We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$337
US$293
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Hotel Apartments(Muscat)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Oasis Hotel(Muscat Governorate)
US$74
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Room Service
US$154
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Tulip Headington Ruwi(Ruwi)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveller rating
1,544
349
90
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
349
90
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaal husnprivate beachsorbetpre dinner drinksother hotelscocktail hourcool boxcomplimentary mini barsultanah restaurantfacial spraysoft drinksinfinity poolcapri courtcold towelsevian spraybait al bahr
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at Shangri-La Al Husn and to say it exceeded our expectations would be underselling it! Given the resort's 5* rating, our expectations were high, but the attention to detail paid to all aspects of the hotel really blew us away.

Neither of us are huge fans of large resorts and did have some misgivings, but the adults only Al Husn enjoys the best of both worlds; an exclusive luxury hotel with its own private beach and pool but also access to the the other facilities and restaurants on the complex.

Our deluxe room with sea view was large, beautifully presented and very well equipped. There was a large balcony, Nespresso machine, complementary mini bar with a good selection of beers, soft drinks & snacks (replenished daily). The bathroom included a large bath, separate monsoon shower and dressing area, plus (my favourite bit) there was a glass screen between the bathroom and bedroom (which can be covered/uncovered by a sliding door) which, thanks to integral speakers, enabled me to watch TV while in the bath!

The food was fabulous. The breakfast was possibly the best I've come across, with a great choice of cold & hot options; wonderful pastries and beautiful hot options prepared to order, including pancakes, waffles (the hubby's personal favourite), French toast & just about every type of eggs. The afternoon tea was also very nice, with a selection of sweet and savoury plates, which they gladly replenished upon request.

Had we needed lunch (between a late breakfast, snacks from the mini bar & afternoon tea, we never needed to order lunch!), you would not need to stray far from the beach or pool which each had there own bar with a variety of lunch and snack options (all of which looked great). The options for dinner are expansive with a great choice of formal and informal dining options. The food and drinks are not cheap, but the quality of everything we had was superb.

So you have a beautiful hotel, fantastic food & stunning private beach but for me, the cherry on top of the sundae was the exceptional level of customer service. Every member of staff we came in to contact with was friendly & attentive and made us feel very well looked after. From the staff at the pool & beach ensuring that we had a fresh supply of cold drinks & refreshing cold towels (ooh & sorbet!) to the house keeping staff regularly ensuring that we had everything we needed, our every whim was catered for. I really could not praise them highly enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank emlin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear emlin_10, thank you for taking time to share your heartfelt feedback. We take great pride in caring for our guests so I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your precious holiday with us. It’s incredibly rewarding to read reviews such as yours, which remain a strong testament of our ongoing efforts to provide the utmost care in every way we serve our guests. Many thanks for choosing to stay at Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa. With the team, we will wait for your next return, Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I know negative reviews are more interesting than positive reviews but I can think of nothing but good things to say about this hotel and its staff. The place was beautiful and clean the food was great and the staff seemed to enjoy being as helpful as possible. My wife and I enjoyed it so much that we booked another holiday in Abu Dhabi staying at the Shangri-La Hotel. I have one tip, the servers in The Piano bar make a world class Manhattan.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Kenneth M, Thank you for the time spent sharing your experience and lovely feedback on your stay at Al Husn recently with the readers of TripAdvisor. Our goal is to deliver an amazing stay for all our guests and to have them leave with a lasting favorable impression. My team and I are beyond grateful for your positive response, and we all highly value your comments and praise. It has been our pleasure being in service with you. I look forward to another opportunity to host you at Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa, and hopefully on your most deserved break. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you to the team of Shangri-La Al Husn for creating memories that will last a lifetime.

From the moment we were whisked into a Bentley into our especially decorated honeymoon deluxe sea view room our stay was nothing short of spectacular. This attention to detail, and the personalised service, is truly where Al Husn demonstrates an ability to go above and beyond.

* Pre-dinner drinks. A gorgeous hour with drink orders remembered, and glasses never empty. The ambience with live music softly playing as the palm trees lit up at sundown were a true highlight of our stay. Much love to Rexy!!
* Golf carts transporting us to Chi Spa, and calling ahead so we were greeted by name upon our arrival;
* Housekeeping for making our room a home. Complimentary mini-bar, Shangri-La L'Occitane amenities and fresh roses daily also lovely touches!
* The beautiful scent of frankincense matched by the warmth of the concierge team in the lobby, ready to personally guide and direct you towards your every need;
* The esky delivered at the pool and private beach full of iced Evian spray, juice and towels to cool you down in the heat. The sorbets delivered poolside were the besssst
* The kitchen, and Subhash from room service, for catering to every whim. The birthday cake on the last night for my husband was gorgeous.
* Arkil at Al Muheet, and Hinnan for her wonderful service and smile (I miss those juices!).

No picture will ever do the grounds justice. Just go. The resort is beautiful - it might make your Instagram sing haha - and so very carefully maintained. Every need and detail has been tended to. You'll honestly feel blessed to get to experience this castle by the sea.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nabila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Nabila N, Thank you for the great review and for choosing Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa to celebrate a very special occasion with us. We try our best to cater to the different expectation and preferences of our guests, and when this is so, it is very rewarding and motivating for all of us. We are humbled that you were able to experience true Asian and Omani hospitality in our resort. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back for another well deserved holiday in our resort. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

this Shangri La is divine and most beautiful the rooms all with balcony and great view. the beach was scenic with a incredible view and wonderful beach. when you enter a miraculous scent is in the air and you be welcomed with a fresh made tea served by two people in traditional clothes. the restaurant offers food beyond any imagination. we felt so great at this place it was not to decribed. highly recommended!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank UdoLandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear landow, Dear SAHPGB, Thank you for recommending the resort and for the kind comments your have written in your review. I am delighted to read you had a faultless stay and I’m sure the readers of your review will appreciate the details you have highlighted. We look forward to seeing you again at the resort. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

An excellent, luxurious and exclusive place, a bit remote from the city. No children policy which makes it a super quiet place which makes you feel as if there are no other guests.

Super attentive service, with multinational staff that seem always on the lookout if they can assist. managers are visibly present and approachable.
An extensive selection of fresh food of the highest quality, served in sumptuous portions.

See their website for what's included in the rate: all promises kept !

Middle Eastern hospitality at its best !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emvi-op-reis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear emvi-op-reis, Thank you for staying with us recently and posting your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that all went well and thank you for highlighting the areas that amazed you. My team and I are beyond grateful for your positive response, and we all highly value your comments and praise. It has been our pleasure being in service with you. See you soon, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews