We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
10
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Popped into the Donkey on a Tuesday night for what I thought was going to be a quiet meal for four but my wife and friends had arranged a surprise birthday party for me so there was eighteen of us. The staff and management had been extremely helpful in setting this up and a good time was had by all. Food was widely praised, service was a bit rushed (unsurprisingly....) but nobody felt put out by it. Beer and wine were excellent. Definitely a pub worth a visit. Thank you.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMorrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan b, General Manager at Donkey & Buskins, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Happy Birthday. We are glade you enjoyed your surprise @theD&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

30+ of us attended for a work event, food was amazing, service for all of us was on time and prompt. Staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great day.

Accommodation was clean, spacious and as good as anything in the local area.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mossychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan b, General Manager at Donkey & Buskins, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

It was a pleasure hosting your corporate event, we could tell you had an amazing time playing lawn games & team building in the garden & it was great to met you all.

Thanks for your comments about the accommodation. Currently we only advertise via TripAdvisor. Positioned on the Roman River Valley on the edge of Essex Wildlife Trust land people often find out accommodation a perfect base for beautiful walks in the country.

Hope to see you all again, best from all @theD&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Popped in here with family to meet some friends for a lunch. The food was very good with a lovely menu selection and the staff were very friendly. There was a lovely enclosed garden for the children to run around which gave us adults time to relax and enjoy our food & wine. We will defiantly be returning soon

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kempy4405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan b, Owner at Donkey & Buskins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit & found time to relax - the garden is a big hit here @theD&B and has been amazing in the ☀️ Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We are lucky to have this pub as our local. Italian chef who cooks great traditional British pub food. Personal favourites are the slow cooked lamb shank with mustard mash and crispy pork belly with potatoes and seasonal veg. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We took friends for lunch yesterday two had the steak and ale pie with veg the other two meals were liver and bacon with veg not exactly cheap but a very nice meal,I liked it that the plates were hot that's one of my biggest wishes when having a meal so many places serve there food on cold plates. Will go again.

Date of stay: March 2017
1  Thank Marie9146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews