We arrived after sixteen hours of travel to a rude and unhelpful front desk. There was no bellman, so my husband had to load all of our luggage on the trolley and up to the fifth floor by himself. The front desk was so unwelcoming, it was hard to believe the staff chose a career in the "hospitality" business.
The rooms are tiny. We had adjoining rooms for our children and there was no way to keep the door open unless we stuck a hanger under the door.
On a positive side, the water park is great from small children. But I would never stay at this hotel again because the service was horrendous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here with our teenage son last Spring and then recommended this hotel to our daughter's family because of the cute waterpark/pool area. Since the hotel used to be the train depot, the pool has a smokestack that goes off and spashes onto the waterpark area every several minutes.Our g'kids loved the pool and we liked the hot tub. We rented a bike a half block away and went over the scenic river bridge making several stops.We tried out a segway and toured beautiful St. Anthony Main area with streetcars, etc. If going in the winter, the attached former-depot turns into a sheltered ice-skating park. The hotel itself is top notch. Definitely four star quality. Had happy hour in the lounge and Caribou next door in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodeemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Was in Minneapolis for work in early December, and decided to try this hotel as my "home base" as I need to drive to various client locations that week. I'm always a bit apprehensive about choosing full service hotels, as it usually means running using valet parking, long walks to your room, and indifferent staff. Well, I was quite surprised.

As it was below freezing outdoors during my entire stay, I was thrilled that they had underground heated self parking (in the mornings, the car showed it was about 55 degrees). No scrapping of ice or snow, or shivering as the car warmed up. The entrance is a direct shot off of 35W and was very pleased that I didn't have to bundle up getting from the car to my hotel. The self parking is right under the hotel, and with your security key, can take the elevator directly to your floor.

There are two different sections of the hotel. The older "depot" section, and the newer "generic" hotel section. I was in the generic section. My room was nicely decorated. Not big, not small ... just a pretty standard hotel room. A little nicer than a regular Marriott, but not as nice as some of the Renaissances' I've stayed at before.

The concierge lounge was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I had some of the best breakfast pastries there, that I've had in a long time. Thank you for not going too cheap on the food cost. I get enough of that from other hotels.

Front desk staff was also great. I got there early in the day, and needed to find a spot to make a few conference calls. Fortunately, they had rooms available, and didn't put up a fuss about an early checking.

Didn't get a chance to walk around much this trip (did I say it was cold), but did not that it's a great spot for sports, and non-sport fans.

Not sure what all the concern about ants was ... I didn't see a single one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BestValueHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#25 of 49 in Minneapolis
495 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#22 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Property: Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining at Milwaukee Road, our on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing