We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect”
Review of Lympstone Manor

Lympstone Manor
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Lympstone
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Dining at Lympstone Manor is an exceptional experience in every way. Here in the beautiful fine dining rooms of a Georgian mansion, Michael Caines MBE, chef/patron and one of Britain’s most celebrated and influential chefs, is able to fully express his vision of modern British cuisine that is fresh, seasonal, original, and exciting. Utilising the bounty of the Exe estuary, East Devon and the Southwest, his faultless cuisine is superbly matched by wines selected from a world cellar that contains over 600 bins. Welcome to the exceptional.
Restaurant details
Description: Dining at Lympstone Manor is an exceptional experience in every way. Here in the beautiful fine dining rooms of a Georgian mansion, Michael Caines MBE, chef/patron and one of Britain’s most celebrated and influential chefs, is able to fully express his vision of modern British cuisine that is fresh, seasonal, original, and exciting. Utilising the bounty of the Exe estuary, East Devon and the Southwest, his faultless cuisine is superbly matched by wines selected from a world cellar that contains over 600 bins. Welcome to the exceptional.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful setting overlooking the Exe estuary and Dawlish Warren in the distance.
All was perfect from our friendly helpful porter who took our luggage to our room and parked our car to your great sommelier who helped us choose the most delicious wine to accompany the remarkable food. A very special treat in all respects

Thank macy220400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear macy220400

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review on us, your comments on the service and our team are very much appreciated.

We are glad you found the setting to be wonderful, we whole heartedly agree.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have eaten a couple of times at Lympstone Manor previously, and the standard had been very good then. The standard for our lunch yesterday, however, was noticeably higher - truly exceptional. Between us we had most of the menu choices and all were quite superb. The setting is idyllic and the service was of the very highest standard. It is a place that is aiming for the very top of the market and more than lives up to that standard in every way.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Exetergasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Exetergasdoc

I am extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the Lympstone Manor experience on two previous occasions but absolutely thrilled to know that your most recent visit was to even a higher standard. You are quite right we are aiming to be the best and its lovely to read your comments and understand we are heading in the right direction.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on us.

Kindest regards Scott Andrews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Just perfect. Amazing food, atmosphere and service. Really couldn't have asked for a more perfect lunch for our first wedding anniversary.

Thank mikamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear mikamilly

We couldn't ask for better feedback, so pleased to hear we made your important day very special.

We very much hope to welcome you back for future special occasions.


Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

We were staying nearby and only booked for lunch the day before. What a fantastic decision that was! Lympstone Manor is simply beautiful. We were given such a warm welcome and were taken straight to the bar. We had the three course lunch which started with appetisers. We were then taken through to the dining room where the food and the service was amazing. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious. We finished with coffee in the bar and then took a walk around the grounds. I can’t wait to go back!

Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Karen E

We are very lucky you made such a great decision and came to see us.

Even better still you had such a good time, we are thrilled to read this.

Thank you for the kind remarks regarding the food and service, much appreciated.

Next time you are in the area do come and see us again.

Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

What a restoration and transformation of this beautiful building into a fine dining restaurant and exquisite hotel.
In such a spectacular location overlooking the Exe river the opportunity to savour such excellent food, wine and sumptuous accomodation is not to be missed for that special occasion.

Thank gordonfjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_LympstoneManor, General Manager at Lympstone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear gordonfjb

Thank you for the lovely praise, we really are so lucky to be in such a beautiful spot.

Glad to hear you believe we are the right place for a special occasion, we agree!


We hope to welcome you back soon


Kindest Regards Scott Andrews General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lympstone Manor also viewed

 

Been to Lympstone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing