We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for a Special Proposal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My now Fiancé and I stayed here in February of 2011, in the ‘Lake Superior Suite’ and it was, and still is by far our favorite place we have ever stayed. Tim and Angie were fantastic hosts and were willing to work with me on some requests to help with popping the question. This particular room is actually separated from the main house and is located in what used to be the horse stable (if I remember correctly). The heated floors, and the whirlpool coupled with the comfortable furnishings and the nautical theme of the room made for a fantastic stay. Even though Angie’s normal florist was out of town, she was able to track down rose pedals to have laid out on the floor and bed, and brought in a bottle of champagne with glasses, and some delicious chocolate truffles. They prepared the entire room with all of the above while we were out to dinner at one of the Italian restaurants in downtown Duluth. The next morning they brought the breakfast to our door in a nice basket so that we could enjoy it in the privacy of our room. Angie is a great cook by the way. The food is amazing. I simply cannot say enough nice things about this B&B, if you are looking for a great place to get away any time of year (yes, it is great in the winter as well) you can’t go wrong here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kap5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 446 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is the first and only Bed & Breakfast my mother and I have ever been too. We were able to go for Mother's Day. How fortunate we were to choose this amazing place randomly out of all the other possibilities. Everything was amazing. There's nothing else to say about it. I'm getting married this late summer and I'm hoping to take my husband up there at some point after we're married.

Room Tip: Hewitt was a beautiful spacious room with it's own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caylybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Tim and Angie run the most amazing B&B I've been to in the U.S. The rooms were delightful, the environment was cozy and welcoming, and the food was the best B&B food we've ever had. We would highly recommend A.G. Thomson House to anyone heading to the Duluth area. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie75_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My husband and I booked two nights post-Christmas getaway. After the first night, we knew we would want to stay longer. Thankfully, our room was available for an extra night, and we extended our stay. The inn is not only beautiful, the interiors exude a warmth that is both elegant and accessible. Tim and Angie will really make you feel welcome and the attention to detail is outstanding: robes in the rooms, truffles, bubble bath, beautifully appointed rooms, and a peaceful, welcoming feeling. The other guests were also delightful and we had wonderful conversations over the gourmet breakfasts. We have stayed in many B&B's both in MN and CA, where we used to live. I can honestly say this was our best experience by far!

Room Tip: We loved the Salyard Room for its view of Lake Superior as well as the sophisticated decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

If you want to have a romantic, relaxing get away come stay here! Angie and time make you feel like family and home. The food was most amazing! The lake superior suite is the best room for any getaway and if you need anything Tim and Angie are there for you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Webb1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#3 of 31 in Duluth
525 reviews
3.9 km away
The Inn On Lake Superior
4.1 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Fitger's Inn
Fitger's Inn
#12 of 31 in Duluth
351 reviews
4.5 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
5.0 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#10 of 31 in Duluth
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2617 East Third Street, Duluth, MN 55812-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range: €226 - €320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where Elegance meets Casual Comfort at our award winning Bed and Breakfast. Ideally located in the heart of Duluth's mansion district on 2 acres of private grounds with award winning gardens just minutes from extraordinary restaurants, shops, Canal Park and majestic Lake Superior. Featuring 7 exquisite guest rooms with modern amenities such as two-person whirlpools, A/C, Fireplaces, TV/DVD's, King and Queen Beds, free high speed Wi-Fi and so, so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A G Thomson House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a.g. Thomson House: Historic b&b
a.g. Thomson House: Historic Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing