We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
66
40
25
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
40
25
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski hill legend golf full kitchen bedroom condo hot tub large bathroom beds were comfortable virginia appliances
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I've been staying here once per winter for the past 16 years. It's a nice place, but you'd think they would have upgraded the TVs by now. I was really hoping to watch the Olympics in HD while away from home, but The Lodge is still stuck in the 90s with their technology - old TVs and slow internet.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank oldguy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

After reading previous reviews, I had concerns. Mostly about noise levels at night. We were pleasantly surprised, we heard no noise at night. We were there on a Sunday night, less busy then weekends. The customer service was top notch. My kids loved the arcade. We liked the proximity to the ski hill. The beds were comfortable, water was hot. My only complaint was that it a little difficult to regulate temps between rooms. One room seemed warm while the other was a bit colder. Not a big deal and I'm sure it was just operator error. We rented a 2 room family suite. We will be staying here again, probably yearly.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hawaii-Chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The nine and dine or stay and play
option is a great value. Food was great. The courses beary challenging, the bunkers shaped in bear paws. Very nice pro shop with friendly staff. A hidden gem of a resort. We stayed at the Lodge with our dogs and had a lovely jacuzzi suite with a full kitchen. Lots of walking and biking trails. Biwabik is about 15 min drive from Virginia , should you need to shop.

Room Tip: Suites at the lodge are nice and there is a swimming pool as well and on site restaraunt
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeses P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy M, Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for choosing to visit the Giants Ridge area! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Lodge. We recognize that many people travel with their pets, we are glad that your pets were able to join you on vacation. Fall is such a beautiful time to bike, hike and play golf, we are so happy that you had a great experience in the area.

We appreciate your business and hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Chrissy Mraz and the entire staff at the Lodge at Giants Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The architecture here is a sort of 1930's WPA chic. Massive timber frames for the structure, which is sort of impressive, but everything from the furniture to the toilet paper holders is made of heavy lumber. The staff is friendly and efficient. I'm not sure if it the aspiration of this resort to be the Bandon Dunes of the North, but I've been to Bandon and this ain't no Bandon Dunes. But is is much cheaper, so I guess you get what you pay for. Like Bandon, golf seems to be the sole focus, but the hotel does not measure up to the same quality as the golf courses. The restaurant has no style, the food portions are gigantic but not very tasty, and some jerk at the bar decided to play Deaf Leopard on the juke box at a loud volume that irritated virtually everyone in the dining room. The rooms do have kitchens, so bring your own food.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DickfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy M, Manager at The Lodge at Giant's Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dick, Thank you for staying with us at the Lodge at Giants Ridge and for your honest feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your golf getaway. We appreciate your input regarding the restaurant and the food, we do take these comments as an opportunity for growth. We appreciate your business and hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Chrissy Mraz
The Lodge at Giants Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Very nice lodge. Would definitely return! The room had a full kitchen and large bathroom. Had "Up-north" decor. Thre were also multiple restaurants in the building or next door and golf courses on-site.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juicyjerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 August 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Lodge at Giants Ridge. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced all that the Giants Ridge area has to offer. We hope to be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Chrissy Mraz and the entire staff at the Lodge at Giants Ridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews