We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in an unwritten policy of charging for early admission to room”
Review of Grand Hinckley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hinckley Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Found out that we arrived early and in the past if the room was ready was able to occupy it. The room was ready but was informed that I would have to pay $20.00. This made me very angry since there was no written notice to change in corporate policy. We had planned on starting to gamble at grand casino but do needing to wait for our room drove to st. Croix casino.

Room Tip: First floor was handy to parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had to ask for an ironing board and quite immediately got one of the minature boards that you put on the bathroom counter if you are not worried about getting electrocuted. Solved that problem by ironing on the bed. The breakfast staff was extraordinary in their care and delivery. Rooms limited to Queen beds (I think there is 1 fancy-smancy king room). Refrigerator, microwave, free parking, elevators, proximity to casino. Beds were comfy even if they were queen size. We enjoyed the little personal couch spaces on the second floor where we could meet as a group and have drinks and visit without having to stay in our rooms. That was cool.

Room Tip: go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Decided to go to Hinckley this year instead of Las Vegas. Read all the reviews for lodging in the vicinity and chose Grand Hinckley Inn. It far exceeded my expectations. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and also provided a microwave and refrigerator. A nice feature was a sink outside the bathroom, which ladies can relate to while needing to get ready at the same time when there is only one sink. The slots at the Grand Hinckley, however, were extremely tight and the denominations started at no less than 50 cents, causing you to spend more and get poor payouts. Spent more time in the Inn, were the staff was friendly, had free wifi, and a free breakfast, which consisted of cereal, juice, coffee, pastries, toast and bagels. Not fancy, but, a nice perk. We stuck to fast food locations, as the restaurant food was mediocre at best.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NWSMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This Hotel needs an update. Almost every piece of furniture had damage to it (Chips, Paint etc). Shower water pressure was poor. Top edge of shower tile was either dirty or moldy. Vending machine would not take bills. Front Desk said: Yeah that happens.
This Hotel charges extra if you want to check in early even when your same room is ready AND it also charges if you want a 1 hour late check-out. Not the friendliest place in town.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MGM47064706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Hotel was pretty nice--rooms were fair sized and clean. Would have been nice to have had iron and ironing board, although a table top unit wa available at the front desk. Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. All in all a decent spot, but nothing great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rehker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinckley
0.4 km away
Grand Casino Hinckley
Grand Casino Hinckley
#3 of 6 in Hinckley
470 reviews
2.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Hinckley
95 reviews
2.5 km away
Days Inn Hinckley
Days Inn Hinckley
#1 of 6 in Hinckley
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 1 in Finlayson
28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hinckley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hinckley Inn

Address: Lady Luck Drive, Hinckley, MN
Region: United States > Minnesota > Hinckley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range: €58 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Hinckley Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hinckley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing