We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful setting for memorial”

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Don't expect anything fancy... the Wellstone Memorial is simple and unadorned. It is beautiful and a nice place for reflection on the life of those lost. Tucked into a wooded area near the crash site, each person who died that day is represented with a beautiful plaque and a large rock. All of the rocks are located in a small circular path. There is also a separate short path that takes you near the actual crash site. Our family very much enjoyed our visit. I think Paul and Sheila would approve. But bring some mosquito spray - the bugs can be terrible!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Kiki1963_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

9 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I was really impressed with the way this memorial was done. It told Senator Wellstone's story and presented his views very well, without being overly political. Any Minnesotan of either party should visit this memorial.

Date of experience: July 2012
4  Thank Kathy0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Located near the crash site, but down the road from where it actually happened, nice memorial to the victims of that tragic day (nothing on the crew when I was there), to learn more about the Senator, you will still need to research on your own.as there is not much here. Better than a single marker, but not much. Skip it if you are in a hurry or take about 10 minutes.

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank 206driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Whether his politics fit your ideological profile or not, there was something eminently admirable about Wellstone, who was the closest thing in our lifetimes we have seen to Mister Smith going to Washington. There is a lot at his memorial site that is powerful, including several quotes from the Senator himself.

But the only drawback to me was that it looked like it had not been touched by human hands since its dedication year. Rather than inviting people to celebrate an amazing public life, it felt like you were walking around a site that had long been closed down. Vegetation had grown over some of the displays, and there was some issues with paths being close to overgrown. Maybe that was intentional, to add to some kind of somber nature to the memorial. But that seemed incongruent to the life he had led.

Date of experience: August 2011
2  Thank SteveinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stopped off after seeing the sign on the Highway and are glad we did. This memorial was very well done and a fitting tribute to Paul Wellstone, his wife, daughter and staff members. What a tragic loss for our nation.

Date of experience: August 2011
2  Thank NANCY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul Wellstone Memorial & Historic Site also viewed

Been to Paul Wellstone Memorial & Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing