We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zipline Line Not Worth the Wait”
Review of Spirit Mountain

Spirit Mountain
Ranked #21 of 94 things to do in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just minutes from downtown Duluth, this popular ski and snowboard recreation area features a variety of terrain for all skill levels, along with great views on the way down of Lake Superior and the St. Louis Bay. What's more, it is friendly and service-oriented.
Iron River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Zipline Line Not Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The new additions to Spirit Mountain are awesome. I especially love the alpine slide. And, I'm a huge fan of the resort (I had my wedding reception their). My only complaint is the zipline. It is really an amusement type ride where you sit in a car with your feet dangling and go down this wire for 30 seconds or so and that are pulled back up. There isn't much scary about it and it isn't nearly as thrilling as they market it to be. Add in on the summer saturday we were there, the line was 2+ hours and we were seriously disappointed. That said, if it was marketed as a ride over the trees at Spirit Mountain and the line had been say 10-15 minutes, it would have been great. I just think the marketers got a little overzealous on this one and the price, while bearable, isn't a great deal.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    84
    29
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Nice hill, needs more open runs.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is certainly not a mountain, but it was a wonderful time. There is plenty of room on the hill, but only half of the runs were open and we were there in the middle of winter

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lancer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Fun Ski Trip”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Spirit Mt is a quick and easy ski trip from Mpls for a week-end get-away

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JMM773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun - great ski hills - unhelpful staff -”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The skiing was great - kids really enjoyed it -- nicely groomed. The staff at this location were not very helpful, not very willing to work with you. We came as a group (24 of us) and asked them if they could give us a group rate for the alpine slides - they were not willing to work with us at all -- that was a little frustrating. They basically told us that they 'didn't need the money, they were doing great business' - lucky them, to have a business that doesn't need the customers because they are doing such high traffic!! :) We were just asking for a discount on just the alpine slides alone, they were only willing to give us a discount if we bought the slide, tubing and the zipline. Whatever --- we just didn't do the slide!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rileyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We love Spirit!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great skiing and a great value. Spirit has long been a favorite of my family. If you shop for deals you can get discounts on lift tickets.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidWschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing