We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We have stayed at this little hotel many times over the last 13 years...and it is a very nice place to stay while up in the Brainerd area.

The rooms are showing its age, but still very nice. A small microwave and fridg is provided in each room. The breakfast is a nice added touch...waffles, hard boilded eggs, toast, jam, juice, milk, rolls, bagels, fruit...etc.

The front staff are very nice and always helpful.

The pool is small, but enjoyable and the hot tub water is "hot"!

We also enjoy the location - many places to dine right out side their front door and easy ride to all the beautiful lakes in the area.

I will continue to stay at this hotel when I travel to the Brainerd area...and for the price of $99.00 a night, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEROFPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    79
    25
    18
    4
See reviews for
119
59
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

The overnight stay here was the result of a late-winter snowstorm. We hadn't planned to stop in Brainerd/Baxter, but the roads were a little too exciting to drive on any more. The parking lot looked full, but there was room at the Inn.

This chain has predictable standards, and this motel met them. That staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The wireless internet service was flawless. Breakfast includes waffles, some fruit, rolls, juice, boiled eggs, etc. The coffee is from a push-button machine, I rather prefer a real coffeemaker. We didn't try their pool.

I'd stay here again with no second thoughts.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deepwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

This is OK place, about average for this chain. We found the pool pretty nice (no drunks, no one "getting it on"), and the staff proper if not effusive. Breakfast was no better or worse than at any other chain hotel. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — Location, Nice Rooms, Internet that worked
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klaskro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

The not so friendly person behind the desk, the drunks in the pool, the couple getting it on in the hot tub, and then... our swimming suits got stolen. I have stayed and several different locations of this brand of hotel and have always been pleased- until now. After asking the management if she had seen the items in question she asked me what size they were and then proceeded to tell me that the woman who cleaned the room after we had left was a size 4 and had worked there for 7 years. Not to mention offensive, she was being flat out condesending! Never again will I stay at that hotel.

  • Liked — The Starbucks across the street
  • Disliked — The management
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlyerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2006

Stayed there one night in mid-Dec. 2006 as part of business trip. Staff was friendly and helpful. My boss' reservation request was somehow not listed, but we did get our needed rooms. Breakfast items were all right and included make-your-own waffles. I do wish they'd provide adult yogurts instead of only the multi-colored, overly sweet Trix Cereal flavor. I did not visit the pool area.

My room (a non-smoking room in the 220s) was tidy and the bed was comfortable. But through the carpeting I could feel ridges and bumps of the underflooring, and some of the room's corners and low-traffic areas had not been recently vacuumed. There were two pieces of litter in one stairwell.

This stay was a slight let-down from other Comfort Inn & Suites stays at other Minnesota and Iowa locations.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Bumpy room floor, insufficient cleaning of carpets and stairwell
  • Tips/Secrets — Good location for both Brainerd shopping & access to lakes activities
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baxter
2.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Baxter/Brainerd Area
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
1.3 km away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Days Inn & Suites Baxter Brainerd Area
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
10.0 km away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
Address: 15058 Dellwood Drive North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Baxter
Baxter Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing