We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, no pool”

Loken's Sawmill Inn & Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loken's Sawmill Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Houston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2013

If this property had a pool area and offered breakfast, we would stay here with our basketball team every time we are in the LaCrosse area for a tournament. It's just 20 minutes from LaCrosse and worth the drive through beautiful country. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. We had a separate bedroom, small kitchenette area, nice size bathroom and sitting area for under $100. The hotel personnel are friendly,

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are not looking for one with a pool or onsite breakfast.

Room Tip: It's best to request a room on the side of the hotel that is opposite the gas station if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loiselles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Loken's Sawmill Inn is a family run operation in a small town, but was a great place to stay. The prices are reasonable and the rooms are large and include a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and hair dryer. There is a living room like area in the front for groups to gather so you can sit on couches and chairs rather than someone's bed. The staff was friendly and would do everything they could to accommodate any request. The beds were comfortable. There was free Wifi in the rooms. It is not a glitzy place, but it is clean, comfortable and feels like home. There is one unit that is more like a one bedroom apt. The town of Houston is very friendly. Be sure to meet Alice (the Great Horn Owl) at the Houston Nature Center.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have stayed many times at the Loken Sawmill Inns and are always impressed by the cleanliness and comfort of this hotel. The rooms are spacious and have fridges and microwaves. They even give you packages of microwave popcorn for snacks! The owners are very friendly and it is a great place to stay if you are biking the Root River Trail (one of my favorite sections of the bike trail is from Houston to Rushford) or attending the International Owl Festival that is held the first weekend of March. The rooms do get booked quickly for the busy weekends, like the owl festival, the Houston HoeDown Days, etc. so call early to reserve a room. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: They do have jacuzzi suites if you are interested in that amenity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WomanOfthePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is a very clean little hotel. Our room was spacious. We had a king-sized bed, jacuzzi tub, mini-fridge, coffee-maker and a patio area. I was very pleasantly surprised at how inviting it was. I have been in other small towns (think Wall, S.D.) where we couldn't find any accommodations this nice. There were even little loaves of homemade banana bread next to the coffee-maker for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubbletone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are biking on the Root River Trail. It is very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The rates are more than reasonable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I have paid twice as much to stay in places that were not nearly as nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Loken's Sawmill Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loken's Sawmill Inn & Suites

Address: 809 E Cedar, Houston, MN 55943
Region: United States > Minnesota > Houston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing