We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, serene, a middle eastern gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Name: Al Husn, Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, PO Box 644, Muscat 100, Sultanate of Oman
Pros: Relaxing, serene, a middle eastern gem.
Cons: As under new management since early 2017, I expect inconsistencies in service to be ironed out over the coming months.
On September 29th, we travelled to the Sultanate of Oman and stayed at the Shangri - La, Al Husn five star hotel.
Arrived early morning to a stunning sun rise behind the city of Muscat, then after travelling around 40 minute outside the city, we approached Shangri-La’s (three hotel) Barr Al Jissah Resort and Spa.
We choose the adult only Al Husn hotel (five star) for our two week annual holiday which sits proudly atop the hill, and built in the style of Greco -Roman and Byzantine architecture, set against a backdrop of the Hajar Mountains and facing the Gulf of Oman which in itself was a visual treat indeed!
This adult only hotel boasts its own private beach, including water activities including sea kayaking and snorkelling, an over-sized infinity pool, plenty of outdoor seating including cabanas and sun loungers on tiered levels all with an overwhelming sense of privacy, serenity and peacefulness.
First impressions on arrival at this hotel were impressive, the staff were genuinely friendly and welcoming in the grand dome vaulted entrance lobby, scented with Arabic coffee and burning Frankincense.
Check in was speedy with a welcome drink and cold compress towelette being well received.
Room:
Our Deluxe Sea View room was spacious, well-appointed and beautifully decorated in Omani /Arabian styling fit for a prince! Mid-first week we decided to treat ourselves to an upgraded room, and moved to the one bedroom suite which was over 1,000 sq foot of sheer luxury, a beautifully laid out formal sitting room, enormous bathroom suite, separate shower room with guest and private w/c / toilets adjoining the large dressing room area.
The bedroom itself, spacious with seating area and well equipped desk for working (should one desire), sharing a long double terrace with the sitting room and overlooking the peninsular of the resort and down into the azure/cobalt sea.
Hotel facilities:
The hotel has two restaurants, Shahrazad; a high end authentic Arabic/ Moroccan cuisine and Sultanah which is the hotel’s main restaurant serving up cuisine from the world, inspired from countries travelled to by the historic Omani Ship ‘Sultanah’ and its trade route in the 1800’s.
Sultanah:
Food was outstanding. Service at this restaurant on our first dining experience with the waiter Ram was second to none, he was knowledgeable and friendly and the food came out on time and was delicious.
The second evening we dined here we were initially the only ones in the restaurant then a few more couples joined outside as the night progressed. We noticed as soon as management and key senior well trained members of staff left for the evening (as restaurant was quiet) the service slipped.
We waited 28 minutes for our main course which was a salad and a steak. There should not have been such a delay for such a simple order. Note: the food when it came was very good so no issues there.
Shahrazad:
The food was remarkable on both evenings we dined here, no issues on service, staff were very attentive.
Breakfast and Afternoon tea in Sultanah:
The breakfasts were delicious as were afternoon tea, and the staff went out of their way to cater for my nut allergy so thank you. At these key dining times there was plenty of Management and Staff around so each sitting was very well run, and it was here where you really felt spoiled. We noted a lot of new staff being trained on the job but this didn’t cause too much disruption as they have good leadership and over the space of two weeks, it was nice to see how the waiters were progressing in their training.
Evening pre-dinner drinks:
An hour of complimentary drinks and crudités, simply delicious and the service here was very good. Again we would like to mention Robert who throughout our stay was exceptionally attentive and such a hard worker! If the young trainees follow his lead I am sure they will be up to scratch in no time.
There were a selection of other restaurants throughout the resort within the other hotels, from light snacks in beach bars to the Italian inspired Capri Court, and the fish inspired Bait Al Bahr on the sea front which was standard, the food was lovely but the service was slightly questionable when our Maître D’ was about to show us to our table, a favoured couple behind us was given that table right under our nose, which meant we had to wait a little longer, however the non- alcoholic (due to Eid al-Adha festival) cocktails were simple divine!
The Tapas restaurant (air conditioned marquee) was a nice spot for a light snack and the Piano bar was great for cocktail happy hour!.
In room dining:
Our first attempt at dining in-room was disastrous, we ordered a light salad and noodles which was meant to be 40 minutes but we were still waiting an hour and half until we cancelled the order as it got too late. I think they forgot about us as the restaurant that evening was not busy.
We spoke to the manager about this at the time and he apologised profusely and offered us complimentary dinner as an apology which was a very kind gesture.
The Al Husn hotel manager Milan Drager was brilliant, always visible around the pool, evening drinks and around reception interacting with the guests, you felt that the staff were very much on the ball when he or his senior team especially Robert were around. We noted that the service slightly changed pace when management wasn’t around so I hope in the future that the services remains consistent, it is outstanding in general and you become spoiled with how good it is. So when it slips, you notice!
Overall, our experience with the Shangri – La Al Husn was positive. We had a very peaceful and rested stay, and overall, we were very impressed with the hotel and its facilities.

We would love to return soon and it would be nice to see some of the staff again who genuinely welcomed you to the hotel, Oman is a truly wonderful and friendly country, when we visit again we will be sure to stay at the Shangri – La Al Husn hotel.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Reillylloyd79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Reillylloyd79, Thank you very much for your very kind review, and for sharing it here on TripAdvisor. My team and I are beyond grateful for your positive response, and we all highly value your comments and praise. Your satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy that we as a team were able to meet all your needs during your stay. With the team, we will wait for your return. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 100 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at Shangri-La Al Husn and to say it exceeded our expectations would be underselling it! Given the resort's 5* rating, our expectations were high, but the attention to detail paid to all aspects of the hotel really blew us away.

Neither of us are huge fans of large resorts and did have some misgivings, but the adults only Al Husn enjoys the best of both worlds; an exclusive luxury hotel with its own private beach and pool but also access to the the other facilities and restaurants on the complex.

Our deluxe room with sea view was large, beautifully presented and very well equipped. There was a large balcony, Nespresso machine, complementary mini bar with a good selection of beers, soft drinks & snacks (replenished daily). The bathroom included a large bath, separate monsoon shower and dressing area, plus (my favourite bit) there was a glass screen between the bathroom and bedroom (which can be covered/uncovered by a sliding door) which, thanks to integral speakers, enabled me to watch TV while in the bath!

The food was fabulous. The breakfast was possibly the best I've come across, with a great choice of cold & hot options; wonderful pastries and beautiful hot options prepared to order, including pancakes, waffles (the hubby's personal favourite), French toast & just about every type of eggs. The afternoon tea was also very nice, with a selection of sweet and savoury plates, which they gladly replenished upon request.

Had we needed lunch (between a late breakfast, snacks from the mini bar & afternoon tea, we never needed to order lunch!), you would not need to stray far from the beach or pool which each had there own bar with a variety of lunch and snack options (all of which looked great). The options for dinner are expansive with a great choice of formal and informal dining options. The food and drinks are not cheap, but the quality of everything we had was superb.

So you have a beautiful hotel, fantastic food & stunning private beach but for me, the cherry on top of the sundae was the exceptional level of customer service. Every member of staff we came in to contact with was friendly & attentive and made us feel very well looked after. From the staff at the pool & beach ensuring that we had a fresh supply of cold drinks & refreshing cold towels (ooh & sorbet!) to the house keeping staff regularly ensuring that we had everything we needed, our every whim was catered for. I really could not praise them highly enough.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank emlin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear emlin_10, thank you for taking time to share your heartfelt feedback. We take great pride in caring for our guests so I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your precious holiday with us. It’s incredibly rewarding to read reviews such as yours, which remain a strong testament of our ongoing efforts to provide the utmost care in every way we serve our guests. Many thanks for choosing to stay at Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa. With the team, we will wait for your next return, Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I know negative reviews are more interesting than positive reviews but I can think of nothing but good things to say about this hotel and its staff. The place was beautiful and clean the food was great and the staff seemed to enjoy being as helpful as possible. My wife and I enjoyed it so much that we booked another holiday in Abu Dhabi staying at the Shangri-La Hotel. I have one tip, the servers in The Piano bar make a world class Manhattan.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Kenneth M, Thank you for the time spent sharing your experience and lovely feedback on your stay at Al Husn recently with the readers of TripAdvisor. Our goal is to deliver an amazing stay for all our guests and to have them leave with a lasting favorable impression. My team and I are beyond grateful for your positive response, and we all highly value your comments and praise. It has been our pleasure being in service with you. I look forward to another opportunity to host you at Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa, and hopefully on your most deserved break. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Thank you to the team of Shangri-La Al Husn for creating memories that will last a lifetime.

From the moment we were whisked into a Bentley into our especially decorated honeymoon deluxe sea view room our stay was nothing short of spectacular. This attention to detail, and the personalised service, is truly where Al Husn demonstrates an ability to go above and beyond.

* Pre-dinner drinks. A gorgeous hour with drink orders remembered, and glasses never empty. The ambience with live music softly playing as the palm trees lit up at sundown were a true highlight of our stay. Much love to Rexy!!
* Golf carts transporting us to Chi Spa, and calling ahead so we were greeted by name upon our arrival;
* Housekeeping for making our room a home. Complimentary mini-bar, Shangri-La L'Occitane amenities and fresh roses daily also lovely touches!
* The beautiful scent of frankincense matched by the warmth of the concierge team in the lobby, ready to personally guide and direct you towards your every need;
* The esky delivered at the pool and private beach full of iced Evian spray, juice and towels to cool you down in the heat. The sorbets delivered poolside were the besssst
* The kitchen, and Subhash from room service, for catering to every whim. The birthday cake on the last night for my husband was gorgeous.
* Arkil at Al Muheet, and Hinnan for her wonderful service and smile (I miss those juices!).

No picture will ever do the grounds justice. Just go. The resort is beautiful - it might make your Instagram sing haha - and so very carefully maintained. Every need and detail has been tended to. You'll honestly feel blessed to get to experience this castle by the sea.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nabila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Nabila N, Thank you for the great review and for choosing Shangri La Al Husn Resort & Spa to celebrate a very special occasion with us. We try our best to cater to the different expectation and preferences of our guests, and when this is so, it is very rewarding and motivating for all of us. We are humbled that you were able to experience true Asian and Omani hospitality in our resort. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back for another well deserved holiday in our resort. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

this Shangri La is divine and most beautiful the rooms all with balcony and great view. the beach was scenic with a incredible view and wonderful beach. when you enter a miraculous scent is in the air and you be welcomed with a fresh made tea served by two people in traditional clothes. the restaurant offers food beyond any imagination. we felt so great at this place it was not to decribed. highly recommended!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank UdoLandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan D, General Manager at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear landow, Dear SAHPGB, Thank you for recommending the resort and for the kind comments your have written in your review. I am delighted to read you had a faultless stay and I’m sure the readers of your review will appreciate the details you have highlighted. We look forward to seeing you again at the resort. Warm regards, Milan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barr Al Jissah
27.2 km away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
22.9 km away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,539 reviews
20 km away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
261 reviews
4.8 km away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
21.1 km away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa

Address: POBox 644, Barr Al Jissah, Muscat 113, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range: €283 - €582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 180 rooms and suites, including the largest entry level rooms in Muscat, Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa elevates Omani hospitality to new heights, embracing the natural Asian service for which Shangri-La is renowned. Your private butler, daily afternoon tea, pre-dinner cocktails, pre-loaded iPods with personalized music selection, and complimentary mini bar ensure all needs are catered to. A team of dedicated Shangri-La specialists is available to tailor your experience from pre-arrival to departure. As a guest at Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa, you will enjoy signing privileges at 15 additional dining venues across adjacent sister property Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Husn
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Husn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing