We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Food - Bad Service - Stay Away”

The Dog House Bar and Grill
Ranked #13 of 59 Restaurants in Maplewood
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: Live music 4 nights a week!! Great and fast bar food. 8 Dart boards, 2 steel tip dart boards, 4 pool tables (leagues available) Huge dance floor, Happy Hour 2p-7p Monday-Friday, 11a-7p Saturday, and 11a-11p Sunday Double up for a buck!!!
Reviewed 18 June 2018

To begin, the sign in their front window said "OPEN". However the door was locked, and banging on it didn't seem to help. Another person (who obviously knew someone inside) took out his cell phone and said "Hey, unlock the front door". A few minutes later the door was opened, and we could see that there were others already inside that obviously knew there was a second entrance somewhere. The sign inside said "seat yourself", so we did, and were totally ignored while the wait staff was busy adjusting their makeup, looking at their cell phones and chatting with people at the bar. One of our party had to approach a server and ask if we could get some menus and have our drink orders taken. It took a while, but we were glared upon by our "Server" and asked so whadya want ta drink? We placed our orders and even though the place was 95% empty it took 15 minutes to get 2 beers and 2 simple mixed drinks. We then ordered our food. About a half hour later a different server brought it to the table and just randomly plopped the plates on our table and walked away. Some of it wasn't even what we had ordered. Totally disgusted, we ate what we felt like, had to chase down another server to get our bill, paid it for only the food and drinks we had originally ordered without leaving a tip. The food we had was well prepared and flavorful, but the service here sucks.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Arrived 2 hours before the band and had drinks and food. Not a lot of seating, but we were able to snag 2 tables for our group of 7. Burgers and wings were good, drink prices reasonably priced. Staff were super awesome. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This bar and music venue is always fantastic! It used to be my home away from home! The food is great, burgers are fantastic. The drinks kept flowing and were resonably priced. Our group all forgot our earbuds back at the hotel and the owner generously gave us all some without charging us. We were very grateful. Thanks for providing a great place to hear fantastic music.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tohnyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

A group of work friends had an impromptu birthday party on a Saturday night here. Not much to look at when you pull up, but a large venue inside and a mixed crowd including some 40 plus. Great cover band blew the lid off the place with a large dance floor. Lots of drink specials and a great assortment of food. Really fun atmosphere with games and TVs, friendly wait staff. Just come dressed as you are or get dolled up.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank davidkQ9686WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

I was here for the first time last night to see a band. The burger was really good and quite fast service with as busy as the place was. It was a pack house, standing room only. Even with how many people the service was still really fast and hardly had to wait for a beer. I will be going again.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 217scotth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dog House Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Dog House Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing