We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
MarBella Corfu Hotel(Agios Ioannis Peristeron)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Primasol Louis Ionian Sun(Agios Ioannis Peristeron)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corfu Senses Resort(Agios Ioannis Peristeron)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MarBella Nido Suite Hotel & Villas(Agios Ioannis Peristeron)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
78
36
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
36
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbeach barsea viewbrother sisterhotel menulovely hotelcorfu townshort busfree sun bedsyogurtend of septemberair concleaned dailygreat place to staynice poollovely beachfamily run
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Wow!!! What a little piece of heaven. Small , family orientated and authentic ! Food was great, breakfast simple and Greek style and evening meal was like a family affair ... Evi and Cosmo were unbelievably friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and most of all we had a laugh. Everything spotlessly clean, pool was cleaned daily sun beds free for use there & at the shingle beach , just across the road with a lovely beach bar that had the full hotel menu. We had the most wonderful time and would go back in a heartbeat. Hired a scooter from down the road through Cosmo and Evi and toured the island the second week with a lot of directions and suggestions from them both. Would like to keep this hotel just for us but I suppose we need to share lol. 5 stars all the way from us and will def be back !!! Love Debbie n Martin xx

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank debs191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We stayed at the Aurora for 7 nights and arrived late, we were very disappointed with our 'garden' view, but the following morning we were upgraded with no problem and had side sea-view room which was perfect. We had sun most of the day on the balcony, and enjoyed seeing dolphins swimming in the sea quite a few days. Brother and sister owners were very helpful, food was very good, both breakfast and evening meal. We did need the air on, (€5), but was worth it (33 degrees). Rooms were cleaned daily. The swimming pool was always quiet, some days we were on our own around the pool. The bar across the road was very pretty, and we had good lunch-time snacks. The beach had free sun beds, although stony, all that side of the coast is the same. We were very happy with our choice of hotel, and would go back, but remembering to book sea- view.

Room Tip: Book a side or sea view
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaynor264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

we came here for 4 days. stuff is sooooo friendly and helpful. rooms are very clean, we stayed with half pension. food is very good. I think we will come here at the end of the summer again. The sea is wonderful but there are mussels that's why we didn't swim there so much but the swimming pool is big enough. we liked this hotel so much!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ezgi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Hotel Aurora in Agios Ioannis Peristeron is a great find if you want sea views and a friendly, relaxed hotel with a grown up vibe. It's a good value hotel, which I feel punches well above its 2 star rating BUT, it comes with a few negatives which detract from an otherwise excellent stay. I’ll try and list all the positive and negative aspects we experienced so as to try and give a fully balanced review.
Rooms: We had room number 12 which was a smallish sized room with TV (one English speaking channel – BBC World News), a small bathroom and a larger sea-view balcony. I’d say it’s well worth paying the little extra for the sea-view rooms as the side views offer only a partial sea view and you do not want a rear view room as all you’ll be looking at is the side of a hill 5 metres away. Beds are standard, double sized which can feel a little small if you’re used to something bigger. Our room came with only 3 plug sockets including the TV socket. There were mosquitos when we were there so it’s a good idea to bring a plug-in deterrant.
Cleanliness: The hotel cleanliness is excellent, the rooms very good. The room was cleaned every day, towels and shower gel replaced whenever we wanted. There was however, quite a gathering of dust underneath the bed.
Pool: A lovely, smallish pool with really clean water, cleaned overnight by a robotic pool cleaner and the surface hand-filtered every day by the owner. The pool is just by the bar and there are clean toilets by the pool. There are a small number of loungers so you may have to be quick! When we were there the pool opening hours were 10am to 6pm, which seemed a little restrictive as by 0930 we were hanging out for our first dip. The pool is overlooking a road so peace and quiet can be elusive sometimes and because the hotel is tucked up close against a steep hill to the west, the sun disappears from the pool area quite early (about 5pm in May). I hope you get the chance to meet the pool cat – he’s a real character and we loved him!
Beach: The hotel has access to the beach which is accessed across the road from the hotel and down some steps from the hotel’s beach bar. There are free sun loungers and parasols. The beach is pebble so shoes or sandals are advisable. The water is crystal clear and perfectly warm enough to swim in even in May.
Hotel food: We were on B&B board. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with cereals, eggs (scrambled and boiled), ham, cheese, cake, OJ, nuts and seeds, fresh fruit, frappes or Greek coffee included but the best bit was the creamiest Greek yoghurt with Greek honey. Lunch food was cooked fresh to order and we found it to be excellent!
Bar: The hotel bar has everything you’d expect. Super cold draught beer is 3€ for 300ml or 5€ for 500ml. Cocktails were 8€ and local wine 3 per glass or 5 for ½ carafe. There’s a beach bar across the road which was open from 16 May and a great spot to sit and watch the sea, suck in the views across to Albania and catch some late sun once its disappears from the pool.
Other facilities: Include free hairdryers, safety deposit boxes and aircon is an extra 5€ per day. There are free umbrellas just in case you’re there when it rains.
Owners: The hotel is managed by a brother and sister team who were really friendly and couldn’t do enough for us.
Hotel location: I feel that this is the hotel’s most frustrating quality. The location of the hotel gives it amazing sea views over to Albania and mainland Greece, however, the hotel is situated right next to a busy, winding and dangerous road so sea-view rooms are affected by traffic and early morning bin collection noise. The hotel is located about half way between Benitses and Messonghi, which isn’t handy for either. It costs 10€ to take a taxi to Benitses or 1.80€ by bus (the same price to Corfu Town). There’s a bus stop 100m from the hotel and these run every hour or so until about 2130. There’s also a small group of 3 tavernas, shops, a 5 star hotel and car rental shops in Marbella which is about 800m, turning right out of the hotel. Moreover, walking over or along the road can be extremely dangerous and is not suitable for families. It goes dark fairly early so if you are going to chance the walk to one of the Marbella tavernas, I recommend taking something reflective to wear on the way back and taking a torch to ensure that you are seen at night.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the sea-view rooms as rear view room look at is the side of a hill 5 metres away.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mikebown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We booked the Aurora hotel for a short 5 night holiday during half term. For the time of year it looked good value with decent reviews. We chose the hotel as it had a pool, it had it's own beach (& beach bar), breakfast included and it was close to the airport but not too close (due to flight path). On arrival Evi and Kosmas, who are brother & sister owners of the hotel, gave us a warm greeting. Throughout our stay they were very friendly, helpful and accommodating and were happy to give us their time when we needed something. Evi gave us loads of information about getting around and where to go to get the best views of the island. We booked a side sea view room which we were unsure of at first as the glass partition between balconies was a bit cracked, we thought of upgrading to a room at the front but we were really happy overall so stayed. The view of the sea was excellent considering it was a side view and the partition did give us lots of privacy which we were very happy with. The room was clean and was made and cleaned by the chambermaids every day which was a great bonus. The air-con is charged extra (€5 a day) but we didn't need it as the rooms are naturally cool. The restaurant is very relaxed and informal and runs out onto the pool area. The food was excellent, much better quality than we expected and we ended up eating here a lot and we found it better than all the restaurants we tried. The breakfast was good and included in the price. It included cereal, croissants, toast, eggs, greek yoghurt etc. The wifi was 5* from arrival, no issues and excellent signal in all areas. We booked a car when we arrived as we decided to go and see lots of Corfu (it's beautiful and hilly) although the bus stop is only 50 metres up the road and they run every hour. We were initially unsure about where to book on the east of the island due to the flight path of incoming flights but this wasn't an issue in the end: there aren't that many flights for it to be an issue. The hotel is in an excellent location to see lots of the island and is very close to the 5* Marbella hotel and we used their beach for a day which is free to use by anyone. Even though this hotel is a 2* hotel it is a very good 2*. The only fault I could find was the aforementioned cracked balcony glass. The owners seem to improving things all the time so I wouldn't be surprised to see this hotel listed as a 3* or even a 4* hotel in the coming years. Very happy with our choice of hotel and would definitely book again

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews