We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lobby, great staff, but rooms lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Ashland, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely lobby, great staff, but rooms lacking”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The lobby of this hotel is spacious and modern- very attractive. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Because of my husbands seminar they were extremely gracious in allowing us early check in and late check out. However, the rooms are in need of some TLC. They were clean, but they were tired. Tub drain not working, dingy bed spread, and the window shades had very noticeable holes in them. This was our second stay in two months and we found the experience to be the same both times.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teesie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    309
    275
    290
    209
See reviews for
440
404
56
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

All the staff was friendly and helpful. We got to check in early and unpack the car. Parking is a little tricky, we were close to start with, went to lunch, then the ramp, went to dinner, parking lot 1/2 a block away and across the street. I was happy the parking was FREE!!
The beds are not worth asking for, they don't work each time and when you do get them to fill up with air and then try to let it back out...... my daughter had to sleep all night on a hard bed at 8 months pregnant! We also had to go down 9 flights of stairs at 4:00 am for the fire alarm that went off on the Sat.night/Sunday morning! (hotel was full of hockey players and families!) We do regret not getting up to the restaurant, we walked around up there Sunday morning and wished we would have checked it out the night before! All the food we saw looked great and the prices were comparable. Yes, you can hear the rooms next to you shower and flush. We did like being able to walk the main street and use the heated indoor skyway, it does take twice as long to walk inside (and confusing) and it is more direct and faster outside. The lobby is funky, no bathroom on the lobby floor though. We enjoyed the stay but I would never pay full price to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I never complain - and I really love a good deal when I understand the trade-offs. But when it comes to my family, I've learned through this experience it pays to be choosey at the right moments. We ended up at this hotel through priceline. I'm shocked to see, through a little research, that the price for rooms for the weekend after we stayed is 3x - but not surprised that this hotel has to drop their prices at the last minute to fill their old, paint peeling, outdated, tiny, loud, uncomfortable rooms. If you're up for a cheap stay - go right ahead, but be warned - sleep number beds? More like an electronic air mattress with remotes that are out of batteries (not to mention the TV remote which didn't work:)). And if you don't mind getting woken up at any given moment during the night, feel free to stay and listen to the LOUDEST toilet flushing party known to man (maybe this 'attraction' is how they justify the outrageous prices). I got more sleep when my daughter was 2 weeks old. Skip this property regardless of the savings. I feel awful writing a review like this because the staff seemed actually nice. Note: one positive - the fire alarms work, even at 4am.

Room Tip: Stay away from this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us.
There are many guests that stay with us for the sole purpose that we have the sleepnumber beds. Just as with anything in life, there are some things that people enjoy and others do not.
For those, who do not enjoy the sleepnumber beds, we do offer rooms that have NON-sleepnumber beds. The next time you stay with us, you can request a room that doesn't have the sleepnumber beds.
We are in the process of renovating our guest rooms and are excited about the steps that are being taken to update our hotel.
The Radisson Duluth-Harborview, takes pride in providing the best "Yes I Can" service possible in the City of Duluth.
JJ Astor Restaurant is rated as one of the top 5 hotels in the area. You can go to opentable.com to review customer reviews, and will find that our restaurant exceeds customer expectations.
Good or bad, guest feedback is invaluable and is the only way we know if we are doing things right or how we can improve. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know your concerns are our concerns!
That saying, I hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Duluth hotels

Roseville, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent a weekend at the Radisson Harborview in November of 2011. We went at the 'last minute' and the Radisson was the only place that had any vacancies. I read other reviews so my expectations were pretty low, and I must say it was BETTER than I expected. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were in need of some serious updating, but ok.

OK here is whats worth the price of admission: THE RESTAURANT AT THE TOP! Very nice, and does a 360 degree rotation every hour so you get stunning views of the City. We booked a package that for 10.00 more gave us breakfast up there. We loved it so much we went back and ate dinner there, on a Saturday night at 8:00 WITHOUT a reservation! Yes, we sat in the lounge for about an 45 minutes for a table to be ready, but the "lounge" was on the rotating platform too! What a beautiful view at night! And the price was not out of line with some of the other nicer spots in town. I give the restaurant 5 stars for atmosphere alone! No you don't need to stay at the Hotel to eat at the Restaurant, and next time I probably won't. All in all it was a fun time.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Lakeview"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank builderbill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Thank lyou so much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are in the beginning stages of renovating our guest rooms. Our lobby and JJ Astor Restaurant were renovated in 2010, this year our fitness center and have just started on the rooms in our "tower". Being that we are in the downtown area, amongst may other hotels, we do have competitive rates, and usually are lower priced than most. We also have a "best online guarantee", so if you find a rate online that is lower than ours, we will go even lower than that! We also have several stay packages which includes the "Stay your Age" package, you pay full price for the first night and can stay up to 3 additional nights at the rate of your birth year! How fun is that?!
Thank you for your rave reviews regarding our restaurant JJ Astor. The staff, new management team, and Chef Ryan Zander and his team have been a wonderul addition to our hotel, I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stay here almost every time we come to Duluth. This time we were here to celebrate New Years. We got to the hotel around 3:00. Check-in was fast and the we were put in a sleep number room which we requested. The room was very clean. Parking was not convenient at all as the parking lot was filled. We had to park across the street at the bowling alley and lug all our stuff in from there. However the staff was very friendly (except at the downstairs bar)and the shuttle driver that picked us up from canal park at 1:30 in the morning was awesome! We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get a sleep number bed for just a few dollars extra. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshoppus182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you so much for your taking the time to post your wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are very excited about the changes that are being made in the hotel and the upcoming renovations.
The comment you made regarding the downstairs bartender concerns me. Please contact me at the hotel to discuss this issue further.
Thank you again for the awesome review! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
1.2 km away
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
#20 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
0.5 km away
The Downtown Duluth Inn
The Downtown Duluth Inn
#24 of 33 in Duluth
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
495 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
5.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview

Property: Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview
Address: 505 W Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802-1513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview 3*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's landmark hotel located in the heart of Downtown Duluth. Enjoy our large indoor heated pool, whirlpool & sauna located on the lobby level. The fitness center is open 24 hours a day on the 2nd floor. Enjoy relaxing by the fireplace in our spacious lobby or using the business center on the main floor. Also enjoy the only 360 degree rotating restaurant JJ Astor located on the top floor of the hotel Breakfast 6:30am - 11am, Lunch 11am - 2pm, (closed 2pm-5pm daily)Dinner 5pm - 10pm. Bowery Brothers Sports Bar in the lower lobby open evening hours Friday/Saturday's during the winter. Radisson-Harborview is within walking distance to numerous attractions, restaurants, and the DECC. Duluth's Skywalk system is available 1/2 block from Radisson on Superior Street at Starbuck's. The recently renovated skywalk is heated/cooled, patrolled by "The Clean & Safe Team". Renovations 2015 Stage #1 renovations of all 268 rooms was completed as of 12/02/15 with new wall vinyl, new drapes, new blackout drapes, sheers, and new carpet. We also have replaced 400 of the Sleep Number beds that were full-size with queen size Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses back in early June. King Sleep Number beds will be replaced by December 31, 2015 with the Sealy pillow top mattresses; then we will no longer offer the Sleep Number experience at our property. We have recently added Keurig coffee brewers to all 268 rooms; as well as, upgraded hair dryers and upgraded linen package. Stage #2 will be the installation of our new custom furniture package starting mid-December. The design is a built-in design that we are sure all of our guest will enjoy. The rooms will be completed over a period of time and we will post updates as we get them completed. We are starting with the tower portion of our hotel and will end up with the hillside rooms in the annex. Room amenities to include, but not limited to, flat screen television tower section), I-Home radio, cordless phones, upgraded lighting package, additional outlets at the desk level, custom art, refrigerator/microwave in all 268 rooms; as well as, many more upgrades. Stage #3 will be the guest bathroom renovations that will be completed over the next few months in sections. Updates will follow. Grab & Run Breakfast each morning 5am - until the restaurant (JJ Astor opens) at 6:30am 7 days a week. Grab & Run is a Radisson brand standard available at all Radisson Hotels worldwide. Shuttle service available (please call for details) Pet friendly ($45/night per pet - please call for details) 100% non-smoking property Complimentary on-site parking Complimentary Wi-Fi Complimentary newspaper M-F in the lobby (WSJ, Duluth News, or USA) Keurig coffee brewers with upgraded condiments in all rooms 1875 Watt Hair dryers in all rooms Upgraded linen package in all rooms Lake view rooms ($45/night additional) Refrigerator/microwave ($10/night additional) Sealy pillow top posturepedic mattresses available (Qn/Qn) Sleep Number bed (King)until December, 2015 Sealy pillow top (King)as of December 16th, 2015 Our hotel has been serving guest for over 45 years; we are proud to be a union hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Hotel Duluth - Harborview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Duluth Harborview
Duluth Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing